No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ruskin Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
386 HIGH STREET NORTH , LONDON, E12 6PH
Set in East Ham London, Ruskin Hotel has a 24-hour front desk, free WiFi throughout the building and free parking.

Each bedroom has an en suite shower room, flat screen TV, tea/coffee making facilities and air conditioning.

A hot buffet breakfast is served each day.

Ruskin Hotel are proud to announce the opening of our newly refurbished Pub only next door! We serve traditional homemade pub food everyday which is included in our room service menu for ultimate comfort! Pub holds a Big screen and live sports for our guests to enjoy.

East Ham underground station is a 5-minute walk from the hotel, and it takes less than 1 hour to get into central London which boasts Oxford Street, Hyde Park, the London Eye, Tower of London and St Paul’s Cathedral to name a few. Europe's largest shopping centre, Westfield Stratford is 2.5 miles from the property.

Free parking is available on a first come first serve basis.
Picture of Ruskin Hotel, LONDON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 74 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really good value

Reviewed by
David C

From Welwyn Garden City, England
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant
I stayed to go to the 02 with my sister I spent 2 nights and enjoyed it very much. I would recommend this hotel100%. I would love to stay there again! The Ruskin arms pub was lovely we met regulars to the pub and hotel and had a brilliant time. The area isn't as bad as people say, everyone was so nice!:)

Reviewed by
Jamie Sargeant

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Posh Pub Rooms
A fair walk from Tube station and based in an Asian ethnic area. Rooms were good standard and clean

Reviewed by
david b

From Guildford, England
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I'd go back
I stayed a night mid-week. The room was excellent, clean, tidy, quiet (over-looked a side street with little traffic), a good large bed. The only negative is that the sink tap ran very slowly.
Breakfast was served in the pub. The three TVs were too loud for me. The food was plentiful though of mixed quality. Not a breakfast to sit and savour, but I ate enough then moved on to work.
The location was good for me, being within 10 minutes of East Ham tube station and surrounded by Indian vegetarian restaurants.
Overall, the hotel was very good value and convenient.

Reviewed by
John F

From Ilkley, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quick trip to London
Great for driving into London due to the car park.
Room was great, very spacious.
Food in morning was plentiful.

Reviewed by
Caroline A

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfy bed
The hotel is on a main road above a pub but we didn't have a problem with noise. The local population is predominantly southern Indian, so there are lots of good places to eat out cheaply. The Ruskin is immaculately clean with new carpets and furnishings, although very minimally furnished. Our room was on the second floor, accessible by stairs and lift. The bed was a double (not king size as stated on the website) with a king size quilt and was very comfortable. The only mirror was in the bathroom, where the lighting was really dim (there wasn't a window and didn't appear to be an extractor either), so applying make-up or having a shave proved challenging. There were no taps on the bath, just a showerhead over, and no anti-slip mat in the bath which was a bit slippy. Also, I had to have a cold shower on the Friday as there was no hot water after running the basin tap for quite some time. We did mention this at reception the same evening, but the temperature didn't rise above tepid throughout Saturday until we left after breakfast on Sunday. Hot choices for breakfast were eggs, beans and sausages, so anyone expecting a full English will have to be satisfied with a half-English. However, the food was hot and fresh. There was toast, jam, yoghurt, pastries, fruit, ham, cheese slices and salads.

Reviewed by
Janice B

From Burntwood, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent surprise!
We chose this hotel for it's ease of access from the motorway into London and it's proximity to the tube services to the O2. The accommodation is no frills, but has all the amenities you need, with willing, pleasant staff and is very clean. Breakfast is hot and cold buffet choice and you can have as much as you want. Amazing Indian restaurant within walking distance much better than all the queues and crowds we saw at the O2 and less than £10 per head. Secure parking wonderful! Thank you everyone at Ruskin for making us feel so welcome. We will use you again!

Reviewed by
Clive Harris

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced
Room itself was pretty comfortable warm showers although little to know toiletries provided
Internet in the room was very poor hardly any signal also when using 3G
Check out at 11 with no exceptions ,breakfast wasn't up to much
Ruskin arm bar had good food at a reasonable price
Close to underground but not a very nice area.

Reviewed by
Glen Brown

From VELDHOVEN, Netherlands
Who stayed in September 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
So glad I found the Ruskin hotel. It was a perfect location for the 02 where we had tickets for a concert. On entering the hotel the receptionist was most helpful with advice about transport to and from the 02 and to the West End of London. The room was clean with all the facilities as advertised. I was rather worried that the low cost might be reflected in the standard of the room but was delighted when we turned the corner and was met with an attractive inviting hotel. I will recommend The Ruskin to friends and shall have no worries about staying here again.

Reviewed by
J Morris

From Tenby, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Single woman traveller
I found this a very comfortable hotel. It's not Central London but near enough to be convenient. I found the walk from the tube station delightful - the colours and smells of being abroad, and I loved it. People were really friendly and even said hello in the street as I passed. Even arriving after 11.00pm was fine. Ironically during my stay Tony Blairs daughter was mugged in Marylebone High Street (one of my favourite haunts and v upmarket) so don't judge a book by its cover! The hotel was clean and that matters to me. I did think that the man at the front desk could be a smidge more engaged with the guests "Can I borrow some selotape?" "No". To be fair he did subsequently come after me to say that they didn't have any!! But hey - I will definitely be staying again.

Reviewed by
V Turner

From Shetland, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next