No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ruskin Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
386 HIGH STREET NORTH , LONDON, E12 6PH
Set in East Ham London, Ruskin Hotel has a 24-hour front desk, free WiFi throughout the building and free parking.

Each bedroom has an en suite shower room, flat screen TV, tea/coffee making facilities and air conditioning.

A hot buffet breakfast is served each day.

Ruskin Hotel are proud to announce the opening of our newly refurbished Pub only next door! We serve traditional homemade pub food everyday which is included in our room service menu for ultimate comfort! Pub holds a Big screen and live sports for our guests to enjoy.

East Ham underground station is a 5-minute walk from the hotel, and it takes less than 1 hour to get into central London which boasts Oxford Street, Hyde Park, the London Eye, Tower of London and St Paul’s Cathedral to name a few. Europe's largest shopping centre, Westfield Stratford is 2.5 miles from the property.

Free parking is available on a first come first serve basis.
Picture of Ruskin Hotel, LONDON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 75 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for trip to O2
Stayed for one hight following concert at O2. Good access using tube.
Room clean and comfortable but very warm. We did not seem to be able to adjust the temperature.
Breakfast good but no bacon !

Reviewed by
G Richards

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good service and reasonable price
Brilliant receptionist and comfortable rooms in a modern looking interiors.

Reviewed by
M Osman

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap, but not value
The hotel looks to be initially impressive. Recently developed, in a nice quiet suburb of London, but it suffers from too many flaws.
In our particular room, the heating control did not function properly. The control device was in another language which did not help, but it was clear how to set a target temperature. Unfortunately in our room, it did not obey the target temperature, it instead just continually heated the room, so we turned it off. I confirmed my understanding of the equipment with a member of staff at the reception desk, who commented that the control in our room appeared to be off, and he offered to turn it back on. I accepted, assuming the problem would be solved. Upon returning to our room it was not, and the room was very uncomfortable.
There were various marks throughout the room, which looked like someone had been throwing dirty water around. The white surfaces had lots of markings on the paint, and several of the plastered surfaces appeared cracked. The grout in the shower was filthy. Bear in mind that this hotel is supposed to be a new development.
The room was supposed to be a double room, but the bed was actually composed of two single beds put right next to each other. Usually, there is a sag in the middle when one does this, but the mattresses here were so hard that this did not occur. Instead, the mattresses were simply very uncomfortable.
Wifi was not working. They had made a switch from one system to another, and on the first day, the access instructions were incorrect. On the second day I asked about this, and was given new access instructions, which worked, but when I returned to the hotel later that day, the wifi did not work again.
The hotel is situated above a pub, which one would think makes for a noisy environment but to tell the truth it cannot be heard. Unfortunately however, people seem to park up in the car park and honks can be heard all day long. One one night some people were arguing outside very loudly, and the windows were not sufficiently soundproof to make this only a minor distraction.
Some light fittings in the room were loose, and the lighting itself was of a poor quality, with cool white used in some fittings and warm white used in other fittings. Lighting coverage across the room was poor. On one night of our stay, the shower made a loud buzzing for no apparent reason. The solution was to close the bathroom door, although this was rendered difficult by the fact that the bathroom door did not close properly very easily. On another night, the fusebox in the room gave of a high pitched buzzing sound, which did not present itself again.
Overall, this accomodation does not represent what I would believe to be value for money. It is cheap, not inexpensive, and I cannot reccommend this hotel to anybody. If I wanted to be uncomfortable during my stay, I could have paid a lot less for a cheap bed and breakfast.

Reviewed by
Yaqub A

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money, we was looking more central however could not find anything decent for the same money. 10 min walk to the tube station (Eastham) and around 30 min to get into London centre. We booked for 2 but got a larger room for 4 so plenty of space. Didn't go in the pub at night. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
james w

From bolton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Considering the area this was a nice surprise.

Reviewed by
Andy P

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Overall stay was excellent.

Reviewed by
s wadhwa

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great
The hotel is 5 min far away by walk to the East Ham Underground station. (District Line that conect dirctly to the center of London)

Reviewed by
Jose Luis S

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value
Nice clean room, with very friendly receptionist who helped us with sorting the car parking (spaces for not more than 10 vehicles) and extra pillows. Breakfast nothing special but fine as part of room rate.
Overall, excellent value and would recommend for a short stay.

Reviewed by
Brian H

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

amazing value for money
We booked this hotel for 2 nights so that we can visit Westfield shopping center and places such as London eye, sea life center etc. We were impressed that we can find a hotel with breakfast included , free parking and near tube station for under £60 per night. Area is not the preatiest or the view, but got lots of places to eat nice asian food around hotel and we were out for most of time anyway. Hotel had everything needed, room was cosy and comfy, staff were polite, food was nice and basic just a little suggestion to extend breakfast time as some guests like to sleep in a bit especially on a Sunday. Also one other thing that could be improved is signal strength for wifi. East Ham tube station about 8 mins walk, 5 mins travel to westfield center and about 30mins to London eye etc. definetely recommend as hotel is amazing value for money

Reviewed by
Arnis D

From Tipton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Ruskin Hotel was really lovely, and just what my partner and I needed. Although it was quite a way from central London, this was not a problem for us as we were attending an event in the Docklands and had deliberately picked somewhere way out East.
We didn't try the breakfast as my partner is vegan and I have coeliac disease, so we generally can't eat much food on offer in normal restaurants. We did sample one or two of the vegetarian Indian restaurants in the local area though, and really enjoyed them!
The receptionist at the hotel was very friendly and keen to help out. I couldn't fault her. I thought that the other staff member I met (maybe the manager) was quite rude, though, as he just sat on the phone chatting and ignored guests.
However, that is my only complaint. Great value for money in London, and a really nice hotel.

Reviewed by
Amy T

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next