No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The George Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The George Inn, The Square, , Mere, BA12 6DR
The George Inn has 6 en-suite letting rooms all offering comfortable accommodation and is conveniently located just off the A303 for easy access to such local attractions as Longleat Safari Park and Stourhead House and Gardens. Mere is well situated in Wiltshire, it lies at the extreme southwestern tip of Salisbury Plain close to the borders of Somerset and Dorset. The Main Bar is spacious and features a large real log fire for those cold winter nights. Adjoining the Main Bar is one of our Dining areas perfect for sampling one of our delicious meals from our extensive menus. There is also a seperate restaurant for families, which is also suitable for small private functions. Children are welcome and food is served daily from 12 noon - 9.00pm during the summer months (BST period); 12noon - 2.30pm and 6pm - 9pm in the winter time (GMT period). For the summer months, there is an outside seating area for enjoying those lovely summer days and warm evenings where you can relax and soak up village life in Mere whilst enjoying a few drinks or a meal
Picture of The George Inn, Mere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely place
The George inn was very nice. Unfortunately due to family problems at home we were unable to stay. The manager was very kind in not charging us. What we experienced was a very clean environment. Would definitely go back

Reviewed by
A Manciocchi

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good indeed.
Very helpful and very friendly owner and ( therefore) very helpful and very friendly staff from the moment we arrived until we left to go home . Nothing was too much trouble. I look forward to visiting again.

Reviewed by
Brian Padfield

From Callington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Feedback
Very friendly and helpful staff, and the meals were generous and delicious.

Reviewed by
Liza M

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unfortunantly we stayed in a b&b the previous night to the george inn for the same price and this was far better quality. The george inn was dated and the shower went from boiling hot to cold constantly. However lovely staff and breakfast.

Reviewed by
Natalie T

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money, good breakfast, central location, easy parking, wi-fi etc

Reviewed by
Mark Embery

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Five Star
Great pub, great service, great room. A proper traditional village pub/hotel.
Highly recommend and cannot wait until my next visit.

Reviewed by
Gavin B

From Wrecsam, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm welcome
A cosy and homely pub. Not smart but spacious room with some nice antique furniture. Good meal which was very reasonably priced. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Reviewed by
penny williams

From Bradford on Avon, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we received a warm welcome from the front of house gentleman. Our bedroom was fine except the bed itself was rather uncomfortable and I thought it needed a new mattress. The breakfast was very good and the service was fine. We later returned for a funeral wake and the buffet was excellent for the number of people who returned from the church. We would certainly return and we would recommend this Inn to our friends.

Reviewed by
Rolf & Jill S

From Worthing, England
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good location, price, hotel style, friendly stuff, tasty food, clean towels and comfortable beds! Ok
We had a perfect weekend thanks to this looking old, british hotel and their really warm accomodation! Their location let you to get to any place around, such as ; longleat park, longleat safari, gardens, lakes, stonehenge, ets. You ll be happy with low price and plus they dont charge before. I can recommend The George Inn for everyone who want to enjoy British nature, peole and service! Have a nice stay!

Reviewed by
inga s

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked as a last minute overnight stay to be on the doorstep of a job the next morning and turned out to be a hidden gem! Great bar and atmosphere, great service,great meal (worth the trip for the black pudding, brie and bacon stack alone !) comfortable room, great breakfast, cant fault anything ! Shame i drove 20 miles with my room key in my pocket and brought it back but still worth it !

Reviewed by
ian seymour

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next