No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Dodington Lodge Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Dodington, , , Whitchurch, SY13 1EN
The Dodington Lodge Hotel was originally built as a private house but is now adapted as an excellent family owned hotel. It is set in its own grounds in very peaceful surroundings and is 3 star Small Hotel accredited by Visit Britain. You will find a friendly, professional and warming welcome whatever your reason for visiting. We offer FREE parking and have a fully licensed bar where you can also enjoy a meal or lite bite. The hotel is ideally placed for exploring the Shropshire, Cheshire and Staffordshire countryside. Manchester Airport is our nearest at 1 Hour away. The Roman towns of Chester and Shrewsbury (Wroxoter) are only a days march away (or about 30 minutes in the Car), and there are a host of activities to entertain you within five minutes drive of the Hotel. The Sandstone Trail begins (or ends) in the Whitchurch Jubilee Park, which is located a few minutes walk away from the hotel. Local attractions include the Rally School (the most fun on four wheels) and The Parachute Centre Ltd (Ok if you want to throw yourself out of a perfectly good aeroplane). The hotel is situated in the bustling market town of Whitchurch. The town acts as the beginning and the end of Regional Cycle Route 31, which runs from Whitchurch via the market town of Ellesmere (our local ‘Lake District ’) and onto the border market town of Oswestry, located on the English side of the England/Wales border. There are numerous golf courses within a 12 mile radius of the hotel.
Picture of The Dodington Lodge Hotel, Whitchurch at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent

Reviewed by
R Tipping

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel
This hotel is easy to find on the outskirts of town, but only a 5-10 minute walk in. Room was fine, internet quality not great though and the tv is the smallest I've seen in years!! The bathroom floor needs some tlc, but overall a good location and vfm.

Reviewed by
M Callaghan

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy neighbours set off fire alarm
Awake till 1am due to v noisy partying lads in room next door (rm 7). They set fire alarm off and moved CCTV to hide their actions. Hotel was evacuated, though no staff appeared for several minutes, so I called the Fire Brigade! Horrible piercing alarm. Lads who set it off didn't leave their room, and when the landlord/owner finally appeared and heard my suspicions on who set the alarm off, he went and spoke to them, and believed their fob-off story! They claimed there were only 2 of them and they hadn't left their room. Reality: at least 4 lads had been partying in there!
I don't trust this landlord's judgement at all! Crap night's sleep as a result. I apologised to the firemen who turned up in the middle of the night for calling them, but when there is no staff on site in the hotel at night, and the alarm goes off, what can you do?

ManagementResponse

Dear Chris, Thank you for your review, to which I would like to offer the following response. Let me say as I did at the time and in the letter to breakfast the following morning I can only offer my unreserved apologises that your and indeed everyone's else's night was disturbed. Though I would like to add: Like the majority of hotels we cannot hear what is going on in the rooms; so if another guest is disturbing you please call us on the telephone in your room and we can come and ask them to quieten down. When our fire alarm activates it does alert myself and other team members then we can call the fire brigade if needed, as you say the alarm is horrible piercing sound, but this meets the British Standard for fire alarms. In this hotel like all hotels, unless you advise us that you need assistance it is your responsibility to evacuate from the building when the fire alarm sounds by the nearest exit. We have no way of knowing if you are in your room so we can't send a member of staff to check as if there was a fire we could be sending them in to danger, as advised to you on the night this is following the advice given to us by the fire brigade and detailed in our Risk Assessment. You advised you believed that the guests in room 7 had been smoking which was what had caused the fire alarm to activate, I went into their room to check the smoke detector as they have a Red light when they have activated. The one in their room had not activated the one in the corridor outside your & their room had. It was not a case of being fobbed off, but based on the evidence at that time, I had no more proof that they had set the alarm of than you had or indeed any guest in the hotel. There was only two persons in room 7 at the time, though if they decided to invite a guest to their room, I'm not sure on what grounds I could object, certainly as there booking included guests in another room. Naturally if making a noise late at night this in unreasonable behaviour but there is nothing wrong with guests or even friends visiting. At no stage did I ask if they had left the room or if they had anyone else in their room, all I asked was if they had been smoking in the room, to which they advised not; I likewise did not question them as to why they had not left their room many people don't. Once I had checked the smoke detector I left their room. Given that the alarm had activated in a corridor and at that stage there was no evidence as to what had caused the alarm to activate, I don't see what else I could do, and naturally I wanted to get everyone back to bed, including the fire brigade as it's a retained fire station here in Whitchurch. Following this I did investigate further, and it is my belief that the alarm was set off deliberately by a guest as I advised in the letter; and all the evidence points to the two guests in room 7. However I have no proof otherwise I would have passed it to the police only circumstantial evidence. The fact that they did indeed moved two CCTV Cameras is only proof of poor behaviour and I was not aware of this until after the event. Again like most small hotels and guest house we don't have a night porter or member of staff on duty through the night; we have systems in place to alert one or more persons to there being an incident who can respond as you say within "several minutes" To conclude, I'm not sure what we can do if there are persons who are prepared to deliberately set the fire alarm off, which is there to protect life in the middle of the night. Jason Wainwright, Manager

Reviewed by
chris g

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very polite and helpful staff. Excellent food, to the point of varying from the printed menu. Very clean but silicone around bath and taps looked grubby.

Reviewed by
j davies-winnington

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dodington Lodge Hotel, Whitchurch, review.
My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Dodington Lodge Hotel in Whitchurch, over the August Bank holiday weekend while doing some family history research. We booked in late afternoon / early evening and were made very welcome on our arrival. All the hotel "regulations" were explained to us very clearly and concisely, which basically meant that we were able to come and go as we pleased, which was ideally suited to our purposes.
The staff were very pleasant and obliging and nothing was too much trouble.
On our first evening we ate in the hotel as we had spent the day in nearby Shrewsbury at the Archives office, following a very early morning start to our trip from York, and so tiredness and lack of knowledge of the locality was a simple deciding factor as to eating venue. My wife had a very enjoyable meal of Scampi while I choose a battered fish option, which in all honesty was probably slightly overcooked for my liking, but still satisfying no the less. The breakfasts for the next three mornings were little short of excellent, only let down on our final morning by some slightly undercooked bacon and a fried egg which could have done with another 10 seconds or so in the frying pan. These and the overdone fish were the only reason that the food was marked down to a 5 instead of a 6, maybe a little picky but good food in my book is a serious brownie point winner.
The room was adequate for our purposes, but the bed was quite hard and the bed linen was tucked in very tightly thus making movement quite restrictive. The bulbs in 1 of the 2 sets of wall lights were not working and the en-suite felt somewhat cramped, the mastic seal between the bath panel and the floor was also damaged, so for these reasons the room was marked down to a 4.
Overall our stay was a very pleasurable experience, good value for money with good food and excellent staff, although the décor could do with a bit of a spruce up as it looked a little "tired".
We would have no hesitation in choosing the Dodington Lodge again whenever we are in the area, and would also recommend it to family and friends.

Reviewed by
Bryan C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faultless !!
I'll b back !!

Reviewed by
trevor w

From Llandrindod Wells, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay in scenic and beatiful surroundings
Had a brilliant stay at this lovely hotel. Staff were friendly, courteous, helpful, and room was excellent. Highly recommend

Reviewed by
Robert Gardham

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay on a budget
Lovely location, super friendly and helpful staff. Room was clean and tidy, had everything required. Breakfast was nice especially as it was included in the price of the stay. Bar was well
Stocked and good prices! Had a lovely stay. Only problem was taxis, which has nothing to do with the hotel, book in advance if your planning on going a bit further a field as they are few and far between on a weekend

Reviewed by
L Parker

From Wallasey, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.