No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Rose & Crown Country Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Stoke St Gregory, , , Taunton, TA3 6EW
The Browning family has run this thriving country pub since 1979 and while the menu, staff and decor might have changed over the years the quality of food has remained paramount. Following a devastating fire in March 2008 the pub has been sympathetically restored to a high standard, retaining it's characteristic charm while boasting a contemporary style. Our newly refurbished accommodation in the Rose and Crown can cater for small families, business trips, weekend breaks and overnight travel stops. Each room has en-suite and tea-making facilities and free view colour television There are 3 double rooms and a family suite. Breakfast is included in the overnight price. Produce is locally sourced from quality Westcountry suppliers allowing our experienced chefs to create classic dishes with a modern influence. And with a choice of beautifully-furnished accommodation to choose from, the Rose and Crown is the perfect base for guests exploring the magnificent county of Somerset.
Picture of The Rose & Crown Country Inn, Taunton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A caring and wonderful stay in a cosy pub with fabulous food. Highly recommend!
An amazing service from the owners and staff at this cosy pub. They looked after me so well even calling in advance to warn about the floods in the Levels. Great service, warming fires, great food and a warm welcome. Lovely to see such a thriving pub in the current climate. Thank you.

Reviewed by
Maxine T

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight in Somerset
This is a charming, friendly, rural pub. The food is very good and the pub decor is charming.
Service is friendly and attentive. It is also good value.It was the best of 4 places I stayed at on a journey I took from Somerset to the Midlands to Heathrow . Be warned you need a mobile if you arrive out of hours to call someone to let you in.

Reviewed by
D Gammon

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Very enjoyable stray on a business trip quality of room was excellent would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends.

Reviewed by
Steve B

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't wear high heels!
We received a warm welcome - although, for some reason we did not understand, they had been expecting us since 2pm and we arrived, as planned, at 6pm-ish. The directions given on the Late Rooms site were not at all helpful and we spent a good half an hour driving round country lanes before finding the venue! We were shown up to a room which would have suited shorter people than us - my husband is 6' 3"! It had a severely sloping ceiling on both sides of the bed, causing us to walk around stooped in case we banged our heads. The en suite suffered from the same problem. For one night it was bearable but we would not have looked forward to another night. The room was clean and fresh and the bed was comfortable. We enjoyed an extremely well cooked meal in the charming restaurant area and the breakfast was of the same high standard.
Overall we would stay again - but in a different room.

Reviewed by
G Cozens

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

somerset pub with accommodation.
Pub with accommodation. Benefit of good beer plus Excellent food in lovely atmosphere. Was busy for meals so suggest to book. Room 1 small but nicely appointed. Bathroom stylish with good bath with shower attachment. Staff friendly and made to feel very welcome.

Reviewed by
Peter R

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent country inn with great service and food
We were greeted very warmly despite arriving at a busy time; the owner had reserved a nice table for us in their busy restauarant without us needing to ask. The room was very comfortable and clean. Food was very good with excellent fresh produce and a range of interesting dishes. Overall a very good experience.

Reviewed by
Chris s

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delicious Food
This is a bit off the beaten track but I had a very comfortable stay and the sea bass I had for Dinner was excellent. Would recommend it for leisure or business.

Reviewed by
M Williams

From Wokingham, England
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little pub
As another reviewer has already said - "Thank goodness for SatNav". The Rose and Crown is a bit off the beaten track but just keep following the directions and your reward will be a great nights sleep in beautiful Egyptian bedding having had a truly splendid meal. Recommend the cider. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast will set you up for the day.
All in all highly recommended, nothing at all needs changing.

Reviewed by
Ian Kenworthy

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Lovely friendly staff in beautiful country inn. Thoroughly recommended.

Reviewed by
A Lock

From Grange Over Sands, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great pub in the heart of the Somerset Levels
A fantastic place to stay, friendly and helpful staff, great location and comfy beds, would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
R Luke

From England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 Next