No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Abbey Court House

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
134 Abbey Foregate, , , Shrewsbury, SY2 6AU
The Abbey Court House is idealy located in Shrewsbury within only a 15 minute pleasant walk from the town centre which is a great historical and shopping experience. You can be assured of a warm welcome at our distinctive 150 year-old Grade 2 Listed Building. A coaching house in times gone by, it is certainly a special place to stay. The town centre is packed with timber-framed black & white buildings, steep narrow streets and alleyways. In fact it boasts over 600 listed buildings including the Castle, now a regimental museum and the world-famous Shrewsbury Abbey, home of the fictional Brother Cadfael. Charles Darwin was born and educated in Shrewsbury and all around you will find reminders of his association with the town. The River Severn forms a loop around the town centre offering gentle riverside walks or you can enjoy a trip on the new pleasure boat Sabrina. Next to the river you can relax in the beautiful Quarry Park., location for the annual Shrewsbury Flower Show. The historic centre is a shopper's heaven packed with designer shops, smart new malls and an amazing range of independent retailers. Add to that a lively social night life in the bars and clubs, and a rich choice of cafes and restaurants. Off-road car parking is available for your peace of mind. FREE wi-fi access throughout. All rooms have a hospitality tray, and freeview tv, Some rooms are ground floor. Bathrooms are a good size, all have a shower and some have a bath also. A good choice of breakfasts is available including Traditional English, Continental, or vegetarian. Eggs are free range, we use premium Irish sausages, and vegetarian sausages are available by request.
Picture of Abbey Court House, Shrewsbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
65% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming stay
I was only staying in Shrewsbury for a night and the welcoming at this hotel was really good to be fair room was clean and tidy the only thing I would say is the decor of the room was a bit tired but the stay was relaxing and the bed was really comfortable had a really good stay there and would go again

Reviewed by
John Thorley

From Wem, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not a great experience
very poor value for money

Reviewed by
tris k

From Dewsbury, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice stay , friendly staff

Reviewed by
mark thrower

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bargain Accommodation but seriously flawed.

Strange staff. Definitely would NOT re-visit.

Reviewed by
Michael K

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Get away
enjoyable few days. wifi only worked in the breakfast room. Shower left a lot to be desired. Sink had a massive crack in it

Reviewed by
Jennifer Grocutt

From Redditch, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hidden gem
We decided to late book a room in Shrewsbury as I had a weeks induction training there early this year. Unbelievably we had only the choice of two and I am pleased I picked this one. It is an easy 10 mins from the bustle of town with a bus stop right outside the door if you don't want the walk. The room was very nice as good as any we have had in the past and very quiet considering the dining room was full the following morning when we had our top quality 'full English'.
Would not hesitate recommending or revisiting, Shrewsbury has a lot to offer just book a resteraunt in advance though!!! They get packed.

Reviewed by
Ian O

From Preston, England
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quiet location
We booked a room as a last minute stop over on the way to Wales. The room was comfortable and clean, if a little on the small side.
Breakfast was very good, and the whole package was very good value for money.
We would definitely stay here again if we were in the area.

Reviewed by
D Farmer

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Abbey court
The hotel was rather dated but was clean and tidy. The breakfast was good. The downside was that we had to vacate the rooms by 10.15 on a Sunday morning!!!!!!!this wasn't too good after a night on the beer....Very friendly.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth C

From Llanidloes, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

in need of a facelift?
Whilst it was clean and well run, kerb appeal not good due to cracked and grubby exterior. Decor very 1980s and rather drab. Wallpaper lifting in the hallway, exposed boiler in reception not appealing. Nice cooked breakfast and friendly staff but please lose the patterned carpets, fake plants and frilly pillowcases. Shower also a dribble rather than spray.Outside needs urgent attention. Convenient location but interior needs improving.

Reviewed by
J Fox

From Hitchin, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

GOOD LOCATION AND NICE GUEST HOUSE
We had a newly refurbished spacious room - very nice with large bathroom and good shower.Full English breakfast seemed partially pre-cooked and but was adequate. Plenty of cereals, fruit etc. Friendly waitress who looked after us well.
The hotel was clean and tidy but the wooden placemats on the tables need a good scrubbing or should be thrown out!

Reviewed by
Carol H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next