No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Victoria Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
St Mary's Street, , , Newport, TF10 7LD
Newport was an important Coaching town being central to Chester and London. Now conveniently situated for easy access to Stafford, Shrewsbury, Telford and Wolverhampton all with main rail links. Close to Motorways M54, M6 and M5. The town dates back to the 12th century at the time of Henry 1 and its main feature is its distinctively wide main street. Many of the towns dwellings have 18th century frontages in the Regency and Georgian styles. Charles Dickens stayed in the Royal Victoria Hotel which was formerly known as the Bear Hotel, and modelled Miss Haversham in his novel 'Great Expectations' (1861) on Elizabeth Parker who was a recluse who lived at Chetwynd House which is further down from the Hotel in the town. The Hotel and surrounding area has everything you need for a holiday or week-end break away including a variety of golf courses. We have excellent food, a beautiful restaurant and a choice of bars to have a casual drink. We have a wide selection of wines, spirits, international beers and cask ales. For business users, we have a function/business room together with lounge and bar facilities. It is also a great venue for Wedding Receptions, Parties, Christenings etc. Local yearly events include the V Festival (local Music Festival normally held around August) and the Nocturne (night time cycle race around the town usually held in September), Newport Carnival and Old Tyme Market (normally in June), Game Fairs, Raptor Fairs, Newport Show, RAF Cosford Airshow (normally in July), Shrewsbury Flower show (normally August).
Picture of Royal Victoria Hotel, Newport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great staff in a hotel with personality
I have very much enjoyed my one night stay. Having been greeted by a very friendly staff, it looked to be a family business. In the room I was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness, despite some maintenance work that the room needed. A very quiet room overall, providing a nice rest over night. In the morning a very nice service and tasty breakfast.
The one thing that stroked me during my stay was the staff. I can not praise them enough. Keep up the good work and don't stop smiling!

Reviewed by
M Roman

From St Ives, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

V festival digs
Great hotel, bit far from V festival though. Young girl on reception was lovely. However when it rained it leaked into the hotel : / hotel needs updating and maintaining. Ok for us though.

Reviewed by
Nicky Turnbull

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
The 2 unfortunate parts about my stay was that the sound insulation between rooms is none existant, hence being woke up at 5:30am by the extract fan in next doors bathroom and there was no pressure in the shower.
I would stayy here again due to locality of the hotel but would request a better room.

Reviewed by
J Cox

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what was expected
This Hotel is more of a pub with rooms. The reception is the bar, the staff are bar staff and have little idea as to how to treat hotel guests as opposed to bar visitors. The rooms look good on the photos but on closer inspection are poor. Mine had a single glazed window with an opening portion that could not be closed as the catch was broken. The room with a bath I had specifically ordered was a room with a shower, no bath, and a grotty en-suite to go with it. The restaurant, which closes at 8pm,totally lacks atmosphere. I ate in silence, no music, and no other people. After around 8.30 the bar was full of people who became drunk very quickly and very loud with it. The fire door system meant that all the bar noise passed upstairs to the rooms making them feel uncomfortable. The drunken noise extended out onto the street outside with motorbikes doing tyre burn outs to add to the noise. All in all a very intimidating atmosphere, on what was a Wednesday night! Breakfast isn't served until 7:30, which for business guests is too late if you need to be at work by 8am, so I had to miss the cooked breakfast, and the non cooked breakfast comprised of a basket full of small boxes of cereal, and a jug of orange juice.
This is a poor hotel by any measure. It does not know how to be a better hotel and I would recommend avoiding if at all possible.

Reviewed by
Austin F

From Northallerton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Victoria Hotel
Convenient,

Reviewed by
G Thomas

From Wales
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice and comfortable
Make sure you phone ahead if going to arrive late as all locked up when I arrived but telephone number to call on door (could benefit from a bell or intercom just in case you don't have a mobile) but staff friendly and stay really comfortable

Reviewed by
J Ryan

From Consett, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Royal Vic
The staff were very friendly and accommodating
There are about 36 bedrooms - mine could have done with refurbishment but kept very clean - bath tap connected shower difficult to get temperature balance but plenty of hot water
Breakfast - Orange Juice, Cereal, and full English - no fruit or cold offering - served from 8am which was a bit late to get to work on time by 9am
Dining room/Restaurant - but not open for meals after breakfast
Bar prices reasonable
Parking on premises
WIFI in the bar but did not extend to the bedroom

Reviewed by
Robert Darling

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bob's view of hotel.
The room and facilities at the hotel were fine.Was give wrong information about the time of breakfast on sunday morning but this was corrected by the morning staff who went out of his way to do my breakfast for which I was very greatful.

Reviewed by
Robert Lakin

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and friendly.
Family run with a personal touch; spendid location overlookuing the church and green right in the centre of town - but nevertheless quiet at night.

Reviewed by
H van Emden

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.