No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lamb Inn

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
The Lamb Inn, The Parade, , Marlborough, SN8 1NE
Locals, visitors and real ale lovers alike relish the delights of drinking Wadworth’s beer served straight from the wood. There’s also a carefully chosen selection of wines, starting at £14 for a house white or red. Foodies very much enjoy Jackie Scott’s (the landlady) home-cooked dishes, which can vary on a daily basis from traditional and modern British dishes, to tapas or Thai. (Jackie also takes a real interest in creating interesting vegetarian dishes.) Accommodation comprises three ensuite rooms in the pub itself and a further three rooms in the stable block which overlooks the pub’s courtyard. The Parade, which has its own car park and is just two minutes walk from the High Street, contains an eclectic mix of trades and professions including other pubs and places to eat, bookshops, antique dealers, art galleries and stock brokers. In the warmer months, life at The Lamb — day and night — very much revolves around the courtyard. Colourful hanging baskets and a pergola (complete with its own vine) add to the courtyard’s appeal making it a delightful spot for lunch or dinner or to spend a long and relaxing afternoon with friends. Marlborough has always been a favourite ‘weekend in the country’ destination. Our central location, coupled with good food, the pub’s convivial atmosphere and high quality accommodation makes The Lamb an excellent base for discovering what the market town of Marlborough and this part of Wiltshire has to offer. And by the way, we have no problem with well-behaved, dogs and kids, or adults for that matter!
Picture of The Lamb Inn, Marlborough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for short stay
Room was small but fresh and clean. Lovely bathroom but cold floor! Could be noisy as above the bar but we returned late after pub closed so not a problem. Good breakfast.

Reviewed by
Rachel G

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Marlborough
Have stayed here about 6 times this year and really like the place. Plenty of on street parking, good food and friendly staff. nice size room and well presented.

Reviewed by
TERRY D

From Wadebridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Whilst the room was very nice, the courtyard it was within was untidy & littered with junk. Pub itself was rather run down with torn wallpaper and dirty. Staff in morning seemed to only be pleasant as they were required to be. Full English breakfast taken, no option given of what type of eggs, juice etc wanted.

Reviewed by
Jennifer C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a gem. Not too fancy but v good
It's a down to earth pub but with a cute stable block at the rear with some recently refurbished rooms. So you're set apart from the pub. I stayed Sat eve and no noise problems at all.
Seems recently refurbished, almost brand new,except for parts of the shower. Please replace the old shower hose, it's the only bad thing.
Didn't have breakfast as had to leave v early

Reviewed by
mark f

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old coaching inn
Perfect for a short stay. Breakfast was excellent. We were in Hobday. Ensuite was very small but adequate. Bed very comfortable. Lots of drawer space but could have used a few more hangers. Wadworth beers served from the barrel. Lively pub. Fantastic window boxes deserved a prize.

Reviewed by
P W

From Matlock, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just perfect
The Lamb Inn is full of character. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. We stayed in Stable 2, which overlooked the courtyard and was very peaceful. The location of the Inn is just a few yards from the High Street and because we stayed on a Sunday, we were able to park outside the Inn. We are vegetarian and the cooked breakfast was probably the best we have had. We love Marlborough and would certainly stay at The Lamb Inn again.

Reviewed by
P Norton

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Value
I know the area well due to family living locally and expect a high standard from any venue in this area however, considering the cheapest hotels in Swindon are only fractionally less than I paid for this room, I was externally pleased with the experience.
The room was a good size for 2 adults and fitted a travel cot quite comfortably. Everything was clean and well presented and the staff were very hospitable. Great location and food was exactly what I would expect.
Would definitely use them again

Reviewed by
P Northall

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Greaqt customer service
We stayed at the Lamb Inn after a wedding. We arrived too early to check in but the member of staff at the pub was really accommodating and allowed us to leave our bags and collect our key. They were also very flexible at how late we were arriving back.
Breakfast was good, with lots of choice, and very friendly staff.
Beds were good quality and we had everything we needed.
Unfortunately we didn't get a chance to explore Marlborough, but would definitely recommend this as a place to stay.

Reviewed by
Lucie Bell

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well Worth Visiting
Had very nice 2 night stay at The Lamb. Great location, being in the town centre. Food was very good including the first class English breakfast. The owners though, need to update their website. The range of Wadworth cask ales appear to be served "straight from the wood" but the wood casks are there only for show. It didn't detract from the quality and enjoyment of the beer though.

Reviewed by
David G

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Atmosphere Very Nice people
Just off the main street but easy to access everything, this real pub B&B is value for money and has a proper local pub feel. parking is a bit of a problem but there is a car park just down the road and we found spaces relatively easily. Room was clean and comfy. The shower OK. an easy very welcoming place. The breakfast was excellent and varied.

Reviewed by
A Millar

From Yelverton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next