No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Queensbury Hotel

2Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
58 Regency Square, , , Brighton, BN1 2FF
This splendid 1815 Grade II Listed hotel is centrally located in sea-front Regency Square opposite Brighton’s West Pier. Just 2 minutes from the beach and 5 minutes from the Conference Centre, restaurants and shops and, with easy parking, the Queensbury is one of the most popular hotels in Brighton.

Superior Rooms are more spacious, located between the ground and second floors with original high ceilings retaining 19th-century features and chandeliers. Two Superior family rooms have sea views and one has a balcony.

With the exception of our Basic Twins, all rooms are fully en suite and sea views are enjoyed by two Superior Family rooms, two Standard Doubles and all four Standard Family rooms.

The Basic Twin rooms are on the lower ground floor and have an en suite shower with a lavatory just along the corridor shared with one other room.

All guests enjoy free wi-fi, Freeview TV/DVD/CD, gels, shampoos and hospitality tray with tea, coffee and biscuits.

Breakfast - A simple but healthy buffet continental-style breakfast is included in the price – a choice of juices, teas, coffee, cereals, toast, spreads, ham, cheese etc. A full English breakfast is available at the Regency Restaurant just across the square for which we can provide vouchers at a discounted price.

Parking - Free on-street parking is available between 20:00 and 09:00 but underground parking is also available underneath Regency Square at a charge of £20 per 24 hours, £22 at weekends. Limited local private off-street parking available from £10 via email request.

Please note…
a) The hotel does not accept stag or hen parties or other potentially rowdy groups
b) There is no lift in this Listed Building
c) To confirm the reservation a deposit of the cost of the 1st night will be debited from the card provided. Please see the 48-hour cancellation policy for more details.
Picture of The Queensbury Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 47 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
65% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little more effort would be worthwhile
Cleanliness, or the lack of it, is very important and this place was spotless. There are no public rooms other than the dining room but the owner has made an effort to hang attractive pictures appropriate to the period of the building. I am a little disabled so appreciated having only one flight of stairs to my room, but the concierge did not offer to carry my two bags. There were the usual minor irritations - no plug in my basin, and no towel in the communal loo. But the position of the hotel is central, in the square adjoining the now burned out West Pier, and the breakfast, like the place, was perfectly acceptable for someone on a very strict budget. You get what you pay for and I did choose this place because it was cheap.

Reviewed by
William C

From Buckingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely little b&b staff very friendly, in great location. Only issue is we was on the top floor and there was only stairs, problem for elderly, unfit or asmatic. Apart from that everything was great.

Reviewed by
Courtney R

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful room
We had a beautiful room overlooking the Regency Square. Loved the period features of the room - huge windows with drapes, high ceiling and chandelier. No problems with noise, had 2 good nights sleep. Simple but good breakfast. Altogether very good value for money.

Reviewed by
Susan F

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a happy and jolly time away
Good location, helpful and friendly staff. Breakfast brilliant for what they offered, just a few knives needed to be cleaned a little more.
The room was big, the beds were comfy and hardly any noise came through to the ground floor from other rooms.
Radiators worked perfectly and shower was strong and did the job.
No added tea bags or milk the next day once we had used the initial ones, but not far from a shop to get more milk.
3 women went on this holiday and we had no complaints as it did the job for somewhere to get ready, sleep and have breakfast in the mornings as Brighton had so much to offer during the day.

Reviewed by
R Williams

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not to be recommended
We stayed for 2 nights and found the accommodation poor to say the least.
The bottom sheet on my bedding was clearly stained and looked horrendous - as a result I found myself having to lay on top of it due to a late check in.
The showers - in all 3 rooms - had only 2 temperatures. Cold as ice or hot as hell!
Breakfast too was a disappointment - it wasn't even a continental, Toast, fruit or cereal only. Anything hot and your are required to go elsewhere (you need to buy a pre pay voucher first - which seems pretty pointless as you may as well go somewhere else!).
Certainly wouldn't recommend this place to anyone I'm afraid to say.

Reviewed by
John V

From , UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Better than expected
After reading some awful reviews we were nervous about booking. We wasn't too worried about
Quality as we were only there for a night out clubbing
But it was better than expected. Only problem would be the odd smell
In the lobby!

Reviewed by
C Strank

From Worcester Park, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was ok, you get what you pay for really. Downsides were the room was a bit small & only a double bed, not 2 singles as we would have preferred. Toilet flush was really noisy, sound even came through from the next room! Was noisy outside, especially as the bins were emptied at 6am! But it was clean, near everything & the staff were helpful

Reviewed by
E Gurry

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

this is not a hotel for holiday people.It is more for work men.We were put on top floor as you can see I are over 65 no lift or anyone to take our cases up we had to carry them.The room was not very good shower door hanging off no catch on window had to put a shoe in it to let some air in sockets behind desk you have to move desk to plug something in need I go on.we booked out next morning could not stay there sorry for being truthful.

Reviewed by
C Stanton

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay for business seminar visit

Reviewed by
Ian M

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean and friendly and ideal situation for the lanes and seafront

Reviewed by
Maria K

From Aldershot, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next