No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mermaid Inn

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Mermaid Street, , , Rye, TN31 7EY
The Mermaid Inn, the Jewel in Rye’s Crown. One of England's oldest and loveliest inns, with norman cellars dating from 1156, the Mermaid, rebuilt in 1420, offers tradition and charm in abundance.

A jewel in the crown of Rye, the inn has a wide range of accommodation including rooms with four-poster beds and fascinating secret passages. The lounge bar boasts one of the largest open log fires in the country.

The 2 AA Rosette restaurant offers fine British and French cuisine and the head chef is proud to use only the freshest of local ingredients.

For many years The Mermaid has been frequented by artists from the stage and screen: Charlie Chaplin, Pierce Brosnan, Andy Garcia and Johnny Depp to name but a few. Queen Elizabeth, the Queen Mother and Prince Edward have also visited.

Painters from all over the world have spent many a happy hour with brush in hand, capturing the rare character of this beautiful inn

The Mermaid has 8 four-poster bedded rooms, 15 double / twin bedded rooms, 5 family and 3 single bedded rooms. In the other bedrooms, the story is repeated fine panelling, Caen stone fireplaces and latticed windows. The second-storey rooms are particularly intriguing with the curved timber supporting the ceilings. The dormer windows afford a unique view of the red-tiled roofs of Rye.

Conferences are very popular at the ‘Mermaid’ where guests can enjoy the history and charm of this rare old building as well as professional service and fine cuisine.
Picture of Mermaid Inn, Rye at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful historic hotel with superb food.
Excellent staff and the communal areas, lounge, bar and restaurant are beautiful.

Reviewed by
T Morrison

From England
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Historical hotel in interesting town
The Mermaid Inn is an old fashioned ancient coaching inn with lots of nooks and crannies and 'creaky' floorboards, on one of the best quiet cobbled streets in old Rye. However, it has all the modern conveniences. We only stayed for B&B and a couple of drinks in the charming bar, which was fine. Service was excellent and very friendly. We would recommend without hesitation.

Reviewed by
Sydney Davies

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Olde worlde but so comfortable
Lovely welcome on our arrival. Room was cosy but not small. Fantastic food and drink and the waiting staff were so attentive. Parking at the back of the hotel very important.How did the hotel get the doves to quietly coo in the morning on our windowsill!!

Reviewed by
Susan L

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel for short break
Lovely old hotel, full of character, log fires and comfy corners. Could not fault location, service or quality of food.

Reviewed by
Greta M

From Hitchin, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our Anniversary at the mermaid inn
We stayed here last weekend, not in one of the haunted rooms!!
And it was absolutely fantastic, there is nothing not too like. The staff are great, attentive, polite and listen to you.
The room was amazing, rich in history and charm, and the food was delicious well worth every penny, Romney marsh lamb and for starter wood pigeon
The inn has so much history it's difficult to know what to say other than it's a place you really should visit once in your life, then I'm sure you will go back. There are many other places I want to visit in the world but I know i will come back here sometime

Reviewed by
j garwes

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A truly memorable place to stay
We stayed in Room 3 upstairs which overlooks the beautiful cobbled Mermaid Street. We were immediately greeted by two doves that flew onto the window ledge as soon as we opened the window and within minutes were IN the room!
The floors are extremely creaky and sloping which all adds to the character. The bathroom is huge. The bar and lounge area are beautiful. I wish we had had a little more time to explore the nooks and crannies and would love to try a different room next time.
The room was clean and very calming. I don't tend to sleep well outside of my own bed, especially in and old and apparently haunted building, but I slept very well on the lovely, if slanted, bed.
Breakfast and dinner were lovely, though the menu for dinner was a little limited for my liking. I highly recommend The Ambrette restaurant a few minutes away which I have been raving about ever since. The steak of mutton was sublime and the meal was great value.
This was a truly memorable stay and I would love to visit again soon. Yes it is quite expensive, but it really is the best place to stay in Rye, and it has made it into my top 3 best places I have ever stayed in England

Reviewed by
Nicola S

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Break
Very romantic Hotel. Room full of character and charm. Only complant (be it little) would be the lack of heating in the newly refurbished bathroom, I fill a towel rail needs to be added.

Reviewed by
Joanne Amsil

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a lovely place to stay!
We had a loft room that was all too easy to imagine as our own. The staff were all very friendly, the bar excellent, the service overall exemplary.
If I had any criticism it would be in the available parking, but that's beyond the control of the hotel so it's unfair to mark them down on this. All I'd say is that if you intend to park in the hotel on a Saturday you'd best get parked before 4pm and not want to be leaving early the next day.

Reviewed by
Jon Gritton

From Ripon, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Inn!

Reviewed by
Masahiro S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable Stay at the Mermaid
Very pleasant overnight stay. Hotel full of character and very old hence bedrooms and bathrooms reflect this. Excellent restaurant

Reviewed by
Andrew Statham

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next