No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Double-Gate Farm

4AA Assessed Farmhouse Ratings explained
Double-Gate Farm, Godney, , Wells, BA5 1RZ
WINNER - SOUTH WEST ENGLAND FOR EXCELLENCE AWARDS ACCESS FOR ALL 2009/10. Double-Gate Farm is situated in a pleasant position on the Somerset Levels on the banks of the River Sheppey with views accross open countryside to the Mendip Hills. Begin the day with one of our scrumptious breakfasts in our Garden Dining Room with 180 degree views of the garden, house and meadows. Ceiling fans ensure you keep cool on the hottest of days. Our menu has a lot to choose from: traditional farmhouse breakfast, succulent posh bangers, pancake banoffee, smoked kippers - all in all there are a dozen different breakfasts to suit most dietary requirements plus a breakfast bar of cereals, yogurts compots, cheese fresh fruit and juices. In winter we run a "Winter Warmer" special when the starter menu changes to things like hot milk, creamy porridge and our full main course menu. Guests partake breakfast in candlelight. All beds have pocket-sprung mattresses to ensure a good night's sleep. All ground floor areas in the Farmhouse are accessible by wheelchair. Farmhouse en-suites are on the first floor, Riverside Suites are all ground floor, extra large with patio facing south over the river, ceiling fans, refrigeration and super big wet rooms. Completely adaptable for the disabled, big and flexible for families and groups. The Farmhouse guest lounge has a wide screen TV, free internet and a piano. During the whole of December is decorated in traditional fashion. If B&B isn't your thing then try our self catering in Swallow Barn. Two double, en-suite bedrooms upstairs, ground floor twin en-suite, ingle nook log fire sitting room, dining room and kitchen. Accessible NAS3. The games room has a full size snooker table, table tennis, darts and shove ha' penny plus a wealth of up to date information freely available. Please Note: We are a no-smoking property and do not accept pets but assistance dogs are welcome. Children welcome. Check-In time: 16.00 and Check-Out time: 10.00.
Picture of Double-Gate Farm, Wells at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely setting, accommodation of a very high standard, people lovely, breakfast very good.
would definitely stay again

Reviewed by
Alice A

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very pleasant and peaceful.
very serene stay. only wish we could have stayed longer.

Reviewed by
Carl Roffey

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
One of the best B&Bs we have stayed in. Everything was fantastic! Breakfast cooked to perfection. Greeted with a lovely cup of tea and cake. Lots of little extras that make your stay special.Very friendly :)

Reviewed by
A Heffernan

From Wallingford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Double gate farm
The farm was not easy to find but worth it as on arrival we were made welcome with a cup of tea and cake. The accommodation was very good and the garden was lovely. We enjoyed our stay and would go again.

Reviewed by
T Dingley

From Eastleigh, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

relaxed rural accommadation
very welcoming owners ideal for disabled customers

Reviewed by
Robert P

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Premier Class
Much more than you are expecting, could not fault the view, the room, the food or the service and there is the bonus of a pub next door which provided first class food.

Reviewed by
Eileen M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Double Gate Farm

Reviewed by
Peter W

From Stourport on Severn, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place but unfortunatly overpriced
Nice very cleaned and spacy room.
Although the bathroom shows some difficulties to drain perfectly, it very clean, as well as the room and nice facilities.
The balcony is nice and you can enjoy being along the river.
the room is not exactly friendly but you can enjoy being a bit further apart from the owners.
but it is overpriced (£100 for a night)
very nice pub next door

Reviewed by
clothilde m

From Paris, France
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a great stay in the farm house. The room and bathroom were very comfortable. The bathroom fittings and decor is to a very high.
Breakfast was very enjoyable with a good menu choice and well presented. The whole experience was made special for us by all the lovely folks that worked to make our stay memorable.
The location is perfect if you have an interest in nature with plenty of top reserves near by also the pub next door is great for evening meals.

Reviewed by
Reginald Law

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended - stayed here with Mum, room was set up as twin, but had double facility as well, good sized room with terrace overlooking a river - excellent location forvisiting surrounding area, lots of choices for breakfast, nothing seemed to much trouble.
Made to feel very welcome on arrival and throughout the stay. Would stay here again without hesitation.

Reviewed by
Leander M

From Ellesmere Port, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next