No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Cannards Well Hotel

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Canards Grave Road, , , Shepton Mallet, BA4 4LY
The Cannards Well is to be found on the outskirts of Shepton Mallet (A37) within a mile or so of the Bath and West showground, 2 miles from the Glastonbury festival site and 5 miles from the cathedral city of Wells. Shepton Mallet is a delightful mixture of old and new; a combination of ancient market town and modern indus­trial community, nestling in a fold towards the western edge of the Mendip Hills. We are commited to customer care and offer anything from fresh fish, locally raised beef and pork dishes to traditional pub grub. We offer the areas widest range of ciders and perry's as well as a varied selection of lagers, real ales and an extensive choice of whiskies, cognacs and wines galore. The hotel has 12 en-suite bedrooms and 5 suites on two floors. They are all being constantly updated to maintain today's standards of comfort and convenience and are all tastefully decorated with elegant furnishings and fabrics. All of our rooms have delightful views of the Menip Hills and pleasing aspects over the hotel's countryside surroundings.
Picture of The Cannards Well Hotel, Shepton Mallet at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 47 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
61% recommended this accommodation to a friend 63% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was a little tatty but very clean and comfortable. Food was excellent.

Reviewed by
dave b

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Doubled booked
room was doubled booked but was so found another room in the hotel.
Very friendly and helpful staff.
Cook turned up late for breakfast so cleaner made me breakfast! Because she was doing that the eating area had not been cleaned from the night before.
General appearance could be improved a lot of clutter on view i.e. vacuum cleaners, cleaning products lying across tourist information display in entrance, managers desk in the bar area covered with all office paperwork and computer nothing secure.

Reviewed by
A Atkinson

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Adequate B&B
Room was clean and basic, no hairdryer, wi-fi was intermittent.
Evening meal was very good, breakfast was 7 out of 10.
Would I stay again? probably.

Reviewed by
E Adam

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst hotel ever!
This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, hell would be a more pleasant stay than here. From the outside the hotel looks like something you'd find in a horror movie. The room is disgusting, in desperate need of decoration, cracks in walls, dirty marks everywhere, loose tiles, window that barely opens (boiling hot in August), pathetic excuse for towels (very small & very scratchy), bathroom needs a good clean, ancient bed & bedding, wifi barely works, can't watch tv that's screwed to wall as it won't angle. Breakfast & bar area filthy, luke warm breakfast that had been sat out for waft looked like hours. Very depressing place. I contemplated sleeping in my car! Do not stay here!

Reviewed by
Madeleine S

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotelier could not have been kinder.
Quiet and peaceful stay. Lovely view. Clean room. Excellent price and the owner went out of his way to (literally) when we could not get a taxi to our destination. Very kind indeed.

Reviewed by
S Burrows

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Landlords The Lord of the land
Fantastic place to stay for an overnighter. Great dinner and good breakfast. Had a good time. Thank you governor.

Reviewed by
benjamin m

From Epsom, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we were very happy with everything the staff were very helpful and friendly,the location was very good and central to all local attractions and the breakfast was very good.

Reviewed by
Alison Baker

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fawlty towers
Very basic accommodation in need of a lot of tlc

Reviewed by
Mike N

From Penryn, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't go there, thoroughly depressing accomodation, couldnt wait to leave.
Having viewed the staircase and the smelly corridor plus the not too clean room, we tried to cancel but it was too late to avoid charges.
Poorly furnished, depressing bathroom, dreadful shower without much pressure, no dressing table, plugs a mile away from the mirror.
Tea and coffee facilities in the room were good.
Would not dream of ever staying there again.

ManagementResponse

We regret that this customer had a poor stay. On viewing the room he did ask if another room was available, but unfortunately we were fully booked that night and could not place him in an alternative room. Room 6 is particularly popular, its spacious and well appointed for the price we charge. At this time of the year, our competitors are charging £80-£100 for lesser rooms, but our aim is not to profiteer. Plus we offer a buffet style breakfast included in the rate which is second to none. In all, extremely good value we are repeatedly told.

Reviewed by
Gary Davis

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
A wonderful hotel with a very good bar. Considering the price this place is faultless.
The staff are great and the food is exceptionally well priced hearty fayre.
Will definitely be returning.

Reviewed by
H Munro

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next