No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Cannards Well Hotel

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Canards Grave Road, , , Shepton Mallet, BA4 4LY
The Cannards Well is to be found on the outskirts of Shepton Mallet (A37) within a mile or so of the Bath and West showground, 2 miles from the Glastonbury festival site and 5 miles from the cathedral city of Wells. Shepton Mallet is a delightful mixture of old and new; a combination of ancient market town and modern indus­trial community, nestling in a fold towards the western edge of the Mendip Hills. We are commited to customer care and offer anything from fresh fish, locally raised beef and pork dishes to traditional pub grub. We offer the areas widest range of ciders and perry's as well as a varied selection of lagers, real ales and an extensive choice of whiskies, cognacs and wines galore. The hotel has 12 en-suite bedrooms and 5 suites on two floors. They are all being constantly updated to maintain today's standards of comfort and convenience and are all tastefully decorated with elegant furnishings and fabrics. All of our rooms have delightful views of the Menip Hills and pleasing aspects over the hotel's countryside surroundings.
Picture of The Cannards Well Hotel, Shepton Mallet at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 41 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
60% recommended this accommodation to a friend 60% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we were very happy with everything the staff were very helpful and friendly,the location was very good and central to all local attractions and the breakfast was very good.

Reviewed by
Alison Baker

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fawlty towers
Very basic accommodation in need of a lot of tlc

Reviewed by
Mike N

From Penryn, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't go there, thoroughly depressing accomodation, couldnt wait to leave.
Having viewed the staircase and the smelly corridor plus the not too clean room, we tried to cancel but it was too late to avoid charges.
Poorly furnished, depressing bathroom, dreadful shower without much pressure, no dressing table, plugs a mile away from the mirror.
Tea and coffee facilities in the room were good.
Would not dream of ever staying there again.

ManagementResponse

We regret that this customer had a poor stay. On viewing the room he did ask if another room was available, but unfortunately we were fully booked that night and could not place him in an alternative room. Room 6 is particularly popular, its spacious and well appointed for the price we charge. At this time of the year, our competitors are charging £80-£100 for lesser rooms, but our aim is not to profiteer. Plus we offer a buffet style breakfast included in the rate which is second to none. In all, extremely good value we are repeatedly told.

Reviewed by
Gary Davis

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
A wonderful hotel with a very good bar. Considering the price this place is faultless.
The staff are great and the food is exceptionally well priced hearty fayre.
Will definitely be returning.

Reviewed by
H Munro

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very tired and depressing place however as a base for one night and needing an early morning start it did the job
The room was actually clean and comfortable and the girl on reception polite and helpful
I used the pub next door for food
The interior and bar area could have done with a big revamp and this didn,t do the place any favours
If I had driven past and was looking for accomodation I wouldn,t have stopped there

Reviewed by
anthony c

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good but next to a very noisy road.
Stayed in 2 rooms. Small en- suite double for my partner and I the other an en-suite family room for my parents and brother.
Staff were all very friendly and food was brilliant.
The small double was adequate. It was £10.00 cheaper than my parents family room, however next time if we stayed again we would pay that extra and go to a bigger room as their room was of better quality. The decoration of the room could have been of higher quality; holes in the wall, paintwork looking rushed. We had a kettle and tea, coffee and milk.
The bathroom was ok. Was clean but the shower had a sliding door that was very precarious on its hinges.
The room was at the front of the hotel next to a very busy road which could be heard even with the window closed. When the window was open it sounded as if the traffic was coming through the room.
All in all the staff were friendly, the room and price married up and the food was fab.
Would we stay again? Yes but would pay extra for a family room and request to be in a room off the main road. If this were not possible I would eat here but stay in another place as the road was incredibly noisy.

Reviewed by
Anette C

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First Timer
The quality of food was superb, the TV mounting was a little 'sque whif' but would have no hesitation at going there again.

Reviewed by
T Hissey

From Harrow, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room that we had was small but adequate for a weekend stay.
The service and food were excellent.

Reviewed by
K James

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely staff, good place to stay

Reviewed by
S Roberts

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful. Recommended.
Friendly, helpful staff, nice atmosphere and the food better than expected. It's a bit tatty around the edges but a comfortable bed, big breakfast and a fantastic range of spirits in the bar. Excellent value too.

Reviewed by
Andy S

From Holmfirth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next