No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Cannards Well Hotel

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Canards Grave Road, , , Shepton Mallet, BA4 4LY
The Cannards Well is to be found on the outskirts of Shepton Mallet (A37) within a mile or so of the Bath and West showground, 2 miles from the Glastonbury festival site and 5 miles from the cathedral city of Wells. Shepton Mallet is a delightful mixture of old and new; a combination of ancient market town and modern indus­trial community, nestling in a fold towards the western edge of the Mendip Hills. We are commited to customer care and offer anything from fresh fish, locally raised beef and pork dishes to traditional pub grub. We offer the areas widest range of ciders and perry's as well as a varied selection of lagers, real ales and an extensive choice of whiskies, cognacs and wines galore. The hotel has 12 en-suite bedrooms and 5 suites on two floors. They are all being constantly updated to maintain today's standards of comfort and convenience and are all tastefully decorated with elegant furnishings and fabrics. All of our rooms have delightful views of the Menip Hills and pleasing aspects over the hotel's countryside surroundings.
Picture of The Cannards Well Hotel, Shepton Mallet at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
62% recommended this accommodation to a friend 64% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short stay
Excellent curry and huge breakfast.
Sky sports on a huge screen in my room.
Large range of superb ciders to choose from in the bar.

Reviewed by
martin wilks

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On a noisey busy main road, the bathroom smelt of bad drains, the bed was uncomfartable

Reviewed by
David P

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Young Staff
.For: Pleasant,helpful and polite young staff are a credit to this B&B. Extra Large tasty full English breakfast, Ample parking, clean beds, large tv with sky, nice views of hills out of the window.
Against: strong unpleasant smell of drains in the bathroom, tired decor throughout, loose shower head which can easily fall of the mount when shower turned on or off, Dirty and stained carpet in the room, noisy loose floorboards in the corridors outside the room, noise from bar area can disturb your sleep at night.

Reviewed by
farhad s

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderful welcome
The staff and owners of this small country hotel made us feel so welcome - nothing was too much trouble. Wonderful evening meal that was excellent value for money and full English breakfast. The room was very comfortable. The only downside was that it was warm in the night but our room over looked the road so it was too noisy to have the window open.

Reviewed by
Jane A

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

spoilt what should have been a lovely family weekend
words cannot discribe this,it would make fawlty towers seem like the ritz without sybil.

Reviewed by
Andrew P

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worth the money!
A very delightful hotel with very friendly staff. We arrived just minutes after the kitchens closed, but they reopened the kitchen just to cook us some food. A well stocked bar with a choice of local ciders and beer on tap and a large range of spirits, including a good selection of whiskies. The room was clean and tidy and even fitted out with a sky box! Overall, great value for money, and only 30minutes drive from Longleat!
Only downside is the rooms overlook a very busy road!

Reviewed by
J Arnold

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed to visit Longleat
We stayed for two nights while visiting Longleat. After arriving quite late the staff quickly made us feel welcome. We had drinks waiting after settling into our room. Staff and landlord were all really friendly. The food was really nice, good quality meals on both evenings. It was nice to have a living room and bedroom, made a change from the usual small hotel rooms. It is a pub with rooms above but the bar noise was not a problem and we had a room on the next floor above the bar. If we are even in need to a room in the area this will be top of our list!

Reviewed by
L Tate

From Westcliff on Sea, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic accommodation
Thankfully we were only staying one night so not really a problem but I wouldn't like to use it as a holiday base.
The description given of suite E was misleading. It was hardly a suite comprising of a bedroom and a sitting room, instead it was an awkwardly L shaped room with the TV in front of the double bed and if you had more than two people sharing the room as we did (3) there was nowhere for us all to sit comfortably.
Although the beds were comfortable (despite the single bed being excessively squeaky) the linen was clean but the carpet left a lot to be desired with stains and rough edges. It really needs an overhaul to bring it up to the standard of the photos seen when booking. The side panel of the bath was loose and there was no toilet roll holder.
The door had a large gap aound it and let in a lot of light. I would also be very carefull of arriving in the dark. The stairwell has motion sensitive lights which do not stay on long enough. If you are slow climbing the stairs, you are left in dark until you reach the next light. Not good if you have children with you or miss the uneven floor.
The saving grace was the breakfast which was made to order, hot and tasty, though we didn't fancy eating there in the evening. It also has a good car park and a great location for exploring the neighbouring area.

Reviewed by
M Peddar

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Cannards Well Hotel
Room had no heater and it was cold. Toilet was very small and shower handle needs proper cleaning. Hotel directly on A37 busy road and hence very noisy in the rooms. This is truely a self classified 4 star hotel, I wouldnt rate it with 2 stars. Breakfast was really unusual way of serving breakfast.

Reviewed by
Sule Ayodeji H

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cider weekend
We spent two nights here and enjoyed every minute. The rooms are nice and clean and warm. There is a big selection of cider at the bar. The food is very good, great choice and reasonably priced .

Reviewed by
W Ellis

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next