No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Cannards Well Hotel

4สไตล์เฉพาะตัว ที่พักพร้อมอาหารเช้า Ratings explained
Canards Grave Road, , , Shepton Mallet, BA4 4LY
The Cannards Well is to be found on the outskirts of Shepton Mallet (A37) within a mile or so of the Bath and West showground, 2 miles from the Glastonbury festival site and 5 miles from the cathedral city of Wells. Shepton Mallet is a delightful mixture of old and new; a combination of ancient market town and modern indus­trial community, nestling in a fold towards the western edge of the Mendip Hills. We are commited to customer care and offer anything from fresh fish, locally raised beef and pork dishes to traditional pub grub. We offer the areas widest range of ciders and perry's as well as a varied selection of lagers, real ales and an extensive choice of whiskies, cognacs and wines galore. The hotel has 12 en-suite bedrooms and 5 suites on two floors. They are all being constantly updated to maintain today's standards of comfort and convenience and are all tastefully decorated with elegant furnishings and fabrics. All of our rooms have delightful views of the Menip Hills and pleasing aspects over the hotel's countryside surroundings.
Picture of The Cannards Well Hotel, Shepton Mallet at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room , staff really friendly
Food was excellent.

Reviewed by
Neil S

From Redruth, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a mixed bag!
I stayed in a single room on the road side of the hotel. On entering it looked rather bland - there was every shade of beige - but quite adequate for my one night's stay. The ensuite was spotlessly clean with a new shower curtain; just a pity about the missing plinth under the shower tray. The meal I had was typical pub-grub but good value for money, and the staff on duty were very attentive and polite.
Unfortunately, the room was freezing cold due to the large gap between the window frame and wall, and lack of any form of heating. The road noise was horrendous and any reviewer who says otherwise clearly took out their hearing aid to sleep .There was no headboard on the bed and two sockets behind the pillows. On retiring I found the door did not lock from the inside. Never one to be defeated, I solved both these problems by moving the bed down so it covered the door. I think I slept between 1 and 5am through sheer exhaustion and left without having breakfast.
Whilst nothing can be done about the traffic, a decent window would have helped the noise and the cold. A cheap colourful quilt and a cushion in the chair would have brightened the room - oh, and the bed definitely needed a valance. Someone definitely needs to watch the Hotel Inspector.

Reviewed by
Denise C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Cannards hotel is in an ideal location
This hotel is ideal, the staff are so friendly and helpful, the food was delicious and the room was large and bright, The owner/manager is oneof the friendliest people I have met and gave us a free round of drinks with our meal, really nice hotel would stay again for sure

Reviewed by
janice b

From Carshalton, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short stay
Excellent curry and huge breakfast.
Sky sports on a huge screen in my room.
Large range of superb ciders to choose from in the bar.

Reviewed by
martin wilks

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On a noisey busy main road, the bathroom smelt of bad drains, the bed was uncomfartable

Reviewed by
David P

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Young Staff
.For: Pleasant,helpful and polite young staff are a credit to this B&B. Extra Large tasty full English breakfast, Ample parking, clean beds, large tv with sky, nice views of hills out of the window.
Against: strong unpleasant smell of drains in the bathroom, tired decor throughout, loose shower head which can easily fall of the mount when shower turned on or off, Dirty and stained carpet in the room, noisy loose floorboards in the corridors outside the room, noise from bar area can disturb your sleep at night.

Reviewed by
farhad s

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderful welcome
The staff and owners of this small country hotel made us feel so welcome - nothing was too much trouble. Wonderful evening meal that was excellent value for money and full English breakfast. The room was very comfortable. The only downside was that it was warm in the night but our room over looked the road so it was too noisy to have the window open.

Reviewed by
Jane A

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

spoilt what should have been a lovely family weekend
words cannot discribe this,it would make fawlty towers seem like the ritz without sybil.

Reviewed by
Andrew P

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worth the money!
A very delightful hotel with very friendly staff. We arrived just minutes after the kitchens closed, but they reopened the kitchen just to cook us some food. A well stocked bar with a choice of local ciders and beer on tap and a large range of spirits, including a good selection of whiskies. The room was clean and tidy and even fitted out with a sky box! Overall, great value for money, and only 30minutes drive from Longleat!
Only downside is the rooms overlook a very busy road!

Reviewed by
J Arnold

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed to visit Longleat
We stayed for two nights while visiting Longleat. After arriving quite late the staff quickly made us feel welcome. We had drinks waiting after settling into our room. Staff and landlord were all really friendly. The food was really nice, good quality meals on both evenings. It was nice to have a living room and bedroom, made a change from the usual small hotel rooms. It is a pub with rooms above but the bar noise was not a problem and we had a room on the next floor above the bar. If we are even in need to a room in the area this will be top of our list!

Reviewed by
L Tate

From Westcliff on Sea, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next