No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Istanbul Ev Guest House

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
8 Madeira Place, , , Brighton, BN2 1TN
The Istanbul Ev Guest House offers rooms with free Wi-Fi, less than 100 metres from Brighton’s vibrant seafront. Guests are also just 5 minutes’ walk from the famous Pier.

With a flat-screen TV and free tea and coffee, each room also has simple, clean décor. A private bathroom with a shower is included in some rooms and the other ones are with shared facilities.

This relaxed property serves both full English and continental breakfast options in the bright dining room. For evening meals, a wide range of restaurants and bars can be found on the seafront.

The historic Royal Pavillion is just 0.3 miles from the Istanbul Ev, and the Theatre Royal is just a few metres further away.

Public parking is possible at a location nearby.
Picture of Istanbul Ev Guest House, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Iatanbul Ev
Good value for money by Brighton standards. Pleasant and helpful young staff. Food good but not always served sufficiently hot. Good mix of ages and nationalities staying there.

Reviewed by
Brian P

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Below par
Although this room was cheap it was still far below the standard I expect. The room had a horrible smell, the bed was very uncomfortable although well made and the room suffered from lots of street noise.
Breakfast was offered from 9 am which is unsuitable for someone who is working. The staff were friendly, although did not respond to requests of providing a receipt or offering continental breakfast at an earlier hour.
I stay away frequently in Brighton always spending similar money so I am aware what my money should buy.
Pay another £10/night and stay elsewhere is my advice.

Reviewed by
Gavin O

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 night in buzzing brighton.
Visiting relatives,found brighton to be a lively and cultured place to visit,albeit expensive. Istanbul have very friendly and helpful staff,who are a real plus point.room was clean and tidy but rather basic.breakfast was overcooked and barely edible.i would say that was the biggest failing in an establishment where the staff are the biggest plus point.

Reviewed by
kenny fraser

From Corby, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Look, you're paying £30 for a night with breakfast (or at least, I did).
You get exactly what you're paying for room-wise. The hospitality was cracking and my breakfast, whilst not amazing on the eyes was gorgeous. Also, free WiFi. Bonus.
There's no facilities review here but I would give it a knock on that. To wash, I had the choice of a bath on the first floor (no thanks) or a shower on the second. I opted for the shower but it was one of the worst showers I've experienced - weird nozzle, no heat control, extremely cramped. I'll admit I didn't investigate onto the third floor to check if there was an additional shower there though..
I will very likely visit the EV again should I happen to be in Brighton in the future. Gosh, that breakfast was tasty.

Reviewed by
Stephen B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay xx
loved the hotel x great location, right next to the pier and all the attractions xx would recommend this hotel to everyone x lovely breakfats and staff very helpful x

Reviewed by
MARGARET B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Half a Mushroom
It wasn't where google maps said it was, my room was tiny, it had no double glazing so I was woken by the seagulls and the breakfast was terrible it had exactly half a mushroom on it. The staff were very friendly, but I wouldn't stay again.

Reviewed by
Chris Todd

From Southsea, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

what a lovely place !
We had such a lovely time, all the staff were so friendly and accomodating,
excellent location right by the Wheel on the pier, can't wait to stay there
again :)

Reviewed by
Constanze Osborne

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3 of us stayed at the Istanbul for a brief visit for the races. The guest house is superbly located and excellent value for a budget stay in Brighton if, like us, your main requirement isn't quiet (I temper that with the fact it was 30 degrees that day so we had to sleep with all windows open) and luxury. The staff were very helpful and, as we checked out at 10.00 a.m. on the day we were leaving but our train home wasn't until 8.00 p.m. that night, were happy to look after our luggage for us during the day which was very kind and helpful. If only the people running the Istanbul would run the crazy golf course halfway along the volks railway it might just open for more than 4 hours a day and I could have beaten my mates as I had predicted!!!!!

Reviewed by
G Ancell

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value basic accomodation
Friendly staff. Fairly basic room but fine for the money. Easy access to central Brighton. Good place to stay if you just want somewhere to crash.

Reviewed by
C Austen

From Dorking, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No headboard, squeaky floorboards, tv to small, and the bacon was like plastic other than that it was ok. Staff were pleasent

Reviewed by
J O'Connor

From Twickenham, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next