No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Ilchester Arms

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
The Square Ilchester, Yeovil, BA22 8LN
Situated in the Historic Town of Ilchester, the Ilchester Arms Hotel is a charming building full of character and offers the perfect setting to eat, drink and relax. The Town of Ilchester, famed for its cheese production, offers many local points of interest including a Roman Bridge and an Artifact Museum. Ilchester is convenient for access to A303, Yeovil and RNAS Yeovilton.

A Warm Welcome is always assured. Brendan, Lucy and their young energetic team are dedicated to providing the highest level of customer service and we take great pride in serving you our exceptional quality cusine made from local fresh produce (wherever possible). Whether you are staying at the Hotel or just using the Bar or Bistro, you will always find a warm welcome at the Ilchester Arms. The bar is open all day for drinks and the bistro is open every day for Lunch and Dinner (except Sunday evening). We have 10 Ensuite Bedrooms, conference and private dining facilities, walled patio garden, bar and off street parking

At the Ilchester Arms Hotel we have 10 beautiful rooms. All Rooms are en-suite and have colour TV, tea and coffee making facilities, a telephone and wireless internet access. We are happy to provide room service. Our rooms feature 2 single, 2 twin and 6 doubles; of the 6 double rooms. 2 of these doubles are available as family rooms, one features a small room off the main bedroom containing twin built-in bunkbeds (max height 5ft), the other a seperate room with single bed and sofa bed if needed. We are child friendly providing toys in both the rooms and public areas.
Picture of The Ilchester Arms, Yeovil at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel, friendly staff all good

Reviewed by
Bob C

From Leamington Spa, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
Helpful polite staff
Good room
Good breakfast

Reviewed by
S Gilmour

From Romsey, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent inn style accommodation
Nice room great food in a lovely small country town

Reviewed by
Andrew M

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family Friendly
The Ilchester Arms scores high on Customer Service, Family Friendly, Cleanliness and Quality of food. Room was on the small side for the money though but not too much a problem as only stayed one night. No extra pillows or wardrobe and only one bedside lamp. Bathroom was very nice.
Would definitely go back as I believe that other rooms are larger and may have had the items that were missing!

Reviewed by
Steve C

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
From the warm welcome to the checking out all the staff were very helpfull and friendly. The location and accomodation suited my needs to a tee. Will definitely be back.

Reviewed by
Ray Heath

From Horsham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ilchester Arms DB
Comfortable accommodation, with excellent food.

Reviewed by
DAVID B

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

family-friendly hotel
Better than expected, accommodation excellent for our family of 5.

Reviewed by
k matthews

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
We stayed at The Ilchester arms for 2 nights in the superior family room (2 adults 3 children-aged 3,6 and 8). We arrived later than planned and was greeted by a very cheerful lady who seemed happy to help with anything. We were staying for a family wedding and as part of the wedding party I had to leave at 11.45 the next morning to arrive at the church early- The very helpful staff were happy to prepare me a sandwich (before lunch time officially started)- I thought this was a nice touch. The superior room consisted of 2 rooms, well 3 if you counted the room which just about fit a single bed in...but we were happy nonetheless!Breakfast was nice and there was lots to choose from (although must admit we were suprised at no baked beans for the full english). The courtyard/garden area was full of toys for the kids to play with and they loved the playhouses.There was also a very lovely dolls house (quite a big one) in the bedroom to occupy them. We would definately stay here again in the future.Thank you Ilchester Arms for a pleasant stay :)

Reviewed by
James P

From Carterton, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceptional Service at the Ilchester Arms
The friendlyness of the staff, excellent service and good food at a good price made this a memorable stay and somewhere you would deffinately stay again.

Reviewed by
Phil J

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.