Reviews - The Downs Hotel


Warren Road, Woodingdean,, Brighton, BN2 6BB

Price From 138.19 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (70)

71% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • simon cramp

  • September 2015

Wow you must stay here if you are on a limited budget

Shame I can't book this place again next week because it's fully booked as I stay last week.

Chef knows how to cook I can't remember when breakfast full English was included in the price. Internet signal not great but you can't have everything.

  • sarah c

  • July 2015

Budget accommodation in friendly pub/hotel.

Clean, comfortable, good value for money.

No En-suite but shower room across the corridor. Good pub food, very generous portions, but coffee lets down the breakfast.

  • Daniel U

  • June 2015

Simple, acceptable accommodation

I booked this last minute, at a reduced rate.

It was perfectly acceptable for the reduced amount that I paid. The hotel is situated on a crossroads and as my room overlooked the crossroads it could be a bit noisy at times from the stereos of cars stopped at the lights. The curtains were also thin and unlined, letting in a lot of light from cars, street lights and then the dawn. Thankfully I had ear plugs and an eye mask meaning I had a good night's sleep, however without these I suspect sleep would have been rather broken. The room was simply furnished with laminate floor and a comfortable single bed. The shared shower and toilet were perfectly adequate, although nothing special. Everything was clean. I ate dinner in the bar and again it was acceptable, but nothing special. I did not sample breakfast as the 8am start time was too late for me.

  • M Armstrong

  • June 2015

The Downs Hotel

Good location but expensive.

  • Jude W

  • May 2015


Staff were friendly.

My single room was small but adequate. I expected it to noisy over bank holiday weekend but didn't find it so. Biggest disappointment was the wifi which was very poor. My son was running in the London/Brighton challenge & I wanted to track him on the net but could only get on intermittently.

The position of the hotel was perfect as the challenge ended at the grace course, about 4 miles up the road.

  • p hatter

  • April 2015

I gave the quality of room a 3 because there wasn't a shaver point for my husband and the only plug sockets were to far away from the dressing table to be able to sit and dry my hair.

it was very clean but cheap and cheerful.

  • Heather A

  • April 2015

Pleasantly surprised!

Spacious room cleaned to a good standard.

Comfortable, welcoming room with good natural light and lovely view to the sea. Food is typical pub fare and was plentiful and tasty Staff were very friendly and helpful. I have already booked again as I liked my room and having the pub/restaurant facilities available. It is also very convenient for the Nuffield hospital being on the same road. Some reviews state noise but I wasn't disturbed at all despite the road.

  • A Robinson

  • April 2015

not what was expected

Booked this hotel based on the photographs on the site, I booked the four poster ensuite room.

However, whilst the bed is definitely the one in the pictures the room bared no resemblance to the photos. The hotel is very noisy as it is over a busy pub, so it was not a relaxing weekend. It is tired and does not appear to be well-loved. I did not have the cooked breakfast, but my husband did and immediately regretted it - it was a constant reminder to his stomach all day.

I was taking part in Brighton marathon so had an early start on the Sunday which meant we would be away before breakfast was served, when I enquired whether we could have breakfast early on the Sunday I was informed they could only make us a sandwich the night before and leave it in a fridge down the hall. They did do this, but it left much to be desired. I would not stay here again, and will never book a hotel based on photographs again - also a warning should have flashed when we had to pay in full before we even made it to the room. Be warned before you commit to staying here!

  • p anderson

  • March 2015

friendly hotel

I found the staff helpful and friendly.

They took on board my disability and gave me an appropriate room. I would definitely use this hotel again when I visit family and friends in the area.

  • Helen R

  • February 2015

Decent room but very noisy

I stayed in a single room which I was told was away from the pub so quiet.

It was not quiet. I could hear punters talking and shouting all night, and the pub music was very loud. Don't stay here if you need an early night (like I did!).