No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Downs Hotel

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Warren Road, Woodingdean, , Brighton, BN2 6BB
Welcome to The Downs Hotel, surrounded by the beautiful South Downs countryside, in Woodingdean. The historic village of Rottingdean and the beach are nearby. We pride ourselves in offering you immaculately clean, stylish and comfortable rooms, with a great value restaurant, Sunday carvery, and a superb traditional pub. You couldn't ask for a better location. We are only 2.5 miles from Brighton town centre - the bus stops just outside the hotel - and we are only 2 miles to the beach. We are within easy reach of the Royal Pavilion, Brighton Pier, Sea Life Centre and, being located on the South Downs, also makes the location ideal for walking & cycling. The hotel is also near to the University, Nuffield Hospital, Brighton Racecourse, and Brighton Marina The superb traditional pub has a beer garden, and also offers occassional weekend live entertainment. We have ample FREE PARKING. A full English Breakfast is included.
Picture of The Downs Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 92 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Downs Hotel
Had a very nice stay at the downs hotel. All they staff were very friendly and welcoming and would stay again. Great value for money as we were only staying the one night. Only issue with the caravan that we booked was that there wasnt much in the way of heating which was too much of a problem, until we came in early morning. But if this was sorted would have been an fantastic stay! Would reccomend to others.

Reviewed by
Thomas F

From Dartford, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent room but very noisy
I stayed in a single room which I was told was away from the pub so quiet. It was not quiet! I could hear punters talking and shouting all night, and the pub music was very loud. Don't stay here if you need an early night (like I did!).

Reviewed by
Helen R

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good One Night Staay
Needed one night stop over for work. Value for money.

Reviewed by
M Li

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well run hotel
Lovely staff, great food and clean, warm comfortable stay, thank you everyone.
PB

Reviewed by
P Baldwin

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The first room was cold as no heating so they gave me more blankets. then the next day I ask to move to a room with working heater and they did. would not stay again.

Reviewed by
Linda Yates

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Downs Hotel
A very basic room. Not worth £45. Headboard on bed banged every time you moved.
Heating in room only warmed it(had to use my own fan heater).
Wouldn't recommend it to anyone

Reviewed by
Michael Brown

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, basic room, does the job!
As mentioned in other reviews, the "hotel" is a public house with some B&B rooms above the pub and restaurant. I was not bothered by noise, and found my bed very comfortable. Only complaint is the smell of the bathroom, although it appeared clean!

Reviewed by
A Taylor

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All you need
All a raver needs to enjoy J00F in his full glory. Simple accommodation not too far out of town no messing about with parking dude on reception was helpful enough. Never tasted the ale or food but it just seemed a bit generic from what I could tell. Nothing stood out in particualr but for £37 a night it was reasonable and did the job just fine. Will use again in the future if the price remains the cheapest than the others.

Reviewed by
D Kitchen

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay in the static
Had a lovely time at the downs great value for money, the static was modern with two good size rooms and plenty of heating. Everything was squeaky clean and everything worked. The stay was quiet and well worth the money, the breakfast was amazing with plenty of choice.

Reviewed by
S Dilly

From Lowestoft, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great, except for breakfast
The Downs Hotel is a both a pub and hotel. It was easy to get to by bus. The room was decent and the pub food and beer was good. I stayed over Saturday night and I needed to get going early on Sunday morning. I was told breakfast was from 9am on a Sunday. I asked if I might at least be able to get some cereal and juice at about 8:30am. I was told if I knocked on the restaurant door that should be possible. I tried at 8:20am but the lady in the restaurant was not accomodating at all. Breakfast is at 9am she said and she sent me away.

Reviewed by
S Fisher

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next