No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Downs Hotel

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Warren Road, Woodingdean, , Brighton, BN2 6BB
Welcome to The Downs Hotel, surrounded by the beautiful South Downs countryside, in Woodingdean. The historic village of Rottingdean and the beach are nearby. We pride ourselves in offering you immaculately clean, stylish and comfortable rooms, with a great value restaurant, Sunday carvery, and a superb traditional pub. You couldn't ask for a better location. We are only 2.5 miles from Brighton town centre - the bus stops just outside the hotel - and we are only 2 miles to the beach. We are within easy reach of the Royal Pavilion, Brighton Pier, Sea Life Centre and, being located on the South Downs, also makes the location ideal for walking & cycling. The hotel is also near to the University, Nuffield Hospital, Brighton Racecourse, and Brighton Marina The superb traditional pub has a beer garden, and also offers occassional weekend live entertainment. We have ample FREE PARKING. A full English Breakfast is included.
Picture of The Downs Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 90 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay in the static
Had a lovely time at the downs great value for money, the static was modern with two good size rooms and plenty of heating. Everything was squeaky clean and everything worked. The stay was quiet and well worth the money, the breakfast was amazing with plenty of choice.

Reviewed by
S Dilly

From Lowestoft, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great, except for breakfast
The Downs Hotel is a both a pub and hotel. It was easy to get to by bus. The room was decent and the pub food and beer was good. I stayed over Saturday night and I needed to get going early on Sunday morning. I was told breakfast was from 9am on a Sunday. I asked if I might at least be able to get some cereal and juice at about 8:30am. I was told if I knocked on the restaurant door that should be possible. I tried at 8:20am but the lady in the restaurant was not accomodating at all. Breakfast is at 9am she said and she sent me away.

Reviewed by
S Fisher

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good place
Staff couldn't help enough :)

Reviewed by
Pete C

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
The accommodation did not live up to the impression it gives on the website. The pub gets very rowdy and it was impossible to sleep without being disturbed by noisy revellers, doors slamming and traffic noise (it is situated on a busy road junction). It was so bad the second night I felt very uneasy and couldn't wait to leave.
It was a shame because the room was clean and fairly comfortable and the breakfast was good.

Reviewed by
Gail R

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mobile home
We didnt stay in the actual hotel we stayed in the mobile home at the back of the hotel. It was cold when we first arrived and my partner had to change the light bulbs as the staff werent sure how to do it, saying this it soon warmed up the staff were friendly and helpful! we had lovely stay and werent desturbed by any other guests.

Reviewed by
Ruth B

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not as the pictures lead you yo believe..
Initially I was quite disappointed with The Downs Hotel. The pictures lead you to believe that it is a lovely B&B set in the country side, with a bar/restaurant included for it's guests. When actually we found it to be a busy local pub found right on the roads side, which had a couple of rooms upstairs. The thing which made it worse is when we arrived there was a wedding reception going on downstairs! The room in itself wasn't too bad - albeit it quite dark and cold. The bed was comfy and had nice bed linen on. The bathroom was okay - however I found that there was quite a bit of mold around the edges! The breakfast however was very nice, and the whole B&B seemed a lot nicer in the morning once the locals had gone home!

Reviewed by
J Powell

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Downs Hotel
Hotel quite noisy at night as rooms located above a busy pub games room. Bed mattress uncomfortable as uneven so you tend to roll to the edge of the bed. Room very warm with no air conditioning other than the window, but as room located above outside smoking area needed to keep window shut to keep smell and noise out. Limited breakfast times so unless you have nothing planned until late morning don't expect a breakfast, however, the cooked breakfast was good with plenty of food provided. One benefit of this hotel was the free car parking, although would fill up during the school run period and is on a bus route to Brighton.

Reviewed by
kevin c

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money
My single room was basicly furnished but had all that I required. Quality of food was variable.
Recommended for anyone who needs accomodation within striking distance of Brighton, particularly as it has a large on- site parking area.

Reviewed by
m bush

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stay for Visit to University of Sussex
Found the acccomodation comfortable and adequate for our overnight stay and despite the room being on the front, was nice and quiet. Staff were friendly and very helpful. The breakfast options in the morning were very good

Reviewed by
Robin B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good and pretty quiet.
Much quieter than anticipated. We had a view over the carpark, which I thought might be noisy, but Sunday to Thursday was fine. Basic but good en suite accommodation. Food fairly standard. Good welcome and cheerful staff. Reasonable bus service right into Brighton - bus passes came in very handy.

Reviewed by
Susan J

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next