Reviews - The Downs Hotel


Warren Road, Woodingdean,, Brighton, BN2 6BB

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (67)

67% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • alan stewrad

  • November 2015

good tines in brighton

We stayed in the caravan because we were coming in very late, it was very clean and comfortable.

We only stayed one night and we only had breakfast whitch was excelent. The staff were very friendly and helpfull with there local knowledge. We had a great time and will book with them again without any hesatation.

  • Lydia M

  • November 2015

Freezing and even more Freezing

Sadly I do not usually make this type of review but this was the worst ever stay we experienced.

The room was Freezing cold. We placed the radiator on and allowed an hour to pass but still with a Luke warm temp it made very little difference. So to warm up a shower should have hit the spot. However with more water leaking from the hose pipe rather than the shower head and with that water being stone cold. Well it was terrible. We reported it and asked for heaters and extra blankets. We received nothing. £74 per night for what they call an en-suite that is not fit for purpose. We felt very let down and feel we have been ripped off. Even after we reported it the next day; we where not offered any compensation at all. An awful stay at an awful hotel. Will never stay again even if offered for free!!.

  • W Hodgson

  • November 2015

Value for Money

The room was excellent value for money, and perfectly usable.

As you would expect from the price it was not a luxury room, but it was functional and had TV, tea and coffee and a loo, wash basin and shower.

  • Andrew P

  • October 2015

Depends what you're after...

If you are after 5* then this isn't for you.

The walk up to the room had us wondering what we'd let ourselves in for but probably mostly as we hadn't really stayed in a hotel over a pub before. When we got to the room we were pleasantly surprised- very good sized with four poster bed, ensuing facilities and (this was probably a family room although we'd booked a double) two single beds. Room was nicely furnished. The power of the shower left a lot to be desired and a couple of cobwebs here and there but the rest of the room including its cleanliness could not really be faulted. Staff at breakfast in the morning were nice and although we only had beans on toast and poached egg on toast there were other suitable options available.

It more than did the job for us- we were just after somewhere to stay over and sleep and get away in the morning for the party we'd been invited to in Brighton.

  • Martin H

  • October 2015

Downs hotel

Lots of cobwebs, noisy place to stay on a Thursday night.

Had to ask about tv not working and insufficient towels in room . . Excellent chef . Woke up by drayman and window cleaner banging window early two mornings. Good size car park . Great view of sea from dining room.

  • Raj P

  • October 2015

Friendly and cheap

Good transport links via bus routes.

Easy to link to A27 and A23. Functional accommodation.

  • simon cramp

  • September 2015

Wow you must stay here if you are on a limited budget

Shame I can't book this place again next week because it's fully booked as I stay last week.

Chef knows how to cook I can't remember when breakfast full English was included in the price. Internet signal not great but you can't have everything.

  • sarah c

  • July 2015

Budget accommodation in friendly pub/hotel.

Clean, comfortable, good value for money.

No En-suite but shower room across the corridor. Good pub food, very generous portions, but coffee lets down the breakfast.

  • Daniel U

  • June 2015

Simple, acceptable accommodation

I booked this last minute, at a reduced rate.

It was perfectly acceptable for the reduced amount that I paid. The hotel is situated on a crossroads and as my room overlooked the crossroads it could be a bit noisy at times from the stereos of cars stopped at the lights. The curtains were also thin and unlined, letting in a lot of light from cars, street lights and then the dawn. Thankfully I had ear plugs and an eye mask meaning I had a good night's sleep, however without these I suspect sleep would have been rather broken. The room was simply furnished with laminate floor and a comfortable single bed. The shared shower and toilet were perfectly adequate, although nothing special. Everything was clean. I ate dinner in the bar and again it was acceptable, but nothing special. I did not sample breakfast as the 8am start time was too late for me.

  • M Armstrong

  • June 2015

The Downs Hotel

Good location but expensive.