No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Downs Hotel

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Warren Road, Woodingdean, , Brighton, BN2 6BB
Welcome to The Downs Hotel, surrounded by the beautiful South Downs countryside, in Woodingdean. The historic village of Rottingdean and the beach are nearby. We pride ourselves in offering you immaculately clean, stylish and comfortable rooms, with a great value restaurant, Sunday carvery, and a superb traditional pub. You couldn't ask for a better location. We are only 2.5 miles from Brighton town centre - the bus stops just outside the hotel - and we are only 2 miles to the beach. We are within easy reach of the Royal Pavilion, Brighton Pier, Sea Life Centre and, being located on the South Downs, also makes the location ideal for walking & cycling. The hotel is also near to the University, Nuffield Hospital, Brighton Racecourse, and Brighton Marina The superb traditional pub has a beer garden, and also offers occassional weekend live entertainment. We have ample FREE PARKING. A full English Breakfast is included.
Picture of The Downs Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 81 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faded without any Charm!
This place is in serious need of updating. I only stayed there because it was the nearest place to Brighton I could find. The single room was tiny and I suspect had been made from a bathroom because there was only a frosted window. The bed creaked and squeaked and the shower cubicle was grubby so I didn't use it. The music from the bar below went on until about midnight.
Breakfast was good and pleasant staff. Would I stay again, certainly not.

Reviewed by
G Coleman

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very convenient for us.Free car parking a bonus.Easy access to Brighton. On bus route with regular service, choice of 2 buses.
Friendly and helpful staff.
Lovely view from room the Downs plus sea in the distance.
Breakfast was excellent, good choice and extra tea coffee and toast provided without having to ask.
Would like to try evening meal if I came again.Choice of fresh fish daily.

Reviewed by
Clare D

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would not go back
We had to change the night of our stay and and only accomodation available was a caravan in the car park. It was extremely basic and the car park noisy. The bins next to the caravan were emptied at 5.30am after a very poor nights sleep. Breakfast was average however the lady who served us was very friendly. We stayed at the hotel for a Uni visit and the one plus point for the hotel was it's location to the open day

Reviewed by
Melanie D

From Carmarthen, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy single en-suite with privacy issues.
Positive:
Plenty of parking
Proximity to Brighton and the coast
Negative:
The single en-suite room is accessed from the rear of the building close to the entrance/exit to the beer garden and smoking area. As a result, there is a lot of noise not only from the people using the beer garden and smoking, but also from the loud banging door to the pub.
During a four night stay, the room was not cleaned on the first or second night.
The room generally was not especially clean - around the light fitting, for example.
The main window had to be covered by the blind all the time due to people outside and walking past the window. The window in the en-suite did not have a blind - I used the spare pillow to prop against it to provide some privacy while showering and using the toilet.
The shower had warm water, not hot, even after running for a long time.
Freeview remote not working, only BBC1 available.
Ate in the pub on one occasion. My food was fine, but another customer returned their food as it had "a ruddy great hair in it".

Reviewed by
Jon C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

service excellent, hotel staff really friendly, rooms clean and comfortable, food disappointing
Had a really nice and relaxing time at the hotel, rooms clean bright and comfortable, staff very helpful and polite, just a bit disappointed with the food, not much choice, and at breakfast would have preffered a coffee pot to help ourselves rather than just a mug.would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
graham white

From Kings Langley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasure to of stayed.
All the staff were really friendly and helpful. The food was great and very good value for money. The hotel was lovely, comfy bed and clean. It's a shame the wifi didn't really work but that could just be due to the hotel being full. I would definitely this place and will definitely visit again in the near future.

Reviewed by
claire miller

From Gosport, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for Brighton on a Saturday night in summer
Good value for money. Room clean and comfy, pub below and public areas are a bit dated. It is 2.5 miles front centre, £8 in a cab, £12 after midnight not much within walking distance. But for the money I had a very comfy, reasonable one night's stay.

Reviewed by
M Clark

From Bromley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only stayed for one night (attending a training course in Lewes). I didn't have time to have breakfast so I can't comment on the food, but the room was clean and comfortable and had everything I needed. As a lone, female guest, I appreciated having a key for the side door to the pub as it meant that I could come and go without having to keep walking through the pub. Considering the hotel is situated at a busy junction, it was pretty quiet at night.

Reviewed by
Julie J

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the accommodation was good value for the money and i had a great view of the sea,
booked for bed and breakfast but the chief to often don't turn up so you don't get a breakfast as in this visit, I waited to 8,30 am and had to leave for work (hungry)

Reviewed by
c hedges

From Ringwood, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our two awful nights
We arrived at 7pm on first night (July 2014) and were shown to a small room overlooking the downs and a busy road. The windows were rotten and single glazed and the two single beds were mismatched and creaky. No ensuite and the bathroom was across the hallway which also had rotten windows. Small shower cubicle which I refused to get into as it looked grubby and mouldy. I couldn't sleep the first night as the road was so noisy and the bed creaked so much and the quilts were so old and bobbly I slept on top of the bed. Also the windows rattled all night. The breakfast was precooked and stored bacon which was so tastless and hard with a tomato on top of it and the beans were definitely not Heinz but so wishy washy. Toast was enjoyable. The staff were pleasant enough except for one person who was cleaning the second bar out and tried to stop me using the toilet telling me there was another one in the bar in a brusque manner. I was not impressed with this place at all and my husband and I would not recommend it to anyone.

Reviewed by
Jennifer T

From Great Yarmouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next