You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Downs Hotel


Warren Road, Woodingdean,, Brighton, BN2 6BB

Price From 99.60 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (53)

70% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Thomas F

  • February 2015

The Downs Hotel

Had a very nice stay at the downs hotel.

All they staff were very friendly and welcoming and would stay again. Great value for money as we were only staying the one night. Only issue with the caravan that we booked was that there wasnt much in the way of heating which was too much of a problem, until we came in early morning. But if this was sorted would have been an fantastic stay. Would reccomend to others.

  • M Li

  • February 2015

Good One Night Staay

Needed one night stop over for work.

Value for money.

  • P Baldwin

  • February 2015

Well run hotel

Lovely staff, great food and clean, warm comfortable stay, thank you everyone.


  • Linda Yates

  • January 2015

The first room was cold as no heating so they gave me more blankets.

then the next day I ask to move to a room with working heater and they did. would not stay again.

  • Michael Brown

  • December 2014

The Downs Hotel

A very basic room.

Not worth £45. Headboard on bed banged every time you moved. Heating in room only warmed it(had to use my own fan heater). Wouldn't recommend it to anyone

  • A Taylor

  • December 2014

Friendly staff, basic room, does the job!

As mentioned in other reviews, the "hotel" is a public house with some B&B rooms above the pub and restaurant.

I was not bothered by noise, and found my bed very comfortable. Only complaint is the smell of the bathroom, although it appeared clean!

  • D Kitchen

  • December 2014

All you need

All a raver needs to enjoy J00F in his full glory.

Simple accommodation not too far out of town no messing about with parking dude on reception was helpful enough. Never tasted the ale or food but it just seemed a bit generic from what I could tell. Nothing stood out in particualr but for £37 a night it was reasonable and did the job just fine. Will use again in the future if the price remains the cheapest than the others.

  • S Dilly

  • November 2014

Great stay in the static

Had a lovely time at the downs great value for money, the static was modern with two good size rooms and plenty of heating.

Everything was squeaky clean and everything worked. The stay was quiet and well worth the money, the breakfast was amazing with plenty of choice.

  • S Fisher

  • November 2014

Great, except for breakfast

The Downs Hotel is a both a pub and hotel.

It was easy to get to by bus. The room was decent and the pub food and beer was good. I stayed over Saturday night and I needed to get going early on Sunday morning. I was told breakfast was from 9am on a Sunday. I asked if I might at least be able to get some cereal and juice at about 8:30am. I was told if I knocked on the restaurant door that should be possible. I tried at 8:20am but the lady in the restaurant was not accomodating at all. Breakfast is at 9am she said and she sent me away.

  • Ruth B

  • November 2014

Mobile home

We didnt stay in the actual hotel we stayed in the mobile home at the back of the hotel.

It was cold when we first arrived and my partner had to change the light bulbs as the staff werent sure how to do it, saying this it soon warmed up the staff were friendly and helpful. we had lovely stay and werent desturbed by any other guests.