You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Downs Hotel

3

Warren Road, Woodingdean,, Brighton, BN2 6BB

Price From 120.60 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (54)

67% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • A Taylor

  • December 2014

Friendly staff, basic room, does the job!

As mentioned in other reviews, the "hotel" is a public house with some B&B rooms above the pub and restaurant.

I was not bothered by noise, and found my bed very comfortable. Only complaint is the smell of the bathroom, although it appeared clean!

  • D Kitchen

  • December 2014

All you need

All a raver needs to enjoy J00F in his full glory.

Simple accommodation not too far out of town no messing about with parking dude on reception was helpful enough. Never tasted the ale or food but it just seemed a bit generic from what I could tell. Nothing stood out in particualr but for £37 a night it was reasonable and did the job just fine. Will use again in the future if the price remains the cheapest than the others.

  • S Dilly

  • November 2014

Great stay in the static

Had a lovely time at the downs great value for money, the static was modern with two good size rooms and plenty of heating.

Everything was squeaky clean and everything worked. The stay was quiet and well worth the money, the breakfast was amazing with plenty of choice.

  • S Fisher

  • November 2014

Great, except for breakfast

The Downs Hotel is a both a pub and hotel.

It was easy to get to by bus. The room was decent and the pub food and beer was good. I stayed over Saturday night and I needed to get going early on Sunday morning. I was told breakfast was from 9am on a Sunday. I asked if I might at least be able to get some cereal and juice at about 8:30am. I was told if I knocked on the restaurant door that should be possible. I tried at 8:20am but the lady in the restaurant was not accomodating at all. Breakfast is at 9am she said and she sent me away.

  • Ruth B

  • November 2014

Mobile home

We didnt stay in the actual hotel we stayed in the mobile home at the back of the hotel.

It was cold when we first arrived and my partner had to change the light bulbs as the staff werent sure how to do it, saying this it soon warmed up the staff were friendly and helpful. we had lovely stay and werent desturbed by any other guests.

  • Pete C

  • November 2014

Good place

Staff couldn't help enough :)

  • Gail R

  • November 2014

Disappointed

The accommodation did not live up to the impression it gives on the website.

The pub gets very rowdy and it was impossible to sleep without being disturbed by noisy revellers, doors slamming and traffic noise (it is situated on a busy road junction). It was so bad the second night I felt very uneasy and couldn't wait to leave. It was a shame because the room was clean and fairly comfortable and the breakfast was good.

  • J Powell

  • October 2014

Not as the pictures lead you yo believe..

Initially I was quite disappointed with The Downs Hotel.

The pictures lead you to believe that it is a lovely B&B set in the country side, with a bar/restaurant included for it's guests. When actually we found it to be a busy local pub found right on the roads side, which had a couple of rooms upstairs. The thing which made it worse is when we arrived there was a wedding reception going on downstairs. The room in itself wasn't too bad - albeit it quite dark and cold. The bed was comfy and had nice bed linen on. The bathroom was okay - however I found that there was quite a bit of mold around the edges. The breakfast however was very nice, and the whole B&B seemed a lot nicer in the morning once the locals had gone home!

  • kevin c

  • October 2014

Downs Hotel

Hotel quite noisy at night as rooms located above a busy pub games room.

Bed mattress uncomfortable as uneven so you tend to roll to the edge of the bed. Room very warm with no air conditioning other than the window, but as room located above outside smoking area needed to keep window shut to keep smell and noise out. Limited breakfast times so unless you have nothing planned until late morning don't expect a breakfast, however, the cooked breakfast was good with plenty of food provided. One benefit of this hotel was the free car parking, although would fill up during the school run period and is on a bus route to Brighton.

  • m bush

  • October 2014

value for money

My single room was basicly furnished but had all that I required.

Quality of food was variable. Recommended for anyone who needs accomodation within striking distance of Brighton, particularly as it has a large on- site parking area.