No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Downs Hotel

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Warren Road, Woodingdean, , Brighton, BN2 6BB
Welcome to The Downs Hotel, surrounded by the beautiful South Downs countryside, in Woodingdean. The historic village of Rottingdean and the beach are nearby. We pride ourselves in offering you immaculately clean, stylish and comfortable rooms, with a great value restaurant, Sunday carvery, and a superb traditional pub. You couldn't ask for a better location. We are only 2.5 miles from Brighton town centre - the bus stops just outside the hotel - and we are only 2 miles to the beach. We are within easy reach of the Royal Pavilion, Brighton Pier, Sea Life Centre and, being located on the South Downs, also makes the location ideal for walking & cycling. The hotel is also near to the University, Nuffield Hospital, Brighton Racecourse, and Brighton Marina The superb traditional pub has a beer garden, and also offers occassional weekend live entertainment. We have ample FREE PARKING. A full English Breakfast is included.
Picture of The Downs Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 73 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exactly what we were looking for!
We booked up to stay at the Downs Hotel during our first visit to Brighton. The hotel is on a fairly busy road but once we were in our room we didn't notice the traffic at all. Booking time was 2p.m but we arrived early and had some lunch in the restaurant. Lovely food and pleasant staff. We were allowed up to our room early and had every last detail about our stay explained and staff were happy to answer any questions. Our room was absolutely gorgeous, old style furniture with a romantic 4 poster bed. The room had an on suite bathroom that was immaculate and we had plenty of towels. Tea and coffee facilities and a t.v were also available. There is a separate entrance to the hotel so we had no time limits on us for when we had to be back at the hotel in the evening. An absolute pleasure to stay there and would recommend to anyone that doesn't want to be in the noisy, busy part of Brighton.....but only a short taxi drive away. A++++++++++++++

Reviewed by
K Hood

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In need of some TLC
My husband and I stayed here for two nights with our two children in a family room: four poster bed and two singles. The accommodation was clean but in need of updating, new lined curtains should be a priority. The beds were comfortable and made up each day. We had no problems using the TV and managed to hook up our portable DVD player. The extension lead to the kettle was dangerously stretched over the pillow of one of the single beds so we made sure to disconnect this prior to sleep. Breakfast was indeed a high point and staff were able to meet all our requests. We didn't eat any other meals at the hotel, choosing to eat at the Marina, which is difficult to get to on public transport from the hotel, so we drove. We chose to stay at the Downs as it was relatively nearby to a friend's flat in Sussex Square. However, it is a little neglected eg flaking paint and dirty windows, and we were a little concerned about the sign asking us to remove muddy workboots before going up to the room. We were not disturbed by any pub noise though and it was the weekend.

Reviewed by
H Wright

From Pontypridd, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Used this hotel for a couple of nights whilst visiting friends in Brighton and had a family room for four people. We were happy with the standard of accommodation and the friendly service. The breakfast too was particularly good.. The main drawback however was the distance from the town centre and beach. I don't know if we will have cause to visit Brighton again but if we were to do so I think it unlikely we would use this hotel simply because of its location. Aside from this would certainly recommend to friends.

Reviewed by
d williams

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable, clean room and bathroom. Good location only short bus ride to Brighton. Very nice breakfast.

Reviewed by
Ann H

From Edgware, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stopped the 1 night as we were down to watch the football and we had a very pleasant stay. Room was very nice with a good view of the downs and the sea . At an extra charge there is a shuttle bus running from the pub to the ground . I would stay again and also the breakfast was very nice and plenty to choose from and well worth the price.

Reviewed by
R Chilcott

From NEWPORT, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Holiday 2013
The Downs Hotel is literally a pub with rooms above. Ours was the twin room with shared bathroom (this wasn't a problem as I don't think anyone else used it). My bed was fine but my daughter's mattress was very lumpy. They did change the mattress but it wasn't much better. The lady we spoke to said our room was due for refurbishment. Although noise doesn't bother us if you wanted a quiet place to stay this wouldn't suit you - it is on a very busy junction and you can hear the pub customers sat under your window talking.The locks on the doors are very fiddly and we had to slam our door to get it to shut. However, it was just a base for us as we were out all day and so for that reason it served its purpose. The food was good - lovely breakfast to start the day

Reviewed by
Amanda B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
I enjoy my stay here the views were lovely and I would stay here again.

Reviewed by
E Hemstock

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Give this place a wide bearth
The staff made us feel unwelcome when we arrived, we felt more like an inconveniance than paying guests. We arrived at 5 past 9 and the kitchen had just closed, they made no effort to feed us despite having cycled 60 miles to get there. The bar shut promptly at 11, with no chance of late drinks in the room. Customer care was minimal at this establishment. The place is miles out of Brighton up the steepest hill you,ve ever seen. Give this place a wide bearth. It was the most expensive hotel on our 260 mile ride and was by far the worst place I have ever stopped in :(

Reviewed by
Nic Howarth

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap, cheerful and pleasant
Friendly, clean and affordable - a great place to rest our weary legs after being out all day

Reviewed by
D Freeman

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean will use again if we are in that part of the uk

Reviewed by
J Chaytor

From Droitwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next