You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Downs Hotel

3

Warren Road, Woodingdean,, Brighton, BN2 6BB

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (60)

67% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Gail R

  • November 2014

Disappointed

The accommodation did not live up to the impression it gives on the website.

The pub gets very rowdy and it was impossible to sleep without being disturbed by noisy revellers, doors slamming and traffic noise (it is situated on a busy road junction). It was so bad the second night I felt very uneasy and couldn't wait to leave. It was a shame because the room was clean and fairly comfortable and the breakfast was good.

  • J Powell

  • October 2014

Not as the pictures lead you yo believe..

Initially I was quite disappointed with The Downs Hotel.

The pictures lead you to believe that it is a lovely B&B set in the country side, with a bar/restaurant included for it's guests. When actually we found it to be a busy local pub found right on the roads side, which had a couple of rooms upstairs. The thing which made it worse is when we arrived there was a wedding reception going on downstairs. The room in itself wasn't too bad - albeit it quite dark and cold. The bed was comfy and had nice bed linen on. The bathroom was okay - however I found that there was quite a bit of mold around the edges. The breakfast however was very nice, and the whole B&B seemed a lot nicer in the morning once the locals had gone home!

  • kevin c

  • October 2014

Downs Hotel

Hotel quite noisy at night as rooms located above a busy pub games room.

Bed mattress uncomfortable as uneven so you tend to roll to the edge of the bed. Room very warm with no air conditioning other than the window, but as room located above outside smoking area needed to keep window shut to keep smell and noise out. Limited breakfast times so unless you have nothing planned until late morning don't expect a breakfast, however, the cooked breakfast was good with plenty of food provided. One benefit of this hotel was the free car parking, although would fill up during the school run period and is on a bus route to Brighton.

  • m bush

  • October 2014

value for money

My single room was basicly furnished but had all that I required.

Quality of food was variable. Recommended for anyone who needs accomodation within striking distance of Brighton, particularly as it has a large on- site parking area.

  • Robin B

  • October 2014

Overnight Stay for Visit to University of Sussex

Found the acccomodation comfortable and adequate for our overnight stay and despite the room being on the front, was nice and quiet.

Staff were friendly and very helpful. The breakfast options in the morning were very good

  • Susan J

  • September 2014

Good and pretty quiet.

Much quieter than anticipated.

We had a view over the carpark, which I thought might be noisy, but Sunday to Thursday was fine. Basic but good en suite accommodation. Food fairly standard. Good welcome and cheerful staff. Reasonable bus service right into Brighton - bus passes came in very handy.

  • katherine power

  • September 2014

It was nice to stay in an "old fashioned type pub with rooms".

The main bar was quiet, friendly and served a wide range of drinks, The room was comfortable with a TV and drinks making facilities and a lovely comfortable bed.

  • Ruth H

  • September 2014

Visiting Sussex University

The room was very well presented and the breakfast was very tasty.

It is very easy to get to Brighton Pier, but the public transport is not helpful for getting to the University.

  • Jon C

  • August 2014

Noisy single en-suite with privacy issues.

Positive: Plenty of parking Proximity to Brighton and the coast Negative: The single en-suite room is accessed from the rear of the building close to the entrance/exit to the beer garden and smoking area.

As a result, there is a lot of noise not only from the people using the beer garden and smoking, but also from the loud banging door to the pub. During a four night stay, the room was not cleaned on the first or second night. The room generally was not especially clean - around the light fitting, for example. The main window had to be covered by the blind all the time due to people outside and walking past the window. The window in the en-suite did not have a blind - I used the spare pillow to prop against it to provide some privacy while showering and using the toilet. The shower had warm water, not hot, even after running for a long time. Freeview remote not working, only BBC1 available. Ate in the pub on one occasion. My food was fine, but another customer returned their food as it had "a ruddy great hair in it".

  • G Coleman

  • August 2014

Faded without any Charm!

This place is in serious need of updating.

I only stayed there because it was the nearest place to Brighton I could find. The single room was tiny and I suspect had been made from a bathroom because there was only a frosted window. The bed creaked and squeaked and the shower cubicle was grubby so I didn't use it. The music from the bar below went on until about midnight. Breakfast was good and pleasant staff. Would I stay again, certainly not.