No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Downs Hotel

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Warren Road, Woodingdean, , Brighton, BN2 6BB
Welcome to The Downs Hotel, surrounded by the beautiful South Downs countryside, in Woodingdean. The historic village of Rottingdean and the beach are nearby. We pride ourselves in offering you immaculately clean, stylish and comfortable rooms, with a great value restaurant, Sunday carvery, and a superb traditional pub. You couldn't ask for a better location. We are only 2.5 miles from Brighton town centre - the bus stops just outside the hotel - and we are only 2 miles to the beach. We are within easy reach of the Royal Pavilion, Brighton Pier, Sea Life Centre and, being located on the South Downs, also makes the location ideal for walking & cycling. The hotel is also near to the University, Nuffield Hospital, Brighton Racecourse, and Brighton Marina The superb traditional pub has a beer garden, and also offers occassional weekend live entertainment. We have ample FREE PARKING. A full English Breakfast is included.
Picture of The Downs Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 84 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly place to stay
The hotel was rooms over a large friendly pub with good quality rooms in an old fashioned setting. They breakfast was good, large range of ample good quality foods. We had a good nights rest on a Saturday night so it was not too noisy .There was a lovely view from the windows towards the sea.

Reviewed by
Carol E

From Great Yarmouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

THE DOWNS HOTEL
Ideally located with ample parking and easy access to public transport to get into Brighton and further beyond. I would recommend using the public transport and Brighton itself gets very busy and I am not sure of parking facilities. Arriving early, our room was ready, so we were allowed to check in. Our room was a family room (one double and two singles), complete with large flat screen tv (freeview) and tea/coffee making facilities. Staff were very helpful from the start

Reviewed by
S HARRISON

From HERFORD, Germany
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Appeal
This is a good value accommodation. It is old pub with several rooms. It is situated near some very nice places such as Brighton, Eastbourne, Lewes and the Sussex Downs. It has a good car park and is not far from the football stadium of Brighton. The staff are amazing and very helpful indeed. It has good old fashion food which was excellently cooked. There are two things that could be better both out of the control of the owners really - one being that it is not suitable for very disabled persons as you have to climb a steep staircase. Secondly if you go to bed earl then you might be kept awake with the sound of water coming from the water tanks when someone showers it is very noisy. If you go to bed normal time this will not bother you. As I say out of the control of the owner as the building is very old and would cost a fortune to fix. The Acommodation although a little tired i very clean but the food quality and the very helpful staff make up for things. Excellent value for money though.

Reviewed by
Caroline G

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice staff
The staff here were really friendly and helpful. For a one night stay the room was fine, they have made a good use of a small space. The bar is obviously a place for local workmen to drink after work and as a single female traveller it was a bit daunting walking through a room full of watching men! I was also a bit concerned that the bedroom window would not locked particularly with a flat roof just outside. I am not a nervous traveller, but I am safety aware. Despite this I would consider staying here again and the breakfast in the morning was lovely,

Reviewed by
Jennifer P

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor
Entry to the hotel part is through the bar which was fine but the room was very poor. The things that needed doing would not have cost a lot to do but would have made such a difference. The shower door didn't close properly; the shower gel dispenser in the shower cubicle had been fitted close to the riser rail so you couldn't raise or lower the shower head; handles on the wardrobe were missing; there was only one bedside lamp. And the bathroom floor was dirty with bits of rubbish from previous occupants on it. The breakfast was fine but all in all we wouldn't stay there again

Reviewed by
P Guilfoyle

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just What We Needed
Essentially this is a pub with rooms, the toilet and shower are shared but they are close by. Personally I didn't find this an issue, I didn't ever bump in to any of the other guests. The room was perfectly adequate and most importantly it was clean. We were only staying for one night so it was just what we needed and unlike the other hotels in Brighton it was very close to the event we were attending so our taxi fares were much less than they could have been! Breakfast was included and there was a good choice.

Reviewed by
Laura M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Seriously overpriced box room. Sad communal bathroom. This is hostel accommodation NOT hotel. (However the breakfast service and food was good).

Reviewed by
N Williams

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

will go again
brilliant place to stay, room clean and tidy, staff could not do enough to help us. food excellent

Reviewed by
P Fielding

From Stamford, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced.

Reviewed by
G Roberts

From Ripley, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

downs hotel
A very friendly immaculately clean and cosy hotel. Good ale, too.

Reviewed by
Gill B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next