No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Downs Hotel

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Warren Road, Woodingdean, , Brighton, BN2 6BB
Welcome to The Downs Hotel, surrounded by the beautiful South Downs countryside, in Woodingdean. The historic village of Rottingdean and the beach are nearby. We pride ourselves in offering you immaculately clean, stylish and comfortable rooms, with a great value restaurant, Sunday carvery, and a superb traditional pub. You couldn't ask for a better location. We are only 2.5 miles from Brighton town centre - the bus stops just outside the hotel - and we are only 2 miles to the beach. We are within easy reach of the Royal Pavilion, Brighton Pier, Sea Life Centre and, being located on the South Downs, also makes the location ideal for walking & cycling. The hotel is also near to the University, Nuffield Hospital, Brighton Racecourse, and Brighton Marina The superb traditional pub has a beer garden, and also offers occassional weekend live entertainment. We have ample FREE PARKING. A full English Breakfast is included.
Picture of The Downs Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 89 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy, scruffy and down at the heels. Friendly staff.
Not a hotel, but a grubby, paint-peeling pub with rooms. Not "surrounded by the beautiful South Downs countryside" as suggested in the blurb, but situated in the centre of a sad, drab town, right next to a busy junction. Given that the traffic lights are on a hill, and the rattly sash windows only amplify noise, the stream of vans revving to get up the hill from 5am mean this is not much better than sleeping in a lay-by n the A27. No idea about the food, but the restaurant smelled of over-boiled cabbage. At least the sheets were clean and the staff friendly.

Reviewed by
Stewart M

From Bromley, France
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not somewhere I'd stay again
The room smelt of paint and was situated near staff smoking area so all conversations could be heard - not great for someone wanting an early night. The bed wasn't great either and towels smelt of damp. I had requested an early breakfast upon booking which they unfortunately could not provide (I was warned that it might not be possible by late rooms but thought I'd mention it for potential future guests in a similar situation). There was also very poor reception on the television with only a handful of channels to choose from - this I was told was due to the poor weather so possibly not the hotels fault. I didn't think this was value for money at all and I wouldn't stay here again.

Reviewed by
llewellyn boucher

From Ramsgate, England
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good breakfast. shame about the room
The room was small and I felt it could have done with a good dust behind the door and on the chair legs. We have stayed in better for cheaper.
Health and safety reallyneeds tobe looked at. I always check the fire escape so I know how to get out. There were mattresses blocking the exit. We spoke to the manager mentioning the room was very small and were told that he had only worked there for 2 weeks and he didn't know his rooms...
The Breakfast was superb. Really good sausages and bacon. Definite quality. And the waitress was really lovely. Would we stay here again? Probably not if we are perfectly honest

Reviewed by
M O Brien

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best customer service I have ever received
I have been to alot of hotels but this hotel made a big difference with their customer service.I was impressed when the receptionist asked me whether we had any luggage he could help us with when we were checking in.Eventhough we didnt have any luggage, no hotel receptionist has ever offered me such a service even when I had luggages.Best reception ever.Good bargain.Very clean and welcoming place.If you need a place to lodge will definitely recommend. Good bargain if not looking for luxury.Neat and tidy rooms with lovely views.Will definitely lodge there again.

Reviewed by
K Aninkurah

From Peacehaven, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice for the price
For the price was very nice, staff very good

Reviewed by
D Mcqueen

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what we needed!
My son and I stayed just one night to be close to overcrowded Lewes, on bonfire night. We checked in and were very pleasantly surprised to be shown by a friendly young man, to a roomy twin, with views of the Sea in the distance. It was clean, nicely decorated with fresh contemporary bed linen, and everything worked! We had shared facilties, and again, everything was clean and functioned effectively. The shower could have been a little stronger,but it was good enough. We returned quite late, and the pub below was quiet, not at all an intrusion. Breakfast next day was promptly served by a very nice lady, and we ate more than should have! As we checked out we were asked if all had been well, and I mentioned that my only issue was that my mattress could have been a bit better quality. I was thanked for my feedback and reasured that the mattress would be tested immediately and upgraded if found to be a problem. We really did have a lovely night at the Downs Hotel and I would happily stay there again.

Reviewed by
deb p

From England
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lewes fireworks visit
Small, basic yet clean, warm and comfortable with en suite, TV and tea and coffee making facilities.
Lovely breakfast and friendly staff, both day and evening. Good real ales at the bar.
By busy cross roads but set on a hill with lovely views to sea and Rottingdean
Reasonable price, would stay again.

Reviewed by
j walker

From Dunstable, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Handy
Being above a pub means food and drink are catered for.The food was very good and reasonably priced.The room was a bit tired and we couldn't get the shower to work in the en-suite.All of the staff were very nice.Would stay here again for a short break when Watford play Brighton.

Reviewed by
D Hoskins

From Hemel Hempstead, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

SHARE SHOWER AND TOILETS.STAFF FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL.FOOD COULD BE BETTER

Reviewed by
T DAVIS

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value
Hotel is a pub on a very busy junction. Staff were OK, but not overly friendly. Room was v clean. I had a great view of the downs but the traffic outside v noisy. Breakfast fine.

Reviewed by
E WILSON

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next