No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Downs Hotel

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Warren Road, Woodingdean, , Brighton, BN2 6BB
Welcome to The Downs Hotel, surrounded by the beautiful South Downs countryside, in Woodingdean. The historic village of Rottingdean and the beach are nearby. We pride ourselves in offering you immaculately clean, stylish and comfortable rooms, with a great value restaurant, Sunday carvery, and a superb traditional pub. You couldn't ask for a better location. We are only 2.5 miles from Brighton town centre - the bus stops just outside the hotel - and we are only 2 miles to the beach. We are within easy reach of the Royal Pavilion, Brighton Pier, Sea Life Centre and, being located on the South Downs, also makes the location ideal for walking & cycling. The hotel is also near to the University, Nuffield Hospital, Brighton Racecourse, and Brighton Marina The superb traditional pub has a beer garden, and also offers occassional weekend live entertainment. We have ample FREE PARKING. A full English Breakfast is included.
Picture of The Downs Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 81 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice staff
The staff here were really friendly and helpful. For a one night stay the room was fine, they have made a good use of a small space. The bar is obviously a place for local workmen to drink after work and as a single female traveller it was a bit daunting walking through a room full of watching men! I was also a bit concerned that the bedroom window would not locked particularly with a flat roof just outside. I am not a nervous traveller, but I am safety aware. Despite this I would consider staying here again and the breakfast in the morning was lovely,

Reviewed by
Jennifer P

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor
Entry to the hotel part is through the bar which was fine but the room was very poor. The things that needed doing would not have cost a lot to do but would have made such a difference. The shower door didn't close properly; the shower gel dispenser in the shower cubicle had been fitted close to the riser rail so you couldn't raise or lower the shower head; handles on the wardrobe were missing; there was only one bedside lamp. And the bathroom floor was dirty with bits of rubbish from previous occupants on it. The breakfast was fine but all in all we wouldn't stay there again

Reviewed by
P Guilfoyle

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just What We Needed
Essentially this is a pub with rooms, the toilet and shower are shared but they are close by. Personally I didn't find this an issue, I didn't ever bump in to any of the other guests. The room was perfectly adequate and most importantly it was clean. We were only staying for one night so it was just what we needed and unlike the other hotels in Brighton it was very close to the event we were attending so our taxi fares were much less than they could have been! Breakfast was included and there was a good choice.

Reviewed by
Laura M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Seriously overpriced box room. Sad communal bathroom. This is hostel accommodation NOT hotel. (However the breakfast service and food was good).

Reviewed by
N Williams

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

will go again
brilliant place to stay, room clean and tidy, staff could not do enough to help us. food excellent

Reviewed by
P Fielding

From Stamford, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced.

Reviewed by
G Roberts

From Ripley, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

downs hotel
A very friendly immaculately clean and cosy hotel. Good ale, too.

Reviewed by
Gill B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Value
Paying £35 for a clean reasonably comfortabe room is really good value. Free wifi and pleasant bar staff. Very nice breakfast, only bad thing was calling last orders at 10:15 on a Friday night!

Reviewed by
Neil H

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exactly what we were looking for!
We booked up to stay at the Downs Hotel during our first visit to Brighton. The hotel is on a fairly busy road but once we were in our room we didn't notice the traffic at all. Booking time was 2p.m but we arrived early and had some lunch in the restaurant. Lovely food and pleasant staff. We were allowed up to our room early and had every last detail about our stay explained and staff were happy to answer any questions. Our room was absolutely gorgeous, old style furniture with a romantic 4 poster bed. The room had an on suite bathroom that was immaculate and we had plenty of towels. Tea and coffee facilities and a t.v were also available. There is a separate entrance to the hotel so we had no time limits on us for when we had to be back at the hotel in the evening. An absolute pleasure to stay there and would recommend to anyone that doesn't want to be in the noisy, busy part of Brighton.....but only a short taxi drive away. A++++++++++++++

Reviewed by
K Hood

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In need of some TLC
My husband and I stayed here for two nights with our two children in a family room: four poster bed and two singles. The accommodation was clean but in need of updating, new lined curtains should be a priority. The beds were comfortable and made up each day. We had no problems using the TV and managed to hook up our portable DVD player. The extension lead to the kettle was dangerously stretched over the pillow of one of the single beds so we made sure to disconnect this prior to sleep. Breakfast was indeed a high point and staff were able to meet all our requests. We didn't eat any other meals at the hotel, choosing to eat at the Marina, which is difficult to get to on public transport from the hotel, so we drove. We chose to stay at the Downs as it was relatively nearby to a friend's flat in Sussex Square. However, it is a little neglected eg flaking paint and dirty windows, and we were a little concerned about the sign asking us to remove muddy workboots before going up to the room. We were not disturbed by any pub noise though and it was the weekend.

Reviewed by
H Wright

From Pontypridd, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next