Reviews - The Downs Hotel


Warren Road, Woodingdean,, Brighton, BN2 6BB

Price From 139.95 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (71)

70% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Jennifer T

  • July 2014

Our two awful nights

We arrived at 7pm on first night (July 2014) and were shown to a small room overlooking the downs and a busy road.

The windows were rotten and single glazed and the two single beds were mismatched and creaky. No ensuite and the bathroom was across the hallway which also had rotten windows. Small shower cubicle which I refused to get into as it looked grubby and mouldy. I couldn't sleep the first night as the road was so noisy and the bed creaked so much and the quilts were so old and bobbly I slept on top of the bed. Also the windows rattled all night. The breakfast was precooked and stored bacon which was so tastless and hard with a tomato on top of it and the beans were definitely not Heinz but so wishy washy. Toast was enjoyable. The staff were pleasant enough except for one person who was cleaning the second bar out and tried to stop me using the toilet telling me there was another one in the bar in a brusque manner. I was not impressed with this place at all and my husband and I would not recommend it to anyone.

  • V Hall

  • June 2014

Good choice

Very pleased with our choice for an overnight stay.

Staff were friendly and efficient. Our room was spacious with one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. Beautiful views to the coast. The food was excellent. On a busy junction but only really noticed the occasional motor bike going by. Would have been good to have a hairdryer available, although it's possible I didn't look hard enough!

  • S Walker

  • June 2014

Lovely hotel, would be pleased to stay again

Lovely hotel with friendly and helpful staff.

Room very clean and with a really beautiful view of the Downs and the sea. Really good food and not too expensive, great beer in the bar and again with the great view. Had a very good night's sleep. This is in an ideal location for exploring the Downs and trips in to Brighton and the surrounding area. There is a bus stop outside with a service into Brighton which is only a short ride away. I will stay here again but hopefully with my good lady next time.

  • R Moll

  • June 2014

Convenient for Brighton and the Newhaven ferry

Comfortable and convenient.

Excellent views over the downs. Very good base to explore Brighton, we used this as a stopover for the Newhaven ferry, which docks quite late. Would recommend.

  • Alison C

  • May 2014

Brighton on a budget

I needed a room for one night and this hotel fitted the bill.

The single room was clean and comfortable; the only problem was that the TV wasn't working (there were problems throughout the hotel with this) which meant a very quiet evening. The staff were helpful and the breakfast was delicious. All in all, a good place to stay.

  • m hynes

  • May 2014

downs hotel/pub stay

great value at £45 per night on a bank holiday weekend when most hotels prices are sky was on the small side, bed was very comfortable if a bit narrow, but it was noisey as there was kareoky going on in the pub down stairs untill late.

breakfast was superb and staff very friendly. i would stay again but would ask for a room away from the bar area of the pub.

  • S Jordan

  • May 2014

Okay stay, if all you wan to do is shop in Brighton

The hotel was okay, the rooms & bathroom small but clean, and bed comfortable.

Only one double plug so you had to move furniture to plug in the kettle or hair dryer (that they don't supply) but the kindly lent us one. The TV only had one channel. and we weren't encouraged to eat the hotel at night as 'they were low on stock', which was a shame so we had to go else where, but the breakfasts were very nice.

  • Stephanie K

  • April 2014

Ideal for purpose

Accommodation was fine for staying in while daughter in hospital.

Room was very clean and all linen was immaculate however I would have felt more comfortable if I hadn't been on my own. Staff were very helpful and the breakfasts were very good. The rooms were however noisy while the pub was open especially in the room I had latterly which had a door beside the smoking area.

  • Hayley Mercer

  • April 2014

Very good value for money. The staff were excellent

Very clean room, bed super comfy.

Lovely breakfast

  • Carole F

  • April 2014

Room and linen very clean, one complaint the mattress was very uncomfortable.