No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Shakespeare Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
High Street, Coalport, , Telford, TF8 7HT
The Shakespeare Inn is over 200 years old situated in the heart of the world heritage site of the Ironbridge Gorge, and within easy walking distance to the Coalport China Museum, the Blists Hill Museum, the Maws Craft Centre and the famous Ironbridge itself. Spectacular and beautiful, Ironbridge Gorge offers a unique chance to step back in time to an age when the pounding of steam hammers and the clatter of horse hooves was commonplace. Today 10 amazing museums pay tribute to the proud history of the area, whilst a new breed of creative arts and industries have evolved within Gorge all adding to this unique offering available to visitors to Ironbridge & Shropshire of all ages, so there is much to do in the area. We are a member of CAMRA and offer an extensive range of ales at the inn. All of the rooms that we offer are en suite and each has a good range of facilities, including televisions, tea & coffee making facilities, bottled water, hair driers and WiFi internet access.
Picture of The Shakespeare Inn, Telford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would like a longer stay!
Our stay was very brief - just one night and we arrived very late so didn't get to appreciate the Shakespeare Inn as much as we would have liked.
We had a very warm welcome, the room was lovely, breakfast was lovely and the staff very friendly. The only one tiny little thing is that the shower door didn't close properly because the seal was loose which meant the bathroom floor got very wet but if that is the only thing we have to worry about then it proves our stay was great! We will return here!! :)

Reviewed by
K Whelpdale

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A truly great stay.
This is a super pub, with really clean and comfortable accommodation. It serves good beer and interesting food in huge portions at very reasonable prices. The room was of a good size and the bed comfortable. The room was located over the bar, so there was a small amount of noise, but not very late and the location is beside a road, quiet at night. Efficient staff and friendly hosts.

Reviewed by
B Canavan

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shakespeare ticks all the boxes
After an awful journey of 5 hrs (should have been an hour and a half), we had a warm friendly welcome from the staff. Even though the pub was very busy, the service was very efficient and friendly and the food was really good.

Reviewed by
Jane Plumb

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fullup!!
lovely pub in a pretty area. Full of character with a good varied menu. Delicious evening meal but too much for us two oldies !! Breakfast delicious but the same fault !! Very full plate...... Very pleasant people. We also tried their sister pub over the gorge/river - "the half moon"& we had a super meal there, chose a combi starter so suited us better. This has an idylic setting right on the river side with staff just as pleasant as the shakespeare. All in all a lovely break in a very interesting area. I have already recommended it to one of my family! Who is going to sus it out!

Reviewed by
irene w

From Goole, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business stopover
A very pleasant pub to stay in. The staff were friendly & helpful and the room I had was finished very tastefully. Food was good in the bar, but fairly expensive I thought. Breakfast very good on the 2 mornings I stayed.

Reviewed by
Jonathan W

From Deal, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good B&B
Very friendly pub with excellent customer service. The room was more than adequate for an overnight stay and very clean. Ensuite shower facilities. Had an evening meal in the club which was wholesome, tasty and the portions were very well sized.

Reviewed by
M Davies

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Shakespeare Inn
Right from the start I was met with a friendly face, I was made to feel very welcome, the room was directly above the bar which was a bit noisy however by 11pm all was quiet, food was amazing and good value. I went for a walk along the river and canal, it was beautiful place to be

Reviewed by
Cliff Jarman

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place, beautiful location. Friendly, nice clean comfortable rooms. Excellent value for money.
Very nice, recommended. I'd stay here again. The only thing I would point out is that there is no one on the premises over night, and rooms open onto the outdoors rather than into the building. There are also no phones in the rooms and I couldn't get a mobile signal. It's lovely and quiet with very comfortable beds, so I slept like a log, but some might feel a little nervous.

Reviewed by
Liz B

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Love the place, hate the noise
My wife and I stayed at the Shakespeare for a Friday and Saturday night recently and were again made to feel extremely welcome by the staff at the inn. Whilst the room we booked was a twin, the positioning of the beds (opposite each other) was a bit strange. The room was clean and had the usual nice little touches such as toiletries etc. however. We had experienced some noise from the bar the previous time we stayed but put it down to the positioning of our room (the family room) above the bar. Anyway, it wasn't too bad and settled down about half 11. On this occasion the noise continued unabated until 12.45am! This was a bit late I thought. Saturday night was more bearable owing I think to the restaurant/bar not being as busy as the previous night. From being on the verge of booking a family stay for our daughter, son in law and two grandchildren, I have to say we have had second thoughts. I must emphasise this is the only drawback to staying at the Shakespeare. The location is excellent in Ironbridge gorge, the food is great and the staff really friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
les w

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If you want a traditional English rural pub, with a warm welcome, excellent food and comfortable room together with THE best full English breakfast on this planet you need look no further than the Shakespeare Inn.

Reviewed by
peter hubbard

From Godalming, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next