No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Casuarina Tree

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
407 London Road, Mitcham, , Mitcham, CR4 4BG
The Casuarina Tree Hotel is located on a former pub on the A217 close to Mitcham’s tram stops and only a short way from Ravensbury and Poulter Parks. We have a free car park so no worries with parking and also offer free Wi-Fi access. We have seven recently refurbished spacious bedrooms each have colour TV with all major TV channels and DVD player. Hair dryer and ironing facilities are provided. Breakfast are provided on request. The Casuarina Tree combines the original features of the old building such as wood beams and bay windows with contemporary furnishings in bold blacks and reds. This relaxed, unhurried setting is where Mitcham diners enjoy Asian fusion cuisine with a sprinkling of Continental inspiration too. The Casuarina Tree kitchen works creatively with ingredients, taking inspiration from the traditional but refining those dishes to suit the more curious and harder to please modern palate. The menu here is heavy on the Indian side of things, offering both favourite curry house choices and lesser known regional specialties, but also displays a range of main dishes from Sri Lanka and China too, all eminently affordable but of the highest quality too. There is also a bar in the restaurant. Casuarina Tree is about 10-minute from Wimbledon and Croydon by Tram. East Croydon is a major hub within the national railway transport system, provide easy access to central London, south coasta and easy acess to Gatwick airport a mere 20 minutes from East Croydon. Wimbledon station is the only London station that provides an interchange between rail, Underground, and Tramlink services provide easy access to central London and south of England.
Picture of Casuarina Tree, Mitcham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 39 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
61% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for the price
Clean bedding, great bathroom, move the tv so you can see it from the bed, decorate the room and landing - it needs it! Fantastic food in the evening, breakfast needs a little work. Good value for money but would try somewhere else.

Reviewed by
D Hulme

From Bridgnorth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Wimbledon Experience
Website described rooms as newly re-furbished. The bathrooms were, our double room wasnt. There were pieces missing from the wallpaper and the room could have benefited from a coat of paint. The double bed was up against a wall with just enough room for one person to pass on the "open" side so getting out meany both of us being disturbed. The restaurant was descibed as having an indian bent - it was in fact an indian restaurant with the upstairs rooms converted to bedrooms. The staff were helpful but only 1 spoke english wekk! The breakfast was not as requested and did not look at all appetising. As we wantd somewhere cheap to stay to allow us to visit the Wimbledon Rennis Championships, it's location was perfect and we accessed Wimbledon very easily by tram and bus. The bedding was clean so all in all, we probably got what we paid for but would be reluctant to stay there again.

Reviewed by
H Wright

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location for Wimbledon
Stayed for 1 night in June to watch Wimbledon, only 10 mins by tram to Wimbledon station, Station only 2 mins walk from hotel. Owner let me leave our car in their car park the next morning which was very kind. Price is good for the area , room was clean and we slept well, would recomend.

Reviewed by
Andrew S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly atmosphere with excellent staff and wonderful food

Reviewed by
lee scott

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't expect The Hilton
Nice welcome. Checking in easy. Shared with colleague. Hotel stairway a bit of a mess but the room was fine. Didn't fine tooth comb it as only staying 1 night. Bathroom clean and sundries provided. Good bar, nice clean crisp pint. It's not the best but at this price I'm not complaining. Main issue is the positioning of the TV in the room (room 5). Can't be viewed from either bed. Will stay here again because it is not crap, i got a good nights sleep on a comfy and clean bed and very convenient for where I was working. Will definitely have a meal here next time.

Reviewed by
Ben G

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

food
Apparently u gotta order food a day before

Reviewed by
Doyinsola Moses Akintioye

From Mountain Ash, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed for one day. spacious room, good location, easy to park. not noisy, had all the basic facilities. clean linen etc
good value for money

Reviewed by
C Alexander

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

sorry but never again!
Water constantly dropping from the shower, dirty shower cabinet, dusty, even tray for cups was dirty. Little tv hidden behind the wardrobe so you can't watch TV from double bed. On the top of that hotel is situated next to very busy road so constantly noise from traffic even with windows shut. Benefits......privet car park. I understand that was a chip accommodation ( for London) but still........ I am glad that I had to stay there only one night and I wouldn't recommend that place to anyone. Very disappointed.

Reviewed by
izabela a

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

rooms not bad but food the worst I have ever tried
After checking in me and my colleagues had a few drinks then ordered some food seen as it was a Indian restaurant we expected it to be good but when it arrived it was a joke the curry was like soup and tasted like it had a full tub of salt in so we sent it back only to be sent the same meal with more salt in,onion bahjis were like pancakes with raw onion inside tandoori mix grill sounds lovely on menu don't be fooled it is disgusting and we'll over priced was the worst meal I've ever been presented with what a joke

Reviewed by
B Milner

From Colne, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again.
I stayed at this place because it was cheap, but I thought it would be basic, not dirty. The walls and doors were covered in stains and there were fruit flies in the room. On the first night we were awoken at 5 am by slamming doors. On the 3rd night the road outside was completely resurfaced at 1am. No warning and no apologies for the disturbance were given. I have never been so disapointed with a room.

Reviewed by
J Lloyd

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next