No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Casuarina Tree

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
407 London Road, Mitcham, , Mitcham, CR4 4BG
The Casuarina Tree Hotel is located on a former pub on the A217 close to Mitcham’s tram stops and only a short way from Ravensbury and Poulter Parks. We have a free car park so no worries with parking and also offer free Wi-Fi access. We have seven recently refurbished spacious bedrooms each have colour TV with all major TV channels and DVD player. Hair dryer and ironing facilities are provided. Breakfast are provided on request. The Casuarina Tree combines the original features of the old building such as wood beams and bay windows with contemporary furnishings in bold blacks and reds. This relaxed, unhurried setting is where Mitcham diners enjoy Asian fusion cuisine with a sprinkling of Continental inspiration too. The Casuarina Tree kitchen works creatively with ingredients, taking inspiration from the traditional but refining those dishes to suit the more curious and harder to please modern palate. The menu here is heavy on the Indian side of things, offering both favourite curry house choices and lesser known regional specialties, but also displays a range of main dishes from Sri Lanka and China too, all eminently affordable but of the highest quality too. There is also a bar in the restaurant. Casuarina Tree is about 10-minute from Wimbledon and Croydon by Tram. East Croydon is a major hub within the national railway transport system, provide easy access to central London, south coasta and easy acess to Gatwick airport a mere 20 minutes from East Croydon. Wimbledon station is the only London station that provides an interchange between rail, Underground, and Tramlink services provide easy access to central London and south of England.
Picture of Casuarina Tree, Mitcham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 45 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room with en suite, but no coat hangers!
Deluxe double was in fact a twin but that did not bother us and it looked like the beds would clip together. Nice en suite bathroom, hot shower. Did find a pop sock from previous resident on floor. Otherwise very clean. Comfortable beds. Quiet room. Laid on a jug of water and glasses as well as coffee making facilities which was nice.. Nice large wardrobe, but the big failure was, there were no coat hangers and we came back from London very late and wet. Had to hang my coat on the back of a chair and my husbands on the room door closure.

Reviewed by
Sharon B

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
Room and facilities basic but clean and comfortable.

Reviewed by
Tom P

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

did what it said on the tin

Reviewed by
Claire B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Pits
I booked a family room with a double bed & 1 single bed, what i actually got was 3 single beds all pushed together. The room it self was in need of urgent decorating - woodchip walls no less! The room was big, the bath which is amazing the bathroom miniscule, there was enough room to revamp things, make the bathroom bigger for a start.
The staff, apart from 1 waitress, were all very rude, on checking in it was demanded almost that i pay straight away for my room.
At 69 quid you could argue that you get what you pay for, however, i'm in a 55 quid hotel tonight which is amazing

Reviewed by
Julian E

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
Basic but with everything that s expected in budget accommodation.

Reviewed by
Tom P

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good

Reviewed by
N Liyanage

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely, helpful staff. Very comfy beds! Easy access and parking. On main road, but didn't disturb us. Great food downstairs and very reasonable. Authentic Indian/ Sri Lankan cuisine. For the money The Casuarina Tree charge it was great value. Would stay there again.

Reviewed by
Sarah B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

For the money £69, the double room was a good find as I had plenty of space & an en-suite bathroom, walls are very thin so not the best on a football match night if you're a light sleeper.
The hotel staff are bar staff as well, so don't be impatient or worry if you have to call more than once to get an answer.
I think it suitable for single night stays & would stay again.

Reviewed by
M Ali

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but clean
People were helpful when needed. Room was very basic but clean. The only lock on the door was a latch that I could not lock from the inside so I did not feel very safe. The main door into the accommodation was left on the latch a lot, leaving access to anyone. Close to tramlink but nothing else around apart from the odd shop.

Reviewed by
Joanna G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good
Good value for money

Reviewed by
L Clarke

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next