No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bull Newick

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Green, , , Newick, BN8 4LA
The Bull on the Green is a pub, restaurant and bed & breakfast in the heart of the Sussex countryside offering great food, quality drinks and comfortable accommodation. To the rear of the pub is a secluded courtyard to sit out in on lovely summer evenings. In the winter log fires create an inviting atmosphere. We have 8 B&B rooms, all with private en-suite bathrooms and Coffee & Tea making facilities. We also provide a fantastic home cooked Breakfast to set you up for the day an additional cost is incured for this facility. We are in the process of updating our rooms and making our standards even higher. The size and the cost of the rooms vary but prices start from £50 upwards. Situated right on the Green in the East Sussex village of Newick, you can enjoy a light snack or a celebration dinner in the restaurant or even make a weekend of it with our lovely Bed and Breakfast accommodation. The pub was the stopping place for Pilgrims in 1510 travelling between Winchester and Canterbury. The Bull on the Green is situated in the centre of Newick village and is near the South Downs, 20 minutes from Brighton and 10 minutes from Lewes. It is also a short distance from Plumpton Racecourse and Glyndebourne Opera House.
Picture of The Bull Newick, Newick at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
The walls were paper thin and the ensuite did not include a toilet which was a fair distance down the hall. Not ideal if you need to go in the night. Food expensive for what was served.

Reviewed by
Steven J

From Enfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great short stay in a lovely value for money pub setting
The Bull has a lovely set of rooms for the price. The staff are very welcoming and the Sunday roast that my wife and I had was really lovely too.
I would recommend a stay here, anytime.

Reviewed by
Simon T

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A clean and quiet location.
Our stay was good. Very clean and modern.
The bedroom and bathroom were very clean and tidy. Small points - buy some decent pillows ! The quality was very poor and this makes a difference to the sleep. We did not receive any information about checking out the next morning and just posted our keys through the letterbox.

Reviewed by
Charlotte M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice location and surroundings, Shame about the cleanliness of the room.
The Bull is a lovely location in a beautiful little village, the food was lovely and the staff very pleasant. This was for our wedding anniversary and was just a stop over between travelling but the cleanliness of Room 8 was disappointing. There was drink splattered up the wall under the T.V. and when we went to make a cup of coffee the cups looked like they were used on a building site and not washed up. I didn't see the point in pissing moaning at the staff so I just washed them up quickly myself .

Reviewed by
k worrall

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice and handy for where we needed to be
very nice place didnt eat there as we were visiting friends

Reviewed by
raymond uren

From Barrow in Furness, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over all very welcoming and friendly and good value

Reviewed by
J Dodd

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a very pleasant country village pub
A very traditional old english country pub on a village green,with rooms in a seperate building at the rear away from the bars and restuarant.Room was comfortable and clean and the staff were very friendly and always on hand especially when dining in the ample sized restuarant.Food was good and breakfasts were tasty and ample and didn't have long to wait for them to come.
Overall a very nice place to stay whether for a holiday or just passing through.

Reviewed by
M PARKES

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was lovely and relaxing
The staff were very friendly and helpful. A nice relaxing stay.

Reviewed by
Lesley T

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good country pub accommodation
Generally good although cleaning wasnt the best we have seen.Areas were quite dusty. We were accommodated in a disabled room even though that wasnt what we had booked.Bathroom had a rusty bath chair ,rusty radiator and needs a bit of tlc. Have to book a time for breakfast the evening before. Werent told that you had to go in the back door for breakfast so had to hammer on the front pub door and were told we were quarter of an hour early by the cleaner so we had to go back to our room and wait.Breakfast when served was of good quality

Reviewed by
L Cody

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little place with good value for money
I stayed at The Bull as I was attending a conference at Brighton Uni. I was very pleasantly surprised with the initial appearance of the room - very stylish, beautifully exposed beams, lovely decor and reasonable facilities.
Having stayed there I was pleased with my stay but they could have improved on a few things:
- No Wifi - the room I stayed in had no access to Wifi. Supposedly they're waiting for a booster to amend this but in this day and age that is poor.
- Bathroom facilities were clean enough but you could tell they were pretty old. It would be nice for the grouting to at least look cleaner
- Remote control to the TV didn't work properly and this was annoying
- The food was very pricey but good quality. I think it was overpriced for what it was but I highly recommend the Pan Seared Scallops. Heaven!
The bed was tremendously comfortable despite the very hot nights.
Altogether a very pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
K Kimbley

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next