No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Briary Hotel

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
12 Moncrieffe Rd, Nether Edge, , Sheffield, S7 1LP
The Briary is an atmospheric detached Victorian residence with real character and charm. The hotel is in the suburb of Nether Edge which is only a 5 minute drive to Sheffield city centre and its many attractions. Many of the original features remain, including a large Victorian-style conservatory. No need to worry about parking, there is a private free car park on-site for guests to use. Guests can have a very early check in and a late check out by prior arrangement. All bedrooms are En-suite and the whole building benefits from free wireless internet, Flat screen tv's, tea & coffee making facilities, an iron and ironing board are available on request. All room prices include a Full English Breakfast The Briary operates a no smoking policy for the comfort of all our guests. We welcome children of any age. Guests can choose from a selection of room types including Single. Double, Twin and Family rooms. Pets are also made welcome, providing they are house trained. An additional £7.00 charge will be made.
Picture of The Briary Hotel, Sheffield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Very helpful owner - and good quiet nights sleep.

Reviewed by
Edward W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short ovenight stay while taking son back to university
Basic guest house accommodation that provided ensuite bedroom and breakfast at very reasonable cost. Very helpful and friendly staff. Location close to city centre and not far from student village. Room clean with tea and coffee making facilities, small ensuite shower room with plenty of hot water. Ideal for no frills stay in Sheffield. Off street parking available at rear/side gravel area. Hotel sited in quite residential area. Would stay again for similar type trip.

Reviewed by
David N

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleased
Very friendly and helpful owner, lovely old building, comfortable very clean room, nice food, couldn't ask for more for the price really.

Reviewed by
W Lane

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Manager couldn't do more for you!
The hotel is very dated but Sal the owner could not be faulted, he really helped me as I was struggling with driving around Sheffield, lovely breakfast, could have whatever you wanted. Parking so all in all for the price I can't complain.

Reviewed by
June A

From Keighley, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money.
Great value for money, friendly helpful owner and a really nice, fresh, breakfast. I would stay here again.

Reviewed by
R Fitzpatrick

From Darwen, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good value guest house for a short break or stay
The Briary is mainly occupied by permanent residents, all working professionals. I think only a couple of rooms are short stay. There is far less general noise and bustle than in most budget hotels.
I got an email before I went, giving me contact numbers and checking when I expected to arrive. Parking is available off road behind the building. Sal, the manager, seems very happy and flexible about arrangements.
The room was clean, tidy and warm. En suite facilities were small but fine. I had agreed a time for breakfast as I had a timetable to meet people which proved no problem. Breakfasts were quiet but good quality, choices of cereal, fried food and or toast with fresh coffee.
Very good value for money. It's a short trip out of town off the ring road, but still fairly easy to get to and ideal for any short stays.

Reviewed by
D Thompson

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient and comfortable
Great little guesthouse in a quiet residential area handily located near Nether Edge and a short walk from Eccleshall Road.
Sal, the proprietor, was on hand if needed with a friendly but not invasive approach. Clean and comfortable single room with good sized en-suite. Would recommend and stay again.

Reviewed by
M Fell

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly welcome diluted our last Minuit needs

Reviewed by
H Abbatt

From shrewsburyFrodesleyShrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Place to Stay
A very handy place to stay for business in Sheffield.

Reviewed by
Andrew I

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

trip to sheffield
The Proprietor the the Briary Hotel was second to non...On entering Sheffield, my sat nav packed up! this was a bit of a concern as I don't know my way around Sheffield: I phoned Sal, (prop) and he gave me clear directions at various intervals and brought me safely in. This, I felt that was way beyond the call of duty. The welcome was warm and friendly and the building itself was delightful, the accommodation was perfectly adequet for the purpose of my stay, but if I were to stay there again, I would like to see some brighter/neutral colours with a fresh lick of paint.

Reviewed by
H Imisson

From Malton, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next