No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - New Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Dowlish Wake, , , Ilminster, TA19 0NZ
Situated in the beautiful village of Dowlish Wake, The New Inn is a 350 year old stone built pub and is situated just 200 yards from the ever popular Perry's Cider Mill and Museum. Our extravagant menu includes a wealth of home cooked dishes made from locally sourced produce wherever possible. Freshness and quality is an absolute must. We have two separate bar areas both with wood burning stoves, a stunning non smoking restaurant serving lunches and evening meals and a large secluded beer garden which is perfect for those warm summer evenings. Our menu features lovely home cooked food - with produce being sourced locally whenever possible. From steaks to fish and game, we have a delicious menu that offers great variety and choice; we cater for most diets including gluten free and vegetarian dishes. No pub would be complete without a selection of real ales, our ales are always well kept - that’s a promise. Our four en-suite guest bedrooms offer a high level of comfort and were awarded 4 stars with The AA. Situated in our sunny pleasant garden, each room is tastefully decorated and furnished with antique wardrobes and dressing tables. All the rooms are on the ground floor in a separate annex to the main building and have colour TV, tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary toiletries and a buffet style breakfast served 8.00am until 9.30am that will set you up for the day ahead!
Picture of New Inn, Ilminster at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place to stay.
Friendly and helpful staff, comfortable room, great food and ale. Delighted we found this place online and would certainly stay here again.

Reviewed by
Martin Cowpland

From Billericay, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a1

Reviewed by
philip carey

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value, service, friendliness
This visit to the New Inn was for overnight during a business trip. Located in the pretty village within walking distance of a cider brewery called Perrys Ciders and a shop selling a selection of the ciders and other food items like jams, chutney etc. Not in walking distance of other restaurants but the New Inn has an excellent menu to choose from and all reasonably priced choices. We had our evening meal there and was not disappointed. The accommodation is made up of individual rooms in an annexe attached to the pub/restaurant with a walkway and the doors open up onto the walkway which takes you past the outside garden area. Tea/Coffee and water available in room. Comfortable surroundings and a selection of washing amenities in bathroom with clean towels. Breakfast was cereals, juice and a selection of cooked breakfast items including a full cooked breakfast. Would definitely stay again. Thank you to great staff and warm welcome.

Reviewed by
c herbert

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Friendly place to stay
Only 1 very small niggle, their descrpitions says wifi in rooms, but don't work - altho ok just outside.
Everything else 100%

Reviewed by
Stephen Osborn

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This was our second stay, we received a warm welcome, the bed was comfortable & the breakfast
set us up for the day, very friendly & cheerful staff made our stay a very pleasant one once again.

Reviewed by
Glenys E

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New Inn Ilminster
Excellent accommodation with friendly good service we were made to feel very welcome by Nickey and Rich our hosts. Food was also excellent I would highly recommend this venue to anyone.

Reviewed by
Malcolm Campbell

From Beckenham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New Inn
Average but expensive.

Reviewed by
c james

From Willenhall, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely olde world charm with mod cons!
Great village setting, very clean accomodation, great breakfast!

Reviewed by
G Cooper

From Orpington, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two night stay November Dowlish Wake
We stayed for two nights in this Inn in a Somerset village. All staff were extremely accommodating and friendly; our room was fine although not luxurious; lots of hot water etc. breakfasts were very good. The inn bar provided a lovely end to our evenings as the local people were all very friendly and willing to include us in conversations; we met some interesting characters and learnt a little about the history of the village. Very highly recommended to anyone.

Reviewed by
Hazel Wootton

From Staines upon Thames, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Midweek Break
Had a very pleasant 2 nights at The New Inn. Extremely warm welcome and comfortable room. The food was excellent and the whole experience was very relaxing.

Reviewed by
Rachel Gibbons

From Neath, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next