No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bay Horse

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
61 Melford Road, , , Sudbury, CO10 1JS
At the edge of the market town of Sudbury, this traditional family-run local pub offers en suite accommodation, a friendly atmosphere, free Wi-Fi and free parking. The Bay Horse is within walking distance of Sudbury’s town centre and is situated on the main Bury St Edmunds road, the A134. The Bay Horse is run by your hosts, Charlie and Micaela, who pride themselves on offering a relaxed, friendly atmosphere and comfortable en suite accommodation. The rooms are located to the rear of the pub, separate from the main building. Each room has a TV with Freeview digital channels, a hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Free Wi-Fi wireless internet access is available throughout. All rooms are on ground floor level. Whilst we are unable to offer breakfast there is a very nice cafe a minutes walk that serves from 7am monday to saturday and 9am on a sunday. At the front of the pub, there is a covered and heated patio area for the cooler nights. There is also a substantial garden at the back of the building for the warmer summer days. We are a 30 - 45 minute drive from Stansted airport, not to be confused with Stanstead village which is only 4 miles away. The pub hosts live music every Saturday night.
Picture of The Bay Horse, Sudbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 46 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bargain
Stayed here for £35 and was very pleased by how nice the room was. Advised that room was cheap due to noise coming from the pub but got into room just before midnight and slept like a log. For £35 you can't go wrong.

Reviewed by
Scott S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Having been warned about the likelihood of noise but still booked, we coped with the noise above the room and the live music. It finished at 11.30 and we survived.The room was unusual but adequate, could have done with another chair as the bed was so high to sit on, but at £70 for 2 for 2 nights we have no complaints.

Reviewed by
Maureen M

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bay horse
The room was very nice and clean with parking and a friendly pub



Reviewed by
john c

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely night away
Me and partner went away for the first time in 5 years with no children. It was lovely the room was clean and we were surprised how nice it was for only £45 a night. It was situated at the back of the pub and was quiet the locals were polite and friendly and very helpful when I left my iron at home. It was honestly a great place to stay and we're already planning to go away for a weekend together.

Reviewed by
Samantha B

From Wickford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Generally very clean but bedding let the side down.
Generally very clean well thought out space. Our room overlooked the car-park, garden, then meadows - lovely. Ideally a window would be useful to let in some ventilation but understood the use of sliding door. The fan was a good solution. The room was generally very clean but the very old bedding needs replacing urgently. It has been laundered well but found a hair (not intimate) and sheets were obviously well used, almost thread bear! Dropping off the keys into secure letter box was a good idea. Enjoyed the live music and it wasn't too loud in the room.

Reviewed by
Corinne A

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

all o.k.

Reviewed by
v robinson

From Scarborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

breakfast
It would be convenient if there was information on where you can get breakfast in the morning, as we had to drive around until we found somewhere.

Reviewed by
G Collins

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my over nite stay
Couldn't find fault all was very good

Reviewed by
jaci pascoe

From Haverhill, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 4
Excellent room but the smoke alarm bleeping was a bit of a nuisance.

Reviewed by
Peter Marshall

From Southminster, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room, shame about the service
The room I was in was excellant. When I asked if they did food I was told they do not do evening food, yet when I went out later they was a bbq.
The staff in the bar were not over helpful.

Reviewed by
M Hollis

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next