No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bay Horse

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
61 Melford Road, , , Sudbury, CO10 1JS
At the edge of the market town of Sudbury, this traditional family-run local pub offers en suite accommodation, a friendly atmosphere, free Wi-Fi and free parking. The Bay Horse is within walking distance of Sudbury’s town centre and is situated on the main Bury St Edmunds road, the A134. The Bay Horse is run by your hosts, Charlie and Micaela, who pride themselves on offering a relaxed, friendly atmosphere and comfortable en suite accommodation. The rooms are located to the rear of the pub, separate from the main building. Each room has a TV with Freeview digital channels, a hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Free Wi-Fi wireless internet access is available throughout. All rooms are on ground floor level. Whilst we are unable to offer breakfast there is a very nice cafe a minutes walk that serves from 7am monday to saturday and 9am on a sunday. At the front of the pub, there is a covered and heated patio area for the cooler nights. There is also a substantial garden at the back of the building for the warmer summer days. We are a 30 - 45 minute drive from Stansted airport, not to be confused with Stanstead village which is only 4 miles away. The pub hosts live music every Saturday night.
Picture of The Bay Horse, Sudbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
Exactly what we needed for an overnight stay. Also being so close to the pub was very handy and to our delight, they had a live band which were fantastic. Will definitely be using again.

Reviewed by
R Allanson

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfy stay
Great room. Nice and clean with TV, free wifi, en- suite and comfy bed. Situated away from the pub with a great view.

Reviewed by
sharon h

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Value for Money
The rooms are fine, at this price I have stayed in far worse. Short walk to town. All I need is somewhere for my head to rest and this fits the bill just fine. Nice welcome. No hassle and a big room.

Reviewed by
Ian T

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay
Great stay helpful friendly staff, would use again

Reviewed by
IAN H

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great experience very homely
very nice and very welcoming also a very nice location.

Reviewed by
r maxwell

From Downpatrick, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Elegant room
The room was spacious, the bed very comfortable with good facilities.
No breakfast is provded.

Reviewed by
Robin H

From Sudbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value
Really enjoyed staying at the Bay horse. There was a pleasant welcome from staff and regulars in the bar. The room was generally clean and neat. The room was well stocked with coffee and tea. Basically the room met our expectations so we are very satisfied with our stay and would consider returning. Found Sudbury to be charming.

Reviewed by
Natalie J

From Altrincham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant reception and more than happy with room look forward to staying with you again soon

Reviewed by
Ken Burn

From Beverley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprisingly quiet
4 rooms in a block in the car park was the sight that greeted us.
Room 2 was however surprisingly quiet when inside, even with a live band playing in the evening I caught my foot on the bottom of the shower door as it didn't open very far, a much larger person would struggle getting in. Apart from that and signs of water damage on the ceiling, the room was very comfortable.

Reviewed by
l stevens

From Morden, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation ... Very clean ... Warm room ... Quiet surroundings made sleeping easy

Reviewed by
Amanda L

From New Tredegar, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next