No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bay Horse

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
61 Melford Road, , , Sudbury, CO10 1JS
At the edge of the market town of Sudbury, this traditional family-run local pub offers en suite accommodation, a friendly atmosphere, free Wi-Fi and free parking. The Bay Horse is within walking distance of Sudbury’s town centre and is situated on the main Bury St Edmunds road, the A134. The Bay Horse is run by your hosts, Charlie and Micaela, who pride themselves on offering a relaxed, friendly atmosphere and comfortable en suite accommodation. The rooms are located to the rear of the pub, separate from the main building. Each room has a TV with Freeview digital channels, a hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Free Wi-Fi wireless internet access is available throughout. All rooms are on ground floor level. Whilst we are unable to offer breakfast there is a very nice cafe a minutes walk that serves from 7am monday to saturday and 9am on a sunday. At the front of the pub, there is a covered and heated patio area for the cooler nights. There is also a substantial garden at the back of the building for the warmer summer days. We are a 30 - 45 minute drive from Stansted airport, not to be confused with Stanstead village which is only 4 miles away. The pub hosts live music every Saturday night.
Picture of The Bay Horse, Sudbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprisingly quiet
4 rooms in a block in the car park was the sight that greeted us.
Room 2 was however surprisingly quiet when inside, even with a live band playing in the evening I caught my foot on the bottom of the shower door as it didn't open very far, a much larger person would struggle getting in. Apart from that and signs of water damage on the ceiling, the room was very comfortable.

Reviewed by
l stevens

From Morden, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation ... Very clean ... Warm room ... Quiet surroundings made sleeping easy

Reviewed by
Amanda L

From New Tredegar, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the said rooms at the bay horse were of a good standard clean and for a business traveller excellent
having to go to café for breakfast was not appealing but the night on arrival I found a lovely
Tea room in the main street of sudbery holds approx. 12/13 people and it was fantastic, friendly, clean and peaceful. (a 5 min walk) thank you

Reviewed by
colin s

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonable place to stay
Room was comfortable, nice bed, TV worked. Wi-fi signal was intermittent and weak. No food available but good Weatherspoons only 5 min walk with good food and breakfast from 8am.

Reviewed by
Duncan R

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The accommodation was clean and tidy. Even though it's next to pub it was quite.The mattress had a couple of broken springs and could do with being replaced

Reviewed by
s smith

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It does what it says on the tin
clean basic room no frills but with free wifi and off street parking. Very close to town . And all the food you could need. Clean and well presented.

Reviewed by
Catherine D

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best value around
Stayed on a Tuesday night, so no noise problems from the live music nights (Wed, Fri, Sat) Good accommodation, comfortable and all the usual amenities provided. Room only, so no breakfast, but very good value anyway.

Reviewed by
J Crooke

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My one night stay in Sudbury
The room was very pleasant. However up to about 11.0pm there was some noise from activity on above. However this was reasonably bearable. I believe the pub has other rooms which are in a separate building to the pub. I would prefer to stay in one of these.

Reviewed by
MARTIN FOSTER

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bargain
Stayed here for £35 and was very pleased by how nice the room was. Advised that room was cheap due to noise coming from the pub but got into room just before midnight and slept like a log. For £35 you can't go wrong.

Reviewed by
Scott S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Having been warned about the likelihood of noise but still booked, we coped with the noise above the room and the live music. It finished at 11.30 and we survived.The room was unusual but adequate, could have done with another chair as the bed was so high to sit on, but at £70 for 2 for 2 nights we have no complaints.

Reviewed by
Maureen M

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next