You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Bay Horse

3

61 Melford Road, ,, Sudbury, CO10 1JS

Price From 60.85 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (41)

88% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • patricia barnard

  • July 2016

the room that we had was beautiful over looking the meadow nice patio area out out the front

We booked here as it looked nice and was close to were we needed to be Beautiful place to stay quite.

Room was well equipped with everything we needed. Gorgeous view of the meadow from the patio doors we could sit out side on the patio area would recommend people stay here it's lovely

  • Peter L

  • June 2016

Great room but lacking hospitality

We enjoyed a good overnight stay here on a bank Holiday in Sudbury and despite a warning that the room could be noisy we did not find it was a problem.

The ceiling is however very low and TV very small, that said we would happily book this room again. The only negative was the fact that we were not really greeted when we checked in, the pub was busy, but it was very matter of fact and when it came to checking out, which we did not do early by any means (after 11 am) the pub was locked and without any other instructions being given as to where to leave the key we left it in our room and the room unlocked which felt a strange thing to do. I have put an N/A for food in my rating as I do not think the pub generally does food, however on the night we stayed they had a FREE bbq. This was excellent, most welcome and appreciated. The band playing, called The Harvs were superb too, if you ever get a chance to see them then they are definitely worth checking out.

  • linda f

  • May 2016

good as a bass for exploring area

good clean no frills accommodation , we used it as bass camp to explore the area, 2 min walk into town .

lovely pub and really friendly

no mattress protector on bed and think mattress needs changing . but still didn't spoil our stay. would recommend hope to stay again soon

  • Barry E

  • May 2016

As good as ever

This is a pub with detached rooms.

It has a huge variety of real ales and is a good old boozer. This won't please everyone but the rooms are situated around the car park with great views across wetlands. The garden itself is currently undergoing extensive works with a large deck leading down to a grassed lawn (by the summer apparently). There will be a band stand and outdoor activities. It sounds like I'm the landlord writing this but rest assured I'm not, I was given the information by the man who is building the garden, which turned out to be the landlord's father. The rooms are comfortable and have a desk(!) which is a must for anyone who uses a computer, or writes. There are ample sockets to charge gadgets and equipment and room 4 has a wet room. The pub doesn't do food in the evening but there are plenty of takeaways and restaurants in the town which is a 5ish minute walk (the bar staff, who are very pleasant will provide you with plates and cutlery). The Chinese takeaway, literally next door, is excellent but don't worry about cooking smells as there aren't any. We have stayed around 10 times now and nothing, except the garden, changes on each visit and we have always be satisfied. Excellent Guinness too!

  • F James

  • May 2016

Be sure to read all the reviews

I thought I was careful to read the reviews when I chose this accommodation, however, the reviews I read did not reflect this accommodation.

Otherwise I would have stayed elsewhere. I don't think it was value for money. On entering the room the carpet seemed dirty and would be because the accommodation is in the car park, and there is just one door between outside and the room which means all the dirt from outside is brought in the room with one small door mat. The bed springs were poking thru the mattress, and needs replacing. I was shocked when we turned the light out but an emergency light almost directly above my head (which lit up the entire room) remained on. Sorry, I somewhat doubt the good reviews!

  • R Ison

  • April 2016

One night stay to attend a Masonic Meeting

Excellent place to stay and a very good cafe less than 1 minute away for Breakfast.

Beer in pub £3.20 a pint. Excellent Apr 2016.

  • helen smith

  • April 2016

excellent stay

We stayed for 4 nights at the Bay Horse and had a fabulous time.

Nothing was too much trouble for the owners and the bar staff. Every night there was an excellent band playing some truly fab music. On Bank Holiday Monday there was also a free BBQ for everyone, and double bonus a free creme egg for pud - lush

Good value for money, very clean and comfortable. Only downside was the mattress in the superior room was a bit too soft and you could feel the springs

  • Sara B

  • February 2016

Fab location & value for money

Great location, walking distance from town centre and amenities.

Excellent value for money. Parking available. Lovely views across the fields. Room was clean and well equipped with ensuite.

  • Gemma C

  • January 2016

Spacious, great value and staff went above and beyond!

The staff went above and beyond to allow my late check in, and then to allow us to stay in the same room for a second night.

I was very impressed. The room was also great value, with plenty of space for a travel cot.

  • D Jones

  • January 2016

The Bay Horse

Need a place to stay in Sudbury.

This was the second time I have stayed at The Bay Horse. My previous stay was on New Year's Eve and everything was closed. This year I managed to book the room a night earlier when the local establishments were open. I decided to pay a higher price for a 'superior' room, but I am not sure that it was different from last time. The rooms are generously proportioned chalet-style rooms with a communal balcony which would be most pleasant in the Spring or Summer. When you check in you collect the key from the bar staff in the pub. It is a good idea to check in a bit earlier than you need to use the room in the winter because it is rather cold at first. However the convector heater in the room is very effective. Once warmed up the room is very comfortable. The bed is massive (two 3' singles side by side, which I think could be separated if desired). A good-sized en-suite toilet and shower room forms part of the accommodation. The only problem was the shower-head which couldn't be angled because the adjustable fittings had been taped into a fixed position instead of being repaired properly. However, the shower could still be hand-held in any position. At check-out time there were no other humans around so I just popped the key in a postbox provided. Breakfast wasn't offered and no food was served inside the pub during the time I stayed. The only reason I dropped this pub in the 'value for money' rating is because I spent the previous night in a pub/restaurant in nearby Cavendish for the same price, which included a really nice breakfast.