No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bay Horse

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
61 Melford Road, , , Sudbury, CO10 1JS
At the edge of the market town of Sudbury, this traditional family-run local pub offers en suite accommodation, a friendly atmosphere, free Wi-Fi and free parking. The Bay Horse is within walking distance of Sudbury’s town centre and is situated on the main Bury St Edmunds road, the A134. The Bay Horse is run by your hosts, Charlie and Micaela, who pride themselves on offering a relaxed, friendly atmosphere and comfortable en suite accommodation. The rooms are located to the rear of the pub, separate from the main building. Each room has a TV with Freeview digital channels, a hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Free Wi-Fi wireless internet access is available throughout. All rooms are on ground floor level. Whilst we are unable to offer breakfast there is a very nice cafe a minutes walk that serves from 7am monday to saturday and 9am on a sunday. At the front of the pub, there is a covered and heated patio area for the cooler nights. There is also a substantial garden at the back of the building for the warmer summer days. We are a 30 - 45 minute drive from Stansted airport, not to be confused with Stanstead village which is only 4 miles away. The pub hosts live music every Saturday night.
Picture of The Bay Horse, Sudbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 38 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 4
Excellent room but the smoke alarm bleeping was a bit of a nuisance.

Reviewed by
Peter Marshall

From Southminster, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room, shame about the service
The room I was in was excellant. When I asked if they did food I was told they do not do evening food, yet when I went out later they was a bbq.
The staff in the bar were not over helpful.

Reviewed by
M Hollis

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay and good price
Excellent value, staff are so dedicated and helpful. Great Breakfast. Overall excellent and would go back anytime.

Reviewed by
Donald B

From Vancouver, Canada
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Huge bed!
Lovely room, good price! Lovely big bed and very clean!!

Reviewed by
S Grundy

From Barnet, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really good value for money, had everything we needed

Reviewed by
louise m

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We spent a comfortable night

Reviewed by
Denise J

From Cheshunt, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great fun stay
Fantastic value, great pub with great beer and fab entertainment....exceptional value for money

Reviewed by
Derek L

From Tenbury Wells, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but good value
Cheapest accommodation we could find. Room was clean. Some noise from people walking overhead but not too bad. Jacqui's caf down the road does excellent breakfast.

Reviewed by
Don D

From THOMASTOWN, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room good, view great.
Could do with more selection with the supplied drinks i.e.. decaf tea & coffee and possibly chocolate.
choice of beers in the bar great.

Reviewed by
Donald S

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely comfortable bed. Room clean and pleasant. Very good value.

Reviewed by
John B

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next