Amberton

4

Amberton, Mill Lane, Hawkcombe, Porlock, TA24 8QW

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Excellent

All reviews (8)

100% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Andrew B

  • April 2015

Fantastic Stay - recommend

Great room, private, clean and spacious.

The short walk to the village is nice and there are plenty of options for walking all from your doorstep. Nice couple of pubs in the village. The fresh loaves baked daily were fantastic. Would definitely recommend for a relaxing break without disturbances. Wendy was really friendly and had plenty of local knowledge.

  • Lesley M

  • October 2014

Pure excellence

I stayed in lots of places both in the UK and around the world, but Amberton is in a class of its own, a cross between b & b and self catering, with all the best qualities of both, if only all rooms were so well appointed.

Wendy and Mike are friendly, the area is lovely, the rooms are fantastic, go and try it, you won't be disapointed

  • Barry J

  • June 2014

Room with a view

Two room B&B at the end of a steep drive - access interesting, exit challenging with a long reverse down the steep ramp.

That's the downside. Once up there, there is a great view across the bay (to Wales if it's clear) from each room's patio. Continental breakfast is provided to the rooms - great fresh bread. !

  • Barrie P

  • May 2014

Excellent in every way !!

My wife & I were delighted with our wonderful stay at Amberton .

The room was superb & very well equipped . The breakfast was excellent & sitting out on the veranda every morning & night was absolutely delightful . Nothing was too much trouble for our lovely hostess Wendy . This is a real gem & my wife & I agreed one of the best places we have ever stayed !!. We will definitely be back !. Thanks Wendy for a quite wonderful stay .

  • Rebecca B

  • November 2013

Lovely, Homely, friendly retreat in beautiful Porlock.

We stayed for 2 nights for a weekend break, we were made to feel exceptionally welcome and at home.

Wendy, the hostess was extremely friendly and accommodating and as a guest were left wanting for nothing. The breakfast and snacks were delivered to our door at the time we ordered, augmented by the other sundries in the fridge and cupboards in the communal hall area. The walks around the local area are stunning and it was lovely to be welcomed back by the dogs as they were being taken for their walk. This place is a real gem - highly recommended!

  • Anne Whatton

  • September 2013

Excellent Bed & Breakfast

We consider ourselves so lucky to have found Amberton.

We enjoyed 5 nights here and couldn't fault it. The room was beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. The idea of a mix between bed and breakfast and self catering facilities is very unusual but it suited us very well. The breakfast menu is varied and all the food quality of a very high standard. The home baked bread was wonderful. We hope to return one day.

  • Martin C

  • August 2013

Wonderful location, great idea!

Was searching for a good two night B&B near Minhead whilst visting family on holiday down at Dunster beach and came across this property.

Wendy's idea to create a B&B they would like to stay in certainly ticked all the boxes. No awkward breakfast moments, no need to get dressed and ready for a set time, simply pre-order your continental choices the night before and enjoy.

Directions were spot on, although the sat nav found it anyway, views from the terraces were great, peacful setting and our host was only seen on arrival and departure, which is just what we wanted although I'm sure Wendy would have chatted if we wanted. The property was near perfect (well it is really as per my scoring), the only additional comments I would make are, 1. Personally prefer a bowl in the sink, 2. You could fit a king size bed in the room, better for us more ample travellers, 3. Personally prefer a hard mattress. These are not criticisms merely suggestions. Will definitely stay again and would suit a couple for a week as the ability to also prepare food etc means you can cut down on eating out costs if you need to. Well done.

  • Kate L

  • May 2013

Great overnight stay

Great location, just a 5 min walk into the town.

Lovely views from the room and balcony is great for eating and drinking outside. Miles of beautiful walks that can start from Amberton into the surrounding countryside. Would definitely stay again if in the area.