No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Colton House

5AA Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Bellamour Way, Colton, , Rugeley, WS15 3LL
Colton House is a special place to stay providing a luxury personal service to all its guests in individually designed bedrooms, some with original beamed ceilings, ornate plasterwork ceilings or cast iron fireplaces. Beds are extremely comfortable and up to 6’0’’ wide. Rooms have LCD or Plasma TVs with some as big as 60” one room has its own Wii. Freeview is standard and free Wi Fi is available anywhere in the house and parts of the 1.5 acre garden. There is comfortable seating in each bedroom, a hospitality tray and a choice of duvet or blankets/ sheets. Each room has a mini bar with beer, wine, soft drinks, water and chocolates. Attention to detail as well as the quiet village setting ensures you have a good night’s sleep. Bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms with shower and bath, many with multi jet body power showers, others include one with a double ended cast iron roll top bath or another with a 5’ dia. round Jacuzzi, all have luxury toiletries and plush dressing gowns. A well-stocked oak paneled bar is open 24/7, a comfortable lounge and a dining room with seating for 24. Breakfast wins awards every year with a very wide choice. Situated in a quiet village, close to The National Memorial Arboretum, Shugborough, Alton Towers, Drayton Manor, the potteries, Cannock Chase, Lichfield etc. Available for conferences, team building, or corporate events, it is ideal for groups up to 30 but can accommodate 80. Companies use the secluded nature of the place to have confidential meetings / interviews or just to walk about and develop ideas with staff or others they wish to work with. For these events you can choose just a coffee or a buffet, full sit down meal or for something different, perhaps a hog roast. You just have to decide and Ron & Gay will help make the event all you want it to be. With all this space and the ability to take over a whole house, ideal events are small wedding receptions, birthday parties and christenings.
Picture of Colton House, Rugeley at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Class Act
The owners have taken a great deal of care to match the quality of accommodation found in the best 4* Hotels but combine it with friendly but unobtrusive personal service. The room was spotless and well laid out with quality furnishings and thoughtful touches ( e.g:plenty of accessible power points, well provisioned tea & coffee tray ) but without the "ornamental" clutter sometimes associated with B&B establishments

Reviewed by
Tim Jones

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Little Gem Uncovered!
We stayed at Colton House on Saturday 26th July while attending a friends wedding at nearby Hawkesmead Estate. We arrived at 6pm hot and bothered after the afternoon reception to a warm greeting from Ron. We were given 'Steven's Room' on the top floor and when we entered rather than being baking,as we were concerned it could have been, it was wonderfully cool and airy thanks to the numerous velux windows. The bathroom was large and vintage apart from a huge shower cubicle with various body jets which was great and we immediately made full use of.
We returned to the wedding reception in the evening so didn't have chance to take advantage of the surprisingly extensive menu and wine list available-although from the smell wafting up the stairs we wished we had!
Breakfast the next morning was very good and plentiful served by warm and friendly local ladies presumably drafted in to help with the clean up after the guests have left!
All in all it was a very pleasant stay at Colton House and we would definitely use them again if visiting our friends in the area. Thank you Ron and Gay!

Reviewed by
A Williams

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly Recommend
A fantastic place to stay. Plenty of character and everything was just right. Should we need to stay up in that area again there is no doubt we will try to book here first.

Reviewed by
Barrie F

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent surprise - quite a find!
Thoroughly enjoyed a nights stay at this hotel. Had a fabulous dinner, bed and breakfast in unique surroundings. The food was superb! Very large attractive garden, ideal for a stroll on a summers evening... Very attentive host. Thank you!

Reviewed by
Gavin R

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simply Superb
Felt privileged to stay at Carlton House.
The owners obviously love this place and it shows in the quality of the rooms and the outstading service. They deserve all the awards and acclaim they have attracted.
Will return if we can, lust loved it.
Arthur and Jennie Drew

Reviewed by
Arthur Drew

From Broad Oak Rye, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a wonderful stay. Relaxing, Lawance good not be more helpful. Able to book a late supper, also able to arrange a late breakfast so could have a late sleep in.
Would stay again so very relaxing.

Reviewed by
Keith Franks

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great welcome & great personalised service & all in a beautiful house with bag fulls of history. A great find & a hotel that is just that bit different from the rest. Would highly recommend!

Reviewed by
Steph J

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The customer service at Colton House was wonderful. Very interesting owner .

Reviewed by
Helen G

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly Recommended for Business or Pleasure - A B&B more like a 5* Hotel
We are delighted to have discovered Colton House, for us it ticks all the boxes. We like high quality and attention to detail. The owners have beautifully restored this period property and we were really impressed with the cleanliness, it was spotless! It felt very private, it felt very relaxed and made a business trip feel more like a weekend break!
We stayed in the four poster room, and can honestly say had the best nights sleep for a long time, the bed was so comfortable!
We received a very personal service, it goes way beyond what you would expect for a B&B; fluffy white bath robes and slippers, beautiful furnishings, personalised welcome pack and mini bar. The owners are really lovely interesting people and we thoroughly enjoyed getting to know them and the history of the place.
We dined there in the evening and the food was fair in a homecooked way, this would be the only area to improve on in our opinion, however this said, we enjoyed it and just felt incredibly relaxed, and the breakfast was fantastic and stood up to its award winning reputation.
We would and will recommend Colton House to friends and colleagues and will certainly stay there again when back in the Lichfield area.

Reviewed by
Simon Harrison

From Farnham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful accommodation in a lovely village
Very warm welcome and a great room. The breakfast was first class; the room was spotless; the house was beautiful. Would certainly go back and highly recommend Colton House! We had a good evening meal at Ye Olde Dun Cow (a 15 minute walk away).

Reviewed by
Tim Hopkins

From Margate, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next