No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Mount Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1 3, Cliff Bridge Terrace , Scarborough, YO11 2HA
Situated in a commanding position overlooking the magnificent sweep of Scarboroughs South Bay. The Mount Hotel established over half a century ago has gained an outstanding reputation for providing high quality accommodation and superior service.

The hotel has 48 bedrooms with 28 of these offering superb views over the South Bay. A quality restaurant where breakfast is served with dinner available if required, also a fully stocked bar and comfortable lounges.

The hotel offers a quiet location whilst only been minutes walk from the town center and the seafront.
Picture of The Mount Hotel, Scarborough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet and traditional
Pleased to be able to park right outside the front door for 24 hours and only £3.
Lift old and creaky, with scratched panels.
Hotel very quiet, lovely dining room and lounges.
Paid a lot for executive room overlooking sea, but could just about see the sea through the window.
Lots of tea and coffee, only one teaspoon though.
Bed very bouncy, with feather pillows. All very clean.
Bathroom clean, although air con very noisy.
However, enjoyed our stay as the last time we stayed in Scarborough in a nearby hotel, we were above a noisy ballroom and karaoke, and noisy drunken late nights returnees next door to us.
So we were very pleased to find a hotel where we could sleep and park near by.

Reviewed by
Eve B

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Hotel on the Cliffe
Upon arriving at Scarborough, found the postcode on the sat.nav and arrived at the roundabout directly underneath the hotel. After 1.5 hours going around and around Scarborough finally found it. The hotel was lovely, very clean and I would recommend staying there longer. Need to explain to customers when booking how to find the hotel

Reviewed by
Anita M

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very friendly staff
upon arrival we was greeted by very friendly staff who showed us our room.
rooms are clean spacious bed very comfy ,slightly dated but for price of room excellent value.
didn't have evenng meal,but heard people say how great it was.we had breakfast and it was brilliant great choice ,very nice friendly waitress,nothing to much trouble
very nice hotel

Reviewed by
F Jennings

From Grimsby, England
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hospitality that all hotels used to provide
The warm welcome we received was mirrored throughout our stay from every member of staff who could not do too much for you. There us a very high standard of cleanliness, no dust in any corners or under chairs here. Look at the dining table and you find 'polished' silverware, not just put into the dishwasher, every piece is immaculate. Breakfast is good hearty fare which sets you up for the rest of the day. Dinner if some dishes are unusual are all flavoursome, ' silver service' and served on hot plates - a pleasant surprise nowadays.
The external paintwork lets the hotel down slightly but the internal decor is again all immaculately clean and looks fresh if a little 'standard ' hotel but do not let that put you off, great value for money and we will definitely be back. Don' forget to get your parking permit at Reception!

Reviewed by
Barbara C

From Ripon, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
Lovely room overlooking the sea which was clean and very spacious. Food was very good and the staff were helpful and extremely friendly. Hotel is in a great location with everything pretty much on your doorstep. Would definitely stay here again

Reviewed by
Claire S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent staff and food. Room was not very clean ie stains on surfaces, toothpaste left in wash basin, also bed has seen better days.

Reviewed by
R Butterworth

From Hebden Bridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent

Reviewed by
Norma B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

scarborough armed forces day 2013
I stay overnight in a twin room with my dad and having stayed in 2 other nearby hotels before I have to say this was the best by far. Friendly, clean and with good facilities and a fab view. Will stop again and recommend to all I know. Thanks

Reviewed by
danny lydiate

From Selby, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Traditional Seaside Hotel
Very dated decor which did add character to this grand old building. Excellent location with wonderful views of Scarborough. Service at breakfast was great and the food was good. However, noise from the lift was bad and Wi-fi didn't work in my top floor room. The bed was comfortable but the pillows are too small and too soft which was a shame.

Reviewed by
Paul F

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

sea view
tv in room flat screen but unable to change channels. could only get bbc 1.
nowhere in bathroom to put washing materials
very comfortable beds

Reviewed by
w b

From , England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.