You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Ritz Hotel

3

14-16 Grosvenor Street, Haymarket,, Edinburgh, EH12 5EG

Price From 119.71 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (24)

63% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Duncan F

  • August 2016

Shabby, no longer chic

Maybe was once a "boutique hotel", more like a shabby guest house now.

I didn't get the room I had booked. Instead of a "luxury 4poster bed" I had 2 singles joined together whose mattresses had lost all semblance of life many years ago. Carpeting was awful, worn and marked. I was really disappointed. Breakfast is a very basic cold selection.

  • Aileen I

  • August 2016

Terrible

Booked for one night, expected room to be basic as room was a decent price given the Fringe was on but the place was awful.

There is an odour when you walk in the front door, paintwork is shoddy with nothing matching, furniture is very dated. Rooms are over three floors and the higher you go the worse it gets with wallpaper peeling off. We complained about the first room we were given due to the state of the bath and were given another room. This room had a clean bathroom but there was stains on the carpets, dust on the furniture and the beds were useless both single beds had damaged bases I think due to their age. on reporting this in the morning the lovely young man said sorry about this and that was it. I would never return here and would not recommend it.

  • Yvonne L

  • August 2016

Good location

This was the cheapest hotel we could find during festival time, all others were twice as much.

Not the hotel for a romantic weekend, but fine for myself and a friend who just needed a base with easy access to the centre. The hotel is very dated which we expected according to previous reviews. What was difficult to manage was the shower/bath- very temperamental either too hot/cold shower running when wanted the bath. We never mastered it. Beds very old and mattresses moved off the base, so if you are a restless sleeper expect to wake up on the floor. Having said all that the location was excellent very close to trams and rail station (5 min walk) and the young staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Piers Q

  • June 2016

Very good value

A very friendly welcome at this hotel, with all staff very willing to help.

The property itself is not in the first flush of youth, but has a definite period charm. The kettle in my room wasn't working, but was willingly swapped for one that did. For a hotel this close to the centre of Edinburgh, I consider this one very good value - btw, the price includes a continental breakfast, although this isn't mentioned on the LateRooms site (technical difficulties, apparently).

  • PEGGY F

  • June 2016

Ritz Hotel

This hotel is functional but in need of updating.

We would have preferred the option of an English breakfast. Very convenient for Haymarket Station.

  • melanie s

  • June 2016

Good location, quiet and friendly hotel

Lovely room and friendly, helpful staff.

Had a pleasant stay for 2 nights.in large double room and four poster bed. Hot shower was good and toiletries provided. A nice quiet base for a trip to Edinburgh. Near the station but no train noise. Comfortable bed and no noise at night. Breakfast on my own at 0700 - perfect!

  • Stephen B

  • April 2016

It's a cracker.

My favourite bar and hotel in Edinburgh.

I hope it never changes.

  • David G

  • April 2016

Rtiz Hotel Review

The hotel was in an excellent location for a base for a night out in Edinburgh and good value for money.

The decor was tired and out dated but as we were only looking for a place to sleep this was outweighed by the location.

  • c rodger

  • February 2016

Perfect location for Murrayfield.

We booked into The Ritz as it was within an easy walk to Murrayfield for a Six Nations rugby match, and was reasonably priced compared to other available hotels.

It served the purpose. Having read other reviews, we weren't surprised at the obvious need for an update throughout this hotel. Bedroom décor/colour scheme was very random, and it would have been good to have reliable hot water in the bathroom. The bedroom kettle took a long time to boil, but was useful for topping up the bath!

  • Connie B

  • January 2016

Good location but needs upgrading

The room we were allocated was a good size.

The quality of the room was very outdated, pink tassel lampshades and poor quality bed linen. The duvet and sheets were very cheap feeling and thin. We stayed in a twin room and the single bed had no valance to hide the bed base. No lock on the bathroom door and the shower had no hot water.

The tv was the only modern thing in the room but we didn't watch it. If you're looking for a cheap hotel in a central location then it's perfect. The bar area was lovely and the barman very kindly called us a taxi.

If the hotel was to upgrade and be modernised I'd stay again, even if the price was to increase.