No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ritz Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
14-16 Grosvenor Street, Haymarket, , Edinburgh, EH12 5EG
The Edinburgh Ritz Hotel was originally built as a town house in the 1860s right on the edge of Edinburgh's historic New Town in the heart of the city. After a spell housing the Scottish Coal Board the building was converted into a boutique Hotel by Mrs Elizabeth Paterson. She worked extremely hard for almost 50 years seeing the Hotel through the good times and the bad. With an eclectic taste and an eye for detail she decorated every area in its own unique style, much of which can still be seen today. The Ritz was one of the first hotels in the city to offer all guests an en suite facility. Every effort has been made to retain the original features, including the beautiful cornices, rose crowns and staircases, whilst simultaneously providing guests with all necessary mod-cons. Handed down through the family the Ritz is undergoing a new lease of life through the eyes of Betty's Grand-daughter Holly and her husband Chris. The emphasis is very much on keeping an individual and unique touch and real focus on good old fashioned hospitality, as has always been the way. "Betty's" bar is the perfect place for a relaxing drink after a long journey or a hard day's work (be it sight seeing or business meetings). We look forward to welcoming you through the door soon... Holly & Chris
Picture of Ritz Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

basic
Very basic room. For £150 for three nights only no breakfast included we thought it was expensive

Reviewed by
a lanteri-motin

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Long weekend at the Ritz
We enjoyed our long weekend at the Ritz. The rooms were great for the price, and the staff were friendly and helpful. After reading the other reviews we weren't sure whether to stay here, but it is a quirky hotel with charm and if that's your thing then try it out :)
We had a problem with our room and it was fixed quickly after a quick chat with the manager.

Reviewed by
Isabel W

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay.
Thoroughly enjoyed my one night stay in double room on 2nd floor. Hotel and room very clean and quiet. Bed very comfortable. Room warm. Room looking onto back gardens and tenements in distance. Man on reception pleasant. Only minor faults 1. Bathroom door doesn't lock. 2. Had to put kettle on floor to plug it in. Neither of these bothered me but mention for completeness. I'd certainly use hotel again.

Reviewed by
RONALD M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was not easy to find especially because it was getting dark when we arrived. Our room was in the uppest floor but there was no elevator so do not bring too heavy luggage. The room looked nice but the bathroom could have been cleaner.

Reviewed by
Janine I

From Germany
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quirky, character hotel.
room was large and toilet was clean and fresh. Hotel is old but full of character. Perfect place to stay if attending events at Murrayfield. 10 min walk. hotel is 50 meters away from Train station. Staff were friendly and helpful. only down side was, they ran out of lager, maybe for the best lol.

Reviewed by
Peter C

From Lochgelly, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not for the feint hearted
Very disappointed to have booked a "Superior" twin room and found it very lacking. Bath had mould round the seal and plastic seal was not attached to shower screen. There was peeling wallpaper on the bedroom ceiling and the net curtain was grey, it used to be white! No mattress protectors or pillow protectors and the fabric headboards were dirty.
Very dated and poorly maintained, would not stay again

Reviewed by
H Macleod

From Isle of Skye, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice but dated
The hotel was very nice with very friendly staff. The room was relatively clean (few grubby marks in the bath which we cleaned up, water stain on ceiling in bathroom). It was a bit chilly in the room but it did warm up quite fast once the heating was turned on. The bed was super comfy and I had 2 excellent nights sleep. The location is useful as well. Overall, the hotel is a bit dated but nice enough and I would stay again if I ever go to edinburgh again.

Reviewed by
Vicky H

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

new year celebrations
hotel perfectly located for haymarket station and within easy reach of all attractions clean and tidy
hotel but would not recomend for any one with walking dificulties as there is no lift staff very helpful
good size room everything we expected for the price paid
would definitely book this hotel again

Reviewed by
p mcghee

From Skelmersdale, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab Little Place for Edinburgh Stay
I have seen some unkind reviews about this place, but I have nothing but praise for it.
Let's get to the nitty gritty, Ritz Hotel does not profess to be the Waldorf Astoria, and so people shouldn't expect that.
It is located on a handsome street of 4 Storey townhouses, a 15 minute walk from the centre of the city - it is a very pleasant and easy, flat walk straight onto Princes Street.
The reception was stunning and our accommodation was located on the second floor at the back of the premises.
Yes, the décor in the room was a little outdated, but in a charming manner, with lovely high ceilings and a bathroom suite to match.
The room was quiet and clean with tea and coffee facilities, fluffy clean towels, lovely white bed linen, tv and plenty of storage space.
The bathroom had the most amazing shower, I could've happily stood under it for hours after braving the cold and wet on Hallowe'en.
The staff were super friendly, greeting us every morning and evening and asking about our day. Nothing was too much trouble for them even at gone midnight when we asked them for milk so we could make a cup of tea to warm up.
Like I say, this isn't the Waldorf Astoria, or the Four Seasons, but it's a lovely friendly little place, that's clean and perfect for getting your head down after a full day of sight-seeing. At £50 per night, I was more than pleasantly surprised and I will be back for a break next year!

Reviewed by
K Evans

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Different - but good
The hotel rooms looked good in the pictures and our room didn't disappoint. Quiet, well appointed and quirky we both loved the atmosphere and charm of the room. The hotel was quiet and for the most part clean and tidy although our room furniture was dusty in places.Thebathroom was a bit tired but everything worked and the shower was excellent - plenty of power even from themains supply. Highly recommended for somehwere a little bit different - but nice with it.

Reviewed by
Leslie R

From Rainham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next