No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ritz Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
14-16 Grosvenor Street, Haymarket, , Edinburgh, EH12 5EG
The Edinburgh Ritz Hotel was originally built as a town house in the 1860s right on the edge of Edinburgh's historic New Town in the heart of the city. After a spell housing the Scottish Coal Board the building was converted into a boutique Hotel by Mrs Elizabeth Paterson. She worked extremely hard for almost 50 years seeing the Hotel through the good times and the bad. With an eclectic taste and an eye for detail she decorated every area in its own unique style, much of which can still be seen today. The Ritz was one of the first hotels in the city to offer all guests an en suite facility. Every effort has been made to retain the original features, including the beautiful cornices, rose crowns and staircases, whilst simultaneously providing guests with all necessary mod-cons. Handed down through the family the Ritz is undergoing a new lease of life through the eyes of Betty's Grand-daughter Holly and her husband Chris. The emphasis is very much on keeping an individual and unique touch and real focus on good old fashioned hospitality, as has always been the way. "Betty's" bar is the perfect place for a relaxing drink after a long journey or a hard day's work (be it sight seeing or business meetings). We look forward to welcoming you through the door soon... Holly & Chris
Picture of Ritz Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will polarise opinion I'm sure
Greeted in a friendly manner by reception staff. Card machine broken so had to make cash payment, but no pressure at all to settle bill. Admittedly the hotel is rather under maintained and threadbare but this added to the quirky experience of the place, even the peeling wallpaper and plaster in the bedroom. Huge en suite room, 4 poster bed, very quiet, clean and comfortable despite aesthetic shortcomings. I am a terrible sleeper yet slept soundly for seven hours, a major achievement. If you like things a wee bit different and can put up with a bit of wear and tear this is certainly worth the 45 pounds for the superior double room.

Reviewed by
Danny C

From Falkirk, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location very friendly staff, room was a very good standard although a little dated

Reviewed by
John B

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Below average
At the time of booking this hotel it was advertised that they offered a superior double room which included a four poster bed and a large room with ensuite. On arriving the person checking us in didnt know of such a room offering what was advertised. Instead I go a large room with a King sized bed made up of two beds pushed together. The hotel may have been good in the past but it was clear that owners had let it slip with furnishings showing signs of wear and tear. I also witnessed poor customer service to other guests signing in

Reviewed by
L Simpson

From Lochgilphead, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient and cosy but a little shabby
As above. Good value and friendly reception staff.

Reviewed by
David George

From Nairn, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Handy budget city stopover
I was in Edinburgh just for one night , arriving quite late by train. This was the cheapest hotel I could find within an easy walk of the centre. It was ideal - 2 minutes stroll from Haymarket station, 10 minutes to the city centre. The room was large, comfortable and very quiet, slightly dated and with no frills, but great value for money. No food is served in the hotel including breakfast, but there are several pubs and restaurants nearby. Wi-fi worked okay, but rather erratic upstairs. Good friendly service, reception is manned 24/7. I would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Andrew E

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

basic
Very basic room. For £150 for three nights only no breakfast included we thought it was expensive

Reviewed by
a lanteri-motin

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Long weekend at the Ritz
We enjoyed our long weekend at the Ritz. The rooms were great for the price, and the staff were friendly and helpful. After reading the other reviews we weren't sure whether to stay here, but it is a quirky hotel with charm and if that's your thing then try it out :)
We had a problem with our room and it was fixed quickly after a quick chat with the manager.

Reviewed by
Isabel W

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay.
Thoroughly enjoyed my one night stay in double room on 2nd floor. Hotel and room very clean and quiet. Bed very comfortable. Room warm. Room looking onto back gardens and tenements in distance. Man on reception pleasant. Only minor faults 1. Bathroom door doesn't lock. 2. Had to put kettle on floor to plug it in. Neither of these bothered me but mention for completeness. I'd certainly use hotel again.

Reviewed by
RONALD M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was not easy to find especially because it was getting dark when we arrived. Our room was in the uppest floor but there was no elevator so do not bring too heavy luggage. The room looked nice but the bathroom could have been cleaner.

Reviewed by
Janine I

From Germany
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quirky, character hotel.
room was large and toilet was clean and fresh. Hotel is old but full of character. Perfect place to stay if attending events at Murrayfield. 10 min walk. hotel is 50 meters away from Train station. Staff were friendly and helpful. only down side was, they ran out of lager, maybe for the best lol.

Reviewed by
Peter C

From Lochgelly, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next