You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Ritz Hotel

3

14-16 Grosvenor Street, Haymarket,, Edinburgh, EH12 5EG

Price From 111.77 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (19)

68% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Stephen B

  • April 2016

It's a cracker.

My favourite bar and hotel in Edinburgh.

I hope it never changes.

  • David G

  • April 2016

Rtiz Hotel Review

The hotel was in an excellent location for a base for a night out in Edinburgh and good value for money.

The decor was tired and out dated but as we were only looking for a place to sleep this was outweighed by the location.

  • c rodger

  • February 2016

Perfect location for Murrayfield.

We booked into The Ritz as it was within an easy walk to Murrayfield for a Six Nations rugby match, and was reasonably priced compared to other available hotels.

It served the purpose. Having read other reviews, we weren't surprised at the obvious need for an update throughout this hotel. Bedroom décor/colour scheme was very random, and it would have been good to have reliable hot water in the bathroom. The bedroom kettle took a long time to boil, but was useful for topping up the bath!

  • Connie B

  • January 2016

Good location but needs upgrading

The room we were allocated was a good size.

The quality of the room was very outdated, pink tassel lampshades and poor quality bed linen. The duvet and sheets were very cheap feeling and thin. We stayed in a twin room and the single bed had no valance to hide the bed base. No lock on the bathroom door and the shower had no hot water.

The tv was the only modern thing in the room but we didn't watch it. If you're looking for a cheap hotel in a central location then it's perfect. The bar area was lovely and the barman very kindly called us a taxi.

If the hotel was to upgrade and be modernised I'd stay again, even if the price was to increase.

  • M Kirsch

  • November 2015

Very friendly staff, clean room

Very Nice and cheap hôtel in the heart of Edinburgh.

The staff has been extremely friendly and helpful. The fourniture in the room was à little bit outdated, but overall very clean.

Would stay again there.

  • Susan A

  • October 2015

Great as a base

Staff were excellent.

We stayed in room 5 which was a big room which was great. Plenty of storage space and electrical sockets and mirrors (3 women getting ready). Towels and bedding were clean however the rest of the room was a little tired. Had to really bang wardrobe doors to close them, dust on the spindles of the chair, one of the curtains had come away from some of the hooks, however as the windows were so big it wouldn't be an easy job to put them back. Net curtains were very old and dirty looking and window did not open. Nice size bath and plenty of hot water. No hand soap, only conditioner and body lotion, however we had a decent size hand towel and bath towel each which do not always get in 4* hotels. Hotel is in a good location - 10 minute walk and in Prince's Street, also a nice quite location. Would definitely consider staying again if in area.

  • Rob D

  • August 2015

Ok for a night and no parking

I had booked into this hotel for a short break to Edinburgh.

Originally I had booked a room with a four poster bed that looked great on the pictures. Unfortunately my plans changed and I had to delay the trip by one day. I contacted the hotel and they assured me this would be fine and I left it at that, however, upon arrival my booking had been deleted and the only available room was substandard to what I was expecting. In addition the hotel had appeared when searching for those with parking but there was only limited pay and display parking on the street. Staff at the hotel gave directions to a new long stay carp park, which after considerable driving around trying to find it, it became clear it wasn't open much beyond 6pm and you couldn't park overnight. In terms of finding any parking the staff at the hotel were useless (although very friendly). Personally I won't be staying here again and wouldn't recommend it unless the rates are very cheap or you are only having a quick stop over.

  • f ross

  • July 2015

Ritz Hotel

Excellent location friendly atmosphere large airy cool high-ceilinged room very comfy bed very clean breakfast was minimal and crowded but wasn't important as there are so many cafes nearby was chosen for location and price and much exceeded expectation

  • Kevin W

  • February 2015

Poor

We arrived 1 hour after the earliest check in time and our room was not ready.

We were then informed that the house keeper had gone home for the evening and the young man behind the bar was alone. He set off to get our room ready and was a way for a while. Other guest that were already checked in were by this time looking for him to retrieve there room keys. He returned 45 minutes later and told where the room was. The following morning at checkout we were informed the card machine was not working . I had the cash on me so paid. I asked for a receipt and after a bit of running back and forward he gave me a receipt. He also refunded me the £5 difference between what he had charged me and what was on the receipt .

  • Danny C

  • January 2015

Will polarise opinion I'm sure

Greeted in a friendly manner by reception staff.

Card machine broken so had to make cash payment, but no pressure at all to settle bill. Admittedly the hotel is rather under maintained and threadbare but this added to the quirky experience of the place, even the peeling wallpaper and plaster in the bedroom. Huge en suite room, 4 poster bed, very quiet, clean and comfortable despite aesthetic shortcomings. I am a terrible sleeper yet slept soundly for seven hours, a major achievement. If you like things a wee bit different and can put up with a bit of wear and tear this is certainly worth the 45 pounds for the superior double room.