No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Marlborough House

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
2 Marlborough Gardens, Stanwix, , Carlisle, CA3 9NW
Marlborough House bed and breakfast offers you friendly and comfortable accommodation in Carlisle and within easy reach of numerous local tourist attractions. Gretna Green is only seven miles away, and you can easily reach the historic Hadrian’s Wall. The house is situated in Stanwix and is believed to be situated on top of an old Roman fort named Uxelodunum (Stanwix). Also visit to our great border city which in itself is steeped in ancient Roman and Border Reiver history. Take in a guided tour of the city's landmarks; visit our Cathedral, Castle and Tullie House museum. The University of Cumbria is only a 5 minute walk away on Brampton Road. Apart from this there is an abundance of shopping in Carlisle city centre which is a 10 minute walk from Marlborough House. All this and more awaits you in the great border city of Carlisle and the wild Scottish borders. **PLEASE NOTE: Children under 5 are free. However, Children who are between 5 and 14 are £17.50 each. Children over 14 are charged as adults**
Picture of Marlborough House, Carlisle at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely weekend away
Very knowledgeable about the area very friendly spotless comfy lovely breakfast

Reviewed by
Malcolm M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay in carlisle
great Victorian guest house. spacious, clean and airy. Roy our host was very helpful and informative. Lots of places to see and things to do brochures on hand. breakfast was hearty and of a very high standard. Roy so chilled it felt as though I had known him all my life.

Reviewed by
peter b

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B&B. Good service and lovely breakfast!

Reviewed by
Phil W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little guest house with superb customer service and even better breakfast
Could not have been happier with this little guesthouse. Was travelling on a business trip and arrived to warm welcome and owner could not have been more helpful.
Bed was comfy, room was quiet even though on major road, room was spotlessly clean, good shower and parking available right outside.
Breakfast included some of the best sausages I have ever tasted!
Highly recommended as base for exploring Carlisle (10 minutes walk) or as a business stop over.

Reviewed by
Jon B

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great breakfast
friendly host ,quality breakfast especially the cumberland sausage, would certainly stay again

Reviewed by
Alan Owen

From Ellesmere, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend away
We stayed at Marlborough House whilst going to a concert in Carlisle. Roy is a wonderful host, helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The house is a fantastic example of a well kept Victorian house, the rooms are clean, tidy and well laid out. Excellent find in Carlisle. But the treasure is the "cooked to order" breakfast. . We will certainly stay there again next concerts in the Sands centre. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Mike Thebe

From Cockermouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly hosts
We couldn't have wanted more from this accommodation. About a 15 min walk from the centre with Bitts park en route which has excellent play facilities for children of all ages. Accommodation was good value for the price of the room, breakfast was cooked to order so our little one could choose was and what wasn't on her plate. The host was ever so friendly and accommodating to any needs. Any advice as to directions, where to go, the history of Carlise, etc. were given when asked. Over the road is a pub which again was very accommodating when we wanted to adapt the menu slightly for our 4 yr old as they didn't have a children's menu.

Reviewed by
Steven G

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal For The Sands Centre
We were in Carlisle for a concert at The Sands Centre and this B and B was perfect as it was only 5 mins walk from the venue. Close to shops, a pub and takeaways and easy to find. Just off the main route though not disturbed by traffic noise and able to park directly outside. Rooms were clean, comfortable and warm and breakfast was delicious. Excellent value for money too.

Reviewed by
elizabeth w

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Marlborough House - Bed & Breakfast
It was lovely to stay at the Marlborough, we were up in Carlisle for my Sister's 25th Wedding Anniversary, although by chance she was stopping at the Hotel over the road, we all agreed the room at the Marlborough was quite spacious and pleasantly furnished. Roy the proprietor listened carefully to our breakfast requirements and was a delight to speak too. Carlisle is a lovely northern city, well worth a visit.

Reviewed by
Matthew B

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Only stayed for 2 nights had a big room and a great breakfast!!!!

Reviewed by
B Howard

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next