No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Grand Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
5 MORTON CRESCENT , EXMOUTH, EX8 1BE
Positioned on the seafront overlooking Golden Sand Beach, the Grand Hotel boasts idyllic views over the Exe Estuary and Lyme Bay. Exmouth itself, with it's old fashioned promenade and stunning Georgian architecture is an ideal resort from which to explore the rest of Devon, know as the gateway to the World Heritage Jurassic Coast stretching as far as Dorset and renowned for its red cliffs and sand dunes.

While staying at the Grand Hotel you are welcome to dine in our Restaurant choosing from our set-priced Table d'Hôte menu, enjoy the evening’s entertainment in our Drakes Entertainment Suite or simply relax in our comfortable lounges and Bar with views overlooking the bay.

Our car park has a limited number of spaces which are charged at a rate of £5 per vehicle, per day. Parking is subject to availability upon arrival and cannot be prebooked. Alternatively there is street parking nearby, charges apply.
Picture of The Grand Hotel, EXMOUTH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 69% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Grand Hotel
Nice weekend break.

Reviewed by
Yvonne M

From Paignton, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again
Stayed one night at the grand hotel. One night was one too many. Room was basic ,bathroom had mould on the ceiling,plastic cups were dirty, as was a shelf in the bathroom. A dirty tissue was found at the side of the bed and toenail clippings on the floor. When we went for breakfast in the morning the cleaner had made our bed even though we were checking out. I challenged the cleaner who replied she did not know we were leaving. Not convinced these bed sheet would be changed for the next guest. Cleaner had moved my handbag from the floor and closed the zip which infuriated me. How dare anyone touch a guests handbag!!! When I went to reception to complain no one was around. Overall the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

Reviewed by
Rhonda B

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Grand Hotel
Had a lovely stay here. We booked the day before to attend a family funeral. For the price we paid I would def recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
Nicola A

From Hayes, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A welcome respite after a long day on the road
Very helpful and friendly staff. I was grateful for their kind regards during my short stay.

Reviewed by
john b

From SPRUCE GROVE, ALBERTA, Canada
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfectly acceptable accommodation in a good location. Hotel is a little tired, and would benefit from a makeover. Car park is very tight. Reception staff efficient if not overly friendly, dining room staff eager to please.

Reviewed by
M Tweed

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Autumnal Weekend Break
This booking was made a few weeks prior to arrival & got a good value discount price. Very easy to book on line & requested an on site car parking place. Checked in & got car parking place at the sister hotel nearby.... no problem. An enjoyable, comfortable & pleasant 2 nights stay.

Reviewed by
Christopher L

From Worksop, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very basic room, dated decor, no view, no free parking. Very expensive for what it did offer

Reviewed by
Cristina F

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was upgraded to a seaview room and felt very happy about this. Although breakfast was busy the staff were friendly and efficient.

Reviewed by
Nicola H

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff blunt and unhelpful

Reviewed by
S Jackson

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated decoration especially in the dining room. Bed comfortable but the bathroom was tiny - my husband is a larger chap and struggled to sit comfortably on the toilet without knocking the loo roll holder off the wall! The shower was very poor also with little to no power and therefore it took a long time to shower and wasn't very enjoyable.

Reviewed by
L Puddicombe

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next