No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Grand Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
5 MORTON CRESCENT , EXMOUTH, EX8 1BE
Positioned on the seafront overlooking Golden Sand Beach, the Grand Hotel boasts idyllic views over the Exe Estuary and Lyme Bay. Exmouth itself, with it's old fashioned promenade and stunning Georgian architecture is an ideal resort from which to explore the rest of Devon, know as the gateway to the World Heritage Jurassic Coast stretching as far as Dorset and renowned for its red cliffs and sand dunes.

While staying at the Grand Hotel you are welcome to dine in our Restaurant choosing from our set-priced Table d'Hôte menu, enjoy the evening’s entertainment in our Drakes Entertainment Suite or simply relax in our comfortable lounges and Bar with views overlooking the bay.

Our car park has a limited number of spaces which are charged at a rate of £5 per vehicle, per day. Parking is subject to availability upon arrival and cannot be prebooked. Alternatively there is street parking nearby, charges apply.
Picture of The Grand Hotel, EXMOUTH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
65% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was upgraded to a seaview room and felt very happy about this. Although breakfast was busy the staff were friendly and efficient.

Reviewed by
Nicola H

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff blunt and unhelpful

Reviewed by
S Jackson

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated decoration especially in the dining room. Bed comfortable but the bathroom was tiny - my husband is a larger chap and struggled to sit comfortably on the toilet without knocking the loo roll holder off the wall! The shower was very poor also with little to no power and therefore it took a long time to shower and wasn't very enjoyable.

Reviewed by
L Puddicombe

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

i enjoyed my stay here at The Grand Hotel,beautiful views across the bay!room spotless & food great.

Reviewed by
sylvia quaglieri

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but in a good location
Basic hotel, no frills, clean enough, very poor shower facility, with no water pressure. I stayed in a room close to the lift, which was very noisy. A member of staff unlocked my door and walked into my room in the morning without knocking first, and did not apologise for her mistake. Cooked breakfast was cold.
Hotel however is in a good location on the sea front. Has lots of potential but needs to pay attention to detail and needs some upgrading.

Reviewed by
Eileen S

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
We had a very pleasant stay at the Grand, the staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was good value for money, parts of the room were a little tired and could do with a lick of paint, and the bathroom was very small,but other than that the bed was comfortable and everything was clean. If you want a resonably priced break I would recommend the hotel.

Reviewed by
Wendy M

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A last minute booking for a weekend break. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The accommodation was very good value for money.

Reviewed by
David H

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly atmosphere and great value for money. We will definately be back.

Reviewed by
Simon A

From Trowbridge, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Very clean , comfortable , good breakfast

Reviewed by
Sara J

From Calne , UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

super short break
We had to spend the day in Exmouth so thought we would finish off in an hotel if we could find a reasonable one, we have stayed in the grand before booking through Shearings but they didn't offer one night only on their websight. So pleased we found yours it fitted all our requirements and we had a super time, food and entertainment were excellent. We have always found the shearings staff efficient and friendly

Reviewed by
john gray

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next