No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Grand Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
5 MORTON CRESCENT , EXMOUTH, EX8 1BE
Positioned on the seafront overlooking Golden Sand Beach, the Grand Hotel boasts idyllic views over the Exe Estuary and Lyme Bay. Exmouth itself, with it's old fashioned promenade and stunning Georgian architecture is an ideal resort from which to explore the rest of Devon, know as the gateway to the World Heritage Jurassic Coast stretching as far as Dorset and renowned for its red cliffs and sand dunes.

While staying at the Grand Hotel you are welcome to dine in our Restaurant choosing from our set-priced Table d'Hôte menu, enjoy the evening’s entertainment in our Drakes Entertainment Suite or simply relax in our comfortable lounges and Bar with views overlooking the bay.

Our car park has a limited number of spaces which are charged at a rate of £5 per vehicle, per day. Parking is subject to availability upon arrival and cannot be prebooked. Alternatively there is street parking nearby, charges apply.
Picture of The Grand Hotel, EXMOUTH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The ensuite room was very small as was the actual ensuite element. The ceiling in the ensuite was badly marked with what I assumed was mildew and the fan was very very noisy. The toilet mechanism was faulty and once used would not stop for a long long time! The noise of the pigeons cooing all night long was infurating and begs the question why not fit anti pigeon wires?
The staff were very enthusiastic and the entertainment was acceptable. The location is excellent however the lack of parking for such a large hotel is unacceptable apart from public parking which requires constant checking of meters to ensure no parking tickets.

Reviewed by
Thomas T

From Falkirk, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1
1

Reviewed by
a brennan

From Newton le Willows, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

well maintained front of house
pity about the room,
extremely tired, needs a refurb before re-letting. otherwise the hotel has good staff, excellent restaurant service, good entertainment too.

Reviewed by
David W

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Personal opinion
I understand that the room we were given would normally warrant £90. We paid £55. The room was at the back of the hotel, with one window that we could not see out of and opened only 6". There was a wide metal stack outside - obviously connected to the kitchen around which many pigeons were roosting. There were chics in the bottom nest and the birds kept us awake from approx 0400hrs! The skirting and flooring next to the skirting had not been cleaned. Also the carpet between the bed and the bedside tables had not been cleaned. One of the bedside tables had biscuit crumbs on it! We consider blankets to be 20th not 21st centuary and although the sheets were clean, the bedcover was not! Breakfast finished by 0930hrs and for a Sunday we consider this poor as is the leaving time on a Sunday - 1000hrs. We had scrambled eggs and bacon....is it possible that the eggs were powdered not real?! All in all reasonable value for a reasonable nights b&b but definitely not more.

Reviewed by
JACQUIE WIFFEN

From DEVIZES, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A tired hotel
Great location but in need of a serious refurb

Reviewed by
P Walshe

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money

Reviewed by
Natalie W

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel good service good food,room a bit tired,entertainment o.k. all in all good value for money

Reviewed by
peter stevens

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff
Exelent staff both at the reception desk and at the breakfast!!!

Reviewed by
V Varga

From Henley on Thames, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No heating
No heating was freezing stayed at another hotel in end

Reviewed by
C Coe

From Aldershot, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room with sea-view. Could see the sea from the bed! Great location.
Wont stay there again because breakfast was too early for us, between 8-9am and we had to check out by 10am, which is too early in my opinion.

Reviewed by
lesley s

From Benfleet, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next