No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Woodlands Hall Hotel

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
The Woodlands Hall Hotel, Edern, , Pwllheli, LL53 6JB
Woodlands Hall Hotel is a charming country house hotel located in a secluded position in Edern, on the beautiful Lleyn Peninsula in North Wales. The hotel is set in a marvellous position, standing in seven acres of its own tree-scattered grounds, away from all the hustle and bustle of a busy lifestyle. It is perfectly situated for walking holidays and visiting the many attractions of North Wales. These include the Italiante village at Portmeirion, Ffestiniog Railway, slate mines, castles and, of course, the Snowdon range which is beautiful all year round. The local beaches are excellent, offering safe swimming. The hotel is also an excellent location for golfing breaks - Nefyn Golf Club is a mile away and there are numerous other golf courses nearby. The hotel offers 13 well presented rooms as well as two fine bars providing bar meals and a restaurant with a table d’Hote menu. A well stocked wine cellar complements the facilities. The fabulous new children’s play area is housed in a large dedicated room, the play equipment is designed to provide a safe, fun environment for children of all ages. Woodlands Hall Hotel ensures a relaxing stay and excellent service.
Picture of Woodlands Hall Hotel, Pwllheli at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
53% recommended this accommodation to a friend 57% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice location, great breakfast

Reviewed by
Mark P

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Issue with the self certificated 4 star rating
Our main issue is the Hotels self certification that it is a 4 star Hotel , with respect it's a 2 star at best, the Hotel is dated and requires a full refurbishment , it's especially noticeable with the electric light switches in the communal areas , the carpet and the whole decorative feel of the Hotel .
Our bedroom had a wheel barrow / builders rubble on the flat room that adjuted the one bedroom window there was no one working on the roof .
To be fair we didn't eat at the Hotel but the menu looked extensive , the lady at reception was friendly ,if the Hotel reduced its star rating to 2 it would be a better reflection of the quality , I notice other reviewers have stated the same , unfortuantly I discounted their opinions and booked 2 nights and I was very disappointed.

Reviewed by
r mealey

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall a pleasant stay
Staff very friendly and very welcoming, owner came and spoke to us which was a nice touch
Food was delicious
Room itself was pleasant, beds were comfortable and loved the power shower
Lovely setting and authentic
Only negative is I think it is a little overpriced but nevertheless I would stay again

Reviewed by
C Brook

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Abersoch break
Very warm & friendly welcome.
Comfortable rooms but needs larger towels.

Reviewed by
Brian V

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Do not book this hotel
This is not a Hotel. It is a B&B. Where the four stars comes from I do not know. The room was filthy, and needed updating. A room stuck in 1970

Reviewed by
K Jones

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money, Hotel could do with modernising, Indoor and outdoor play area fab for kids.
We stayed here on Bank holiday weekend. Very much enjoyed our stay here. as we have a 17 month old son the indoor play area was a god send whilst eating tea - which was very nice, filling and good value for money. Hotel rooms very dated could do with modernising (New tv's, decore etc) Full english breakfast was just what we needed! Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
D edwards

From Congleton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very relaxing, no pressure at all.
Lovely area, very peaceful. Scenery wonderful. Only drawback is, having to pay £4.00, just to pull on to national trust property. With the price of fuel on top, it can make for a very expensive holiday. Or you see nothing of the area. Either a transferable day ticket, or by the hour, would be much more acceptable.

Reviewed by
Peter Thomson

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very dissapointing
The location is OK but the room was very poor ,the bathroom was so small I had to walk backwards to the toilet as not enough room to turn round and of medium build, the toilet roll was behind my head and could not be reached once seated! the sliding door made a horrendous screeching noise. I did not have evening meal as appeared over priced for pub fayre. Breakfast was poor no cereals laid out orange juice was a small glass and cooked breakfast meager. would not stay again and certainly not worth the £75 for the twin room. Avoid room 3

Reviewed by
Kenneth H

From Hinckley, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent food, indifferent accomodation
Good location, wonderful food, both for the inclusive breakfast and the optional evening meals. The room was not good ... mould around the bath, cobwebs above the loo, no soap, just an antibacterial handwash. Asked about this, "our policy is not to give bath soap, just the handwash". This is a country hotel, not a salvation army hostel!!! I have stayed in basic B & Bs for less money with better provision. No tray for the tea/cofee, very noisy dust encrusted extractor fan, unpainted sliding loo door pelmet, 4 poster bed with its top a foot below the ceiling, so ruining the effect. The owners were friendly, but the accomodation could badly do with modernising. The evening meals are excellent ... try the Mackerel and Rocket salad, and the apple toffee crumble.

Reviewed by
H Mckee

From Marple, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good family hotel
Excellent all round

Reviewed by
j r LLOYD

From Thetford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next