No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Greswolde Park Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
980 Warwick Road, Acocks Green, , Birmingham, B27 6QG
The Greswolde Park Hotel in Acocks Green is conveniently located just three miles from the Birmingham and Solihull town centres. It is convenient for the NEC, Birmingham Hippodrome Theatre, Symphony Hall as well as the Touchwood & Bullring shopping centres. The popular Indian restaurant ‘Little Havana’ is located within the hotel and boasts a Punjabi style cuisine, accompanied by chefs who have worked in 5* hotel/restaurants in Dubai and New Delhi. The restaurant is open 6pm-12am Monday - Thursday and Sunday, Friday & Saturday 6pm-1am and is fully licensed. All hotel rooms are fully en suite and are well equipped with televisions, telephones and tea and coffee making facilities. An iron and ironing board is available on request. Children are most welcome. The hotel is completely non-smoking. Car parking for guests is available on the front and back of the hotel as well as the side street.
Picture of Greswolde Park Hotel, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
46% recommended this accommodation to a friend 53% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs some TLC
Check in was efficient, pleasant and helpful.
Once in the room, it initially looked ok for the price but closer inspection really showed that the room needed some TLC. Basic but that is to be expected at the price.
Linen was great, towels and bedding super white which unfortunately showed up the rest. The bedroom and bathroom were basically clean (although a deep clean wouldn't go amiss).
The heating was on full blast on my arrival, it was like a sauna, whilst the window was open and not easy to close. However, the shower was a different matter. Even on the hottest setting it was little above tepid. Turning it back to cold before turning it back to hot gave it a little boost that didn't last. Initially I thought the same for the sink but they eventually got hot..
There has obviously been some maintenance over the time but unfortunately the holes where things had previously been fitted hadn't been filled in.
The only plug sockets I could find where above the desk/table, none near the bad. The lights above the bed had no bulbs in and the switches had been deactivated so to go to bed I had to use the light from the TV to see.
There was plenty of coffee, tea and milk but very little sugar. Two cups and saucers but only one spoon (not clean).
Check out was a bit confusing. Came down to find everything but the front door locked and no-one around so ended up ringing the telephone. Spoke to someone - they were polite and helpful. Advised to leave the key in my room, so had to go back upstairs to leave it.

Reviewed by
Caroline W

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Greswolde Park Hotel
the room was clean bedding good, matteress needed replacing, bedside lights not working, the shower did not work, and when we left their was no one to see to explain these things too, and the person who gave us the key was in a tatty t shirt and bare feet.

Reviewed by
Gary Stubbs

From Thornton Cleveleys, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful
Look for the price this is fine if you're not overly fussy. Bed was crisp and clean and that's all I ever ask for. Room was surprisingly large and yes a bit bland but this is fine for the price. Bit of a spring clean and going over would help but again for the price - fine

Reviewed by
Ian McIver

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room, toilet and shower, is very small. The beds however were very comfortable.
All the staff were helpful and very friendly, although I did ask for a dud lamp replacement, which was not changed. The restaurant where we had our evening meal was super.

Reviewed by
D McGowan

From Sevenoaks, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sadly Thumbs down
there is no reception, the restaurant manager acts as receptionist and you are given the No of your room. The room could do with a " lighten up" a bit drab. It looks as if the room has been painted, decorated by an amateur, drops of dried paint all over even on the carpet. The bathroom is the same but for a beautiful door for the shower but again amateurish painting, waterproofing (sorry don't know what the strips are called to prevent the water going through). The cleaner did not clean the shower, empty the waste bin, did not replace the used tea bags and milk by new ones. Having mentioned this to the restaurant manager he kindly went up and did the jobs himself. The restaurant staff were very helpful if it wasn't for them my stay would have not been a particularly nice.

Reviewed by
L Ginella

From Greenford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Too far out of birmingham, nice hotel a little run down but good for money.

Reviewed by
G Wroe

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely awful. Don't bother staying. Had to leave due to an emergency and the management just kept my money with no compassion. Room was dingy at best.

Reviewed by
R Ahmed

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spoke to the owner they are aware that the rooms do need decorating and updating. They have this planed for next year. The bed linen was was very clean and the shower was powerful. The food is the restaurant was excellent. We stayed 1 night before travelling to the airport. We would stay again. I read the comments about people finding it hard to find we just looked for the name of the restaurant which is on the main road on the corner before we turned right.

Reviewed by
B Sanders

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel with a different name and a bar for a reception desk
Don't expect to find this hotel with signage for the Greswolde Park Hotel, because the signs outside and above the entrance state Punjabi Rasoi Indian Restaurant & Bar. After double checking the address, you'll find that you have to check in at the bar of the ground floor restaurant and hope that you'll get a working swipe card key for your room (the 4th one eventually worked for me)! Take earplugs if you're a light sleeper or ask for one of the top floor rooms as loud talking can be heard from the restaurant below, people walking up/down the stairs or moving around in the rooms above. Check if anyone will be available for checking out as I had to leave my swipe card key in the room when I wanted to leave the next morning as there was no box or staff around. Breakfast is not available in the morning and last of all, ask for extra milk the night before if you plan on having more than 2 cups of coffee or tea throughout your stay (only 4 tiny milk pots provided). Plus side was the bed was comfortable and the shower worked well.

Reviewed by
John S

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birmingham stay
Stayed one night for visit to see our daughter playing her clarinet in a band.Room was very big and very clean, bed was small possibly a three quarter, just big enough, shower was excellent and very roomy. Only one down side. Room was above indian restraunt which we didnt know when we booked.ON arrival was told by owner restraunt closed at one am . Unfortunatly at three am we were woken up by people talking loudly and singing in the restraunt. After half an hour the noise had got even louder and i got dressed and went downstairs to complain. On the plus side within ten miinutes all was quiet. Would stay here again.

Reviewed by
STEPHEN EARLE

From Barton upon Humber, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next