No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tri-Star Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Coventry Rd, Elmdon, , Birmingham, B26 3QR
The Tri-Star Hotel in Birmingham is a family run hotel, established over 35 years ago. Our contemporary mid-range hotel has recently undergone extensive modernisation. We pride ourselves on our friendly and homely atmosphere supported by a professional service and great value. The Tri-Star Hotel is situated in a prime location minutes from the National Exhibition Centre (NEC), Birminghgam Airport and Birmingham International Train Station. The Tri-Star Hotel is also convieniently located within easy reach of Birmingham City Centre, which amongst other attractions hosts the National Indoor Arena, Bull ring shopping centre and the Symphony Hall. All bedrooms with the hotel have undergone recent refurbishment to ensure they are comfortable with a modern feel. The rooms are all en suite and include full English breakfast cooked to order. The dining room is also opened daily for evening meals. Hotel residents can enjoy a drink in the hotel bar daily till 11pm, enjoy free WiFi throughout or relax in the hotel's dedicated television lounge, bar or pool room. Panoramic views overlooking the domestic and international terminals are available on request providing excellent photo opportunities for aircraft enthusiasts. The Tri-Star Hotel provides the perfect location for your business or pleasure trip.
Picture of Tri-Star Hotel, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay at the Tri- Star Hotel
Clean and suits the purpose for an overnight business stay.

Reviewed by
Lee L

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tri-star hotel stay
Went to the NEC for 2 days and had to stay in Birmingham overnight. I had a great experience at Tri-Star hotel, the service and food were excellent. The bedroom was clean and comfortable. I would thoroughly recommend it.

Reviewed by
Capucine O

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

love this place!!
This is the second time me and my partner have stayed here, it's very easy to get to the city centre via the bus a few minutes down the road. Loved watching the planes coming in and flying out!
The hosts are very welcoming, the breakfast is beautiful, very filling, the evening menu offered is great too! Some lovely meals on there. Hope to be back soon!

Reviewed by
Emma Minazza

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent!
We loved it! Great place, staff very helpful, breakfast was lovely and room overlooked the airport runway, hardly any noise, loved watching the planes take off! Just booked for another weekend next month! See you soon!

Reviewed by
E Minazza

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The kind of friendly, homely service you get from a B&B but with the added bonus of a bar and restaurant. Food excellent and good value for money.
Superbly located for the NEC and Airport.

Reviewed by
Sue F

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small but comfortable hotel.
As other reviewers have said this hotel is very near the airport. It's at the 'bottom of the garden' but having said that we were not disturbed by the noise. There were no night flights and they started again at about 6.00am. The hotel is small but the rooms are clean and comfortable. There is a car park at the hotel so we left our car there and took the bus into Birmingham. The bus stop was a couple of minutes walk from the hotel and the 25min journey cost £4 return.

Reviewed by
T Quinton

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very impressed!
My friend and I stayed over for one night while visiting the NEC. The hotel is small and very friendly! We had a lovely meal when we arrived, and also a super cooked breakfast the next morning. The room was spotless, and quite adequate for our needs. We will certainly use this hotel for our next visit!

Reviewed by
Sheila Rothman

From Dronfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great experience for NEC Show
Not my usual venue for NEC stopovers, but turned out highly acceptable.
Room more than adequate for my type of stay, perhaps not ideal for non-business users? Well serviced for second night.
Charges very reasonable - room and bar Much lower than I would normally pay! Didn't need to use restaurant as all meals supplied at Show but food looked good and other diners seemed happy.
Staff very courteous, pleasant and helpful.
Will almost certainly use this hotel again for next NEC Show work!!!

Reviewed by
Stewart Whyte

From Petersfield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Service and Great Value!
Booked this hotel to go to a convention at the NEC. The staff were amazing! We were called while on our way on the train and asked if we would like a lift from the station to the hotel, which was really nice of them. Then we were checked in very efficiently, with everything being explained well. The following day breakfast was good, and we were then given a lift to the NEC for our convention.
The room was clean, modern and well appointed. Airport noise wasn't a problem. Breakfast was good.
All in all we simply can't fault this little, family-run hotel, will definitely book again next year and would recommend it to everyone!

Reviewed by
Dan P

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean, friendly, great for short stay
Pros:
- clean
- very friendly staff
- homely feel compared to chain hotels
- very convenient for airport/NEC; short taxi ride less than 10 mins and bus stop outside
- surprisingly quiet for location; next to runway and main road
Cons:
- shower pressure was very low in my room.

Reviewed by
Jenna B

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next