You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Cara Guesthouse


9 The Links, ,, Whitley Bay, NE26 1PS

Price From 103.59 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (8)

63% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Malcolm P

  • September 2016

An ideal location for town and places to see and walk.

The dining room was having a makeover so that should be pleasant when finished.The room we had was ground floor next to dining room and hallway, so was quite noisy.

The feeding of seagulls was also off-putting as they were permanently on the wall outside the window squawking, as they got fed all the scraps. We felt the room was in need of a facelift. However, the bedding and towels were lovely and clean and smelt fresh.

  • Pete B

  • September 2016

Its what you'd expect for £30.

Good nights kip, comfy bed. Clearly the vacuum is broken.

  • H Hopkinson

  • August 2016

Clean and basic

I was upgraded to a room with private bathroom which was great because I didn't realise I might have to share.

Basic, clean and secure.

  • Jon B

  • June 2016

Superb for the price

One of the warmest welcomes I have ever experienced.

Great place to stay with very comfy bed and fantastic value for money.

  • Terry C

  • May 2016

Cara Guest House Stay

Top stay.

It was like being at home. Maria & Carol made me fill welcome and at home. Would recommend if your staying at Whitley Bay then this is the spot!. A hidden gem.


  • September 2015

Not the best

On arrival a notice on the front door askes you to phone a number, then a lady arrives to let you in and show you the room.

The lady then went away, and we did not see her until the following morning. Another lady arrived in the morning to cook your breakfast, the hotel is nice and clean but basic, the beds were clean and comfortable used regular by contractors. The food was very good and plenty of it, you get what you expect at the price you pay, there is no parking at the hotel.

  • Chris B

  • February 2015

Probably the most deserving positive review I've ever given

I would absolutely come here again.

The host greeted me by name the moment I knocked on the door, and sorted me out for parking. In an exceptionally friendly manner that only a true northerner can deliver, she welcomed me into the guest house and showed me to the room I'd paid £25 for. I've paid double in the past for rooms half the size. The room had a nice amount of floorspace, and looked very well cared for. On top of that, once you walk out the front door you're about a hundred metres or so from the beach. The room was great, the location was great, the price was great, and I was welcomed by a very friendly host. Can't ask for more, really.

  • Philip M

  • November 2014

Friendly but basic

Staff very friendly.