No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Pelican

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
136 Norwich Road, Tacolneston, nr Wymondham, Norwich, NR16 1AL
Our traditional pub is one of Norfolk’s oldest Inns, with its history dating back to the 16th century. Since becoming its owners 13 years ago, we have lovingly and sympathetically restored the building and its surroundings, retaining the character & charm and becoming one of Norfolk’s most popular destination pubs and eateries. The luxury en-suite accommodation is located in a converted barn, that adjoins the historic village pub; 'The Pelican Inn'. The advantage is that the access for the B&B is completely separate which means although your stay is made extremely personal, you have the space and freedom (with your own key) to come and go as you please, and therefore do not feel like you are intruding a family home. The pub itself comprises of soft leather sofas, stone floors, old oak beams and a large open fire place, we believe in home comforts and want our customers to feel relaxed, well looked after and comfortable in their surroundings whether drinking, dining or frequenting our B&B. The luxury en-suite Bed and Breakfast and our traditional ‘Norfolk pub’ will add a distinct but complementary character to your visit. Here, there is an excellent range of bar/restaurant meals that can be enjoyed by an open fire or within our 40 cover established restaurant. As a family owned Free house, we passionately apply ourselves wholeheartedly to all aspects of our business and believe strongly in fresh local produce whilst supporting a number of small local communities. We have a strong, clear philosophy, offering ‘choice, quality and value for money’, whilst ensuring that all our customers feel welcome and valued in a friendly, clean and relaxed environment. 5 mins from Wymondham, 15 mins from Snetterton race track, 5 mins from Lotus cars, 15 mins from Norwich city, 10 mins from Banham Zoo, 40 mins from Norfolk Broads, 10 mins to Attleborough. Just off the A11 to london. A beautiful rural location, with plenty of designated walks and sights.
Picture of The Pelican, Norwich at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
Great, pub...great food, beer and atmosphere 10/10

Reviewed by
s jones

From HORLEY, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ive stayed in better
Specifically asked fro double bed in room, got two singles and no apology. Curry night the food wasnt great. Room was clean and the breakfast was quite good. But overall for the price it wasnt the best place i have ever stayed.

Reviewed by
f kearn

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden gem
I am not often compelled to leave hotel reviews but on this occasion, I am going to. All I expect from a hotel is a clean room, a comfortable bed and a good meal. The bed and the room were well above expectations with a good stock of tea, coffee and bottled water. The quality and presentation of the evening meal was exceptional as was the selection of ales, served in a proper beer glass with a handle. A good breakfast served with a smile rounded off a very pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
D Goodeve

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short weekend break to South Norfolk
This is a lovely pub with great accommodation. We enjoyed an evening drinking local beer. We had a tasty well cooked and well presented meal with a lovely bottle of wine.
Any issues we had were dealt with promptly and without any fuss for example the main lights were not working in our bedroom and the en suite. This was dealt with straight away and without any fuss. The breakfast was just right.
Only a few comments I would like to make:
1 The pub does not look inviting from the road side, we would have driven past it had we not booked a room on line, a pity, as it is fantastic inside, has lots of character and is well laid out and has a great back garden.
2 I had to kneel on the floor to plug in my hairdrier, this could cause problems for some people.
We are moving to this part of Norfolk in a couple of years time and hope that this pub will still be run by the same people as we will definitely be back!

Reviewed by
Teresa Handley

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stopover at The Pelican
Very nice country pub/hotel. Good rooms and excellent food. Handy for Norwich (10 mins). Wi-Fi unaccessible.

Reviewed by
A Tomlinson

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short stay
This is a lovely hotel excellent to be able to sit in the garden and relax

Reviewed by
n simpson-eyre

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

superb stay
could not of asked for more
room superb
staff superb
lovely hotel and bar
highly recommend

Reviewed by
Paul B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Local Inn that offers more.
A decent sized twin room, that was very clean.
A good menu available and all the food I ate and saw being delivered to tables looked good.
Some very interesting local ales, which were well worth trying.
Excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
D Quinn

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful Stay
Very pleasant country hotel - only 15 minutes from Norwich

Reviewed by
Steve B

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3 night stay
the owners can't do enough for you, make you feel really welcome and the food is excellent great quality and value for money

Reviewed by
P Giles

From Stalybridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next