No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Ship Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Queens Square, , , Dolgellau, LL40 1AR
The team offer you a warm welcome to The Royal Ship Hotel, Dolgellau.

The Royal Ship Hotel is an early 19th century Coaching Inn, in the heart of the old Market Town of Dolgellau. We are ideally situated to explore the beauty of North and Mid Wales. Located in the picturesque Snowdonia National Park. The Hotel is surrounded by mountains, rivers and fishing lakes and is only a few minutes drive from the coast of the Irish Sea. It is the perfect place for a relaxing holiday or short break.

The Hotel offers 23 bedrooms. There are 17 en suite rooms and the remaining 6 rooms have private allocated bathrooms. You can choose between Single, Double, Twin or Triple rooms. Some of our rooms have an attractive view over the Town Square and the Cader Idris Mountain Range. All rooms are well equipped with tea & coffee facilities, TV and local tourist information. We can cater for large groups and families. Pets welcome.

Surrounded by Mountains, Rivers, Lakes and the Seaside, you are spoiled for choice with the activities this stunning landscape has to offer. Walking, Biking, Lake & River Fishing, Wild Water Rafting, Canoeing, Hill Climbing, High Adventure Parks, Trekking, Golfing, Bird Watching, atmospheric native Welsh Castles and the magnificent Edwardian World Heritage Castles. So whatever your interest or passion for the outside world involves, The Royal Ship is the place for you.

This historic Coaching Inn has 23 individually furnished bedrooms, a comfortable coffee lounge, residents bar, public bar with games room and a restaurant.
Picture of The Royal Ship Hotel, Dolgellau at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Stayed one night clean room but no hot water in shower , slight delay with breakfast as the cook was the receptionist as well but very nice food when it arrived , we would stay again .

Reviewed by
Ray Edge

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nothing fancy but good value. Room clean, food good. only possible grumble en suite was a bath no shower could be a problem if you've more hair than me.

Reviewed by
A Edwards

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

in need of renovation
Staff helpful, room spacious but decor dated( curtains ripped & falling off hangers), bathroom ensuite adequate but again needs updating from 1970's including the mould. Perfect location with so much potential.

Reviewed by
Christine T

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 night break
when I read the reviews it did say the hotel was tired and was due to be totally refurbished in October. The lady on the reception also made this very clear to us when we checked in.....getting excited at how much they were going to spend to improve the hotel.
We can't fault the staff and the quality of the food served both breakfast and tea.
But I do agree - the hotel desperately needs modernising - sticking loose bits of wallpaper back on the wall may help to improve in the short term and sorting out dripping taps.
Fantastic location.

Reviewed by
Pauline G

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Below average accomodation
The first problem was the fact that we could not park in the Hotel car park even though we'd been told there would be room.
Upon entering the room we were greeted by an awful smell of stagnant water which came from the bathroom.Although the en-suite door was shut, the stench was overwhelming and the carpet by the door was stained and mouldy. The shower tray and tiling was very dirty and one could not expect staff to work miracles in improving its appearance.We had upgraded to an en-suite room and if this is the best they could offer I think the charges should be considerably lower.We decided not to eat in the restaurant in case the same standard applied.
The breakfast was awful. The sausages were burnt on one side and raw the other.Couldn't eat this in case of tummy bugs. The "toast" was sent back as it had merely been waved over the toaster. The replacement wasn't much better but was a deeper shade of pale .
We left as soon as we could, grateful that we had only booked in for one night.

Reviewed by
G Beak

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

terrible
Peeling wallpaper everywhere. Mold everywhere. Hair in the tub. TV didnt work. Burger was burnt. Eggs were hard as a rock. No parking spaces left and staff didnt really care. Terrible place. It was a almost like a joke place you see on TV. Not worth the £90.

Reviewed by
S Viola

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Stay
Friendly and quick service by all staff members The interior is a little dated but comfortable. Good food.

Reviewed by
Carl B

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable
I loved this hotel.......really friendly staff, excellent food and bar........breakfast was wonderful.......all in all a very good experience.........I would definitely stay here again

Reviewed by
tony symonds

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Walking in Dolgellau
Staff friendly & helpful, older building with a bit of character. Room was a bit too warm at first, but bed was comfy. Bathroom was a little way down the corridor but was clean and everything worked ok. We enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
C Wildman

From Douglas, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

accommodation
This hotel is very tired in need of being modernised it said it wss being updated but did not see any signs

Reviewed by
p lytollis

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next