You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Royal Ship Hotel

3

Queens Square, ,, Dolgellau, LL40 1AR

Price From 188.68 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (60)

78% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • N Smith

  • June 2016

In the centre of town.

The Royal Ship hotel in Dolgellau has recently had a facelift.The fit and finish is very good.

,as was the service we received,the breakfast was good too.The area,especialy the coast,is beautifull.we had a lovely break.

  • s Newton

  • June 2016

Very comfortable stay.

We had a lovely stay in the Family room.

It was comfy, modern with plush new carpets and bathroom. The breakfast menu was a bit special, no complaints there, and the service was very friendly, I would definitely stay again. The town it'self is very pretty and pleasant to walk around, even the church bells had a pretty sound if not random and quant. Whilst there, I also ate at the Y sospan just across the way from the hotel, the Lamb stew is the best I've ever had and the mash and pan fryed leaks is heaven, do try. Overall I'm going back.

  • Simon P

  • June 2016

Family break over bank holiday

Stayed for three nights with our four year old.

Hotel recently refurbished to high standard, we had an immaculate family room, double bed and one single. Very friendly staff, great food and well kept real ales. Plenty to do for families - KIng Arthurs Labyrinth, various steam railways, Mawddach Trail, Barmouth beach and Torrent Walk all pretty close by. Good weather helped. Parking is limited is the only negative but cars didn't even exist when this hotel was built

  • melanie f

  • May 2016

Avoid

Spotlight shinning through window ALL night, gap under door also ment light shining in that way too.

The noise from the bar and just outside was horrendous. bathroom and toilet along the hall way. Waitress never came and asked if food was ok if they had I would have told them the eggs were hard and mushrooms fatty. (Lots of left food on people's plates). Reception staff abrupt and unfriendly. they also never asked if we had had a pleasant stay. I'm guessing they knew we wouldn't of had. Hotel has only parking for about 5 cars so we had to park the other side of town down a narrow road. Very unsatisfactory. We would not recommend & we will not be returning. We had friends that stayed camping down the road that had a better nights sleep and looked more refreshed than us.

  • I B

  • May 2016

Excellent

Great hotel, great staff and great food.

Will definitely stay again.

  • emily g

  • March 2016

Comfortable and welcoming stay

The hotel has been refurbished to a really lovely standard and is really beautiful.

The room was large with great facilities and very comfortable -. Only had breakfast which was fine. Great location, can be a bit of a nightmare to park as hotel can't guarantee car park spaces but if you do a round trip of the town enough time you'll find a spot. :)

  • Anthony P

  • December 2015

Great few days at the Ship

Just returned home after an excellent four days break at the Ship Hotel Dolgethllau,

?The room was spacious with a king size bed and a lovely shower, lifts to all floors, tea/ coffee/drinking choc and biscuits provided, overall I really enjoyed my stay.

  • N Cattell

  • November 2015

Lovely and accomodating

The hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment.

Despite this the staff were accomodating. The work stopped at sensible hours.

  • Will J

  • October 2015

Newly refurbished

A lovely fresh room facing the square.

Very comfortable beds, plentiful food, lovely staff. Parking difficult; mainly due to punitive and expensive parking regime courtesy of the local council!

  • S Smith

  • October 2015

Anniversary break.

The hotel was booked for an anniversary break as we wanted to visit Portmerion.

After a lovely afternoon in Barmouth we arrived at the hotel and our booking was found without delay and were directed to our room, there is a lift to the upper floor if required. When we opened the door to the room we were very impressed with the standard of the decor and cleanliness. The room has recently been renovated and to a very high standard,the ensuite bathroom was wonderful with a bath with a shower over the bath, the shower was excellent. The king size bed was very comfortable and the large wall mounted flat screen tv was great. On booking we had requested a table booking for 7.30pm via LateRooms this was all arranged. The restaurant is on the ground floor, this has yet to be renovated, however it is large, well presented and clean. The service was excellent and so the food we can highly recommend the garlic mushroom starter. The bar serves both cask ale, lager as well as bottled beer from the Robinson's Brewery along with a selection of wines and spirits. I found the cask ale to be kept well . After a good night's sleep, no noise from the bar etc we enjoyed a good breakfast,a choice of various meals to suite all appetites. The only issue is the car park is very small, the hotel comments on this on it's website, so we parked on the main town pay and display car park which is a short walk away but the council choose to charge 24 hours a day,7 days a week at the time of our visit the charge was £7.50 for 24 hours. So if you have very heavy luggage and the car park is full drop your luggage before parking. The hotel do have storage for cycles so they can be kept on the premises. So refreshed after our very enjoyable stay at the Royal Ship Hotel. We made the journey of around an hour to Portmerion and enjoyed a beautiful sunny day.