No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Ship Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Queens Square, , , Dolgellau, LL40 1AR
The team offer you a warm welcome to The Royal Ship Hotel, Dolgellau.

The Royal Ship Hotel is an early 19th century Coaching Inn, in the heart of the old Market Town of Dolgellau. We are ideally situated to explore the beauty of North and Mid Wales. Located in the picturesque Snowdonia National Park. The Hotel is surrounded by mountains, rivers and fishing lakes and is only a few minutes drive from the coast of the Irish Sea. It is the perfect place for a relaxing holiday or short break.

The Hotel offers 23 bedrooms. There are 17 en suite rooms and the remaining 6 rooms have private allocated bathrooms. You can choose between Single, Double, Twin or Triple rooms. Some of our rooms have an attractive view over the Town Square and the Cader Idris Mountain Range. All rooms are well equipped with tea & coffee facilities, TV and local tourist information. We can cater for large groups and families. Pets welcome.

Surrounded by Mountains, Rivers, Lakes and the Seaside, you are spoiled for choice with the activities this stunning landscape has to offer. Walking, Biking, Lake & River Fishing, Wild Water Rafting, Canoeing, Hill Climbing, High Adventure Parks, Trekking, Golfing, Bird Watching, atmospheric native Welsh Castles and the magnificent Edwardian World Heritage Castles. So whatever your interest or passion for the outside world involves, The Royal Ship is the place for you.

This historic Coaching Inn has 23 individually furnished bedrooms, a comfortable coffee lounge, residents bar, public bar with games room and a restaurant.
Picture of The Royal Ship Hotel, Dolgellau at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a good hotel in Dolgellau

Reviewed by
A Salari

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel has had bad reviews before, but i found my stay great.

Reviewed by
Matt E

From Scotland
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely but a bit old
everything was lovely. food was amazing. you could not ask for more polite staff, they where very helpful and always had a smile and would go out of their way for us. the only problems we really had was that the bed was too hard, tv could of been a little bit bigger as we couldnt read any writing that was on the tv. the bedrooms could to with new wallpaper as they are stained. none of that ruined our stay. we were more than happy and we would go there again as it was very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
N Rogers

From Wrexham, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Shabby
The Royal Ship is in great need of an upgrade. Our room (114) was very clean but in a bad state of repair, the sash windows in the bedroom was covered in an old piece of net secured with map pins as they were unable to close. The bathroom was very shabby , the tiling around the bath was very dated very dirty and the tile grouting and the bath sealant disgusting. The hair dryer didn't work.
The bed linen and towels were very clean........The parking was very secure on site. We didn't book a table but the waiter found us one although space was tight, the meal and service very good, this was reflected the following morning with a hot Welsh good quality breakfast for my husband and a good choice continental for myself. I would stay again only if the Royal Ship was refurbished, I think the images on line and star rating is misleading . We paid £90 for an on- suit room we didn't use.

Reviewed by
E Evans

From Castell Nedd, Wales
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend on Dolgellau
This is a busy Hotel in a Town on the up, lots if walkers filling the Town at night.
This Hotelcaters for this trade very well but famies wothcars and kids, not really suitable.

Reviewed by
Kevin Wright

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly attentive staff. Room spacious and clean. Bathroom needs renovation but shower etc, fine.
The food was excellent. The breakfast freshly cooked and served on a hot plate, so didn't go cold quickly. Evening meal prices reasonable and Sunday meals excellent value for money. This is a traditional hotel and the bedroom decor was dated. The bathroom definitely on the agenda for a re-furb. There is a small bar, separate from the restaurant, which is ideal for a drink before a meal. The drinks prices are reasonable and not inflated. We were made to feel welcome and enjoyed our stay.
The car park is situated at the back of the hotel and is quite small. However, there are spaces nearby on the streets where you can park, but check the signs. Quite a few people use the hotel just for a meal, so once they have gone, you can move your car to the hotel car park.

Reviewed by
Mollie B

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night stay at the ship hotel
We were made to feel at home as soon as we came through the door. Room was very spacious and clean. Food in the restaurant for evening meal was excellent plenty of choice and also reasonable priced plus good sized portions. Breakfast was spot on too. Would recommend this hotel to family and friends.

ManagementResponse

Dear Mr Parton, Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad to hear you all enjoyed your stay with us and would look forward to welcoming you back again soon Trevor Roberts General Manager

Reviewed by
stephen parton

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel and staff
We arrived late and found our documents had the wrong date due to a mysterious internet booking error. The staff could not have been more helpful. We have stayed in several very good hotels in the Aberystwyth area (our son has just finished his degree there) and this was the best of them.

Reviewed by
D Nicolson

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very tired decor in room, gaps between wall and skirting board. Extremely hard mattress. Only one seat in double room.
Very little onsite parking.
Excellent service in evening but breakfast seemed a bit chaotic due to lack of staff.

ManagementResponse

Dear S Douglas, Thank you for your review. We agree the rooms are tired, this is due to years of under investment by the previous tenant. But we are looking to begin refurbishing the rooms soon including replacing all the mattresses. We hope that when we do you would stay with us again. Parking is limited as Dolgellau is an historic market town with over 200 listed buildings in the heart of Snowdonia National Park. The hotel and town were not built with cars in mind. We are in a fortunate position of having our own secure car park in our courtyard that houses 8-10 cars on a first come first serve basis. Failing this there is plenty of parking within a one minute walk of the hotel. Trevor Roberts General Manager

Reviewed by
S Douglas

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Slightly dated rooms but friendly staff
Okay for last minute and had a good stay location but will try smaller B&B / chain hotel next time. Good: Served its purpose in providing decent accomodation when few vacancies elsewhere. Situated in a good location to explore and free parking. Manager and staff were friendly and food was very good quality and good value for money. Not so good: The room was large but the furniture was slightly dated and bathroom had mould around some tiles. I was accused of leaving without paying even though I had a receipt for payment and they seemed very confused.

ManagementResponse

Dear Stephen C, Thank you for your review. We are glad you found our staff to be friendly and our food good quality. We agree the rooms are tired, this is due to years of under investment by the previous tenant. But we are looking to begin refurbishing the rooms soon. The “mould” around the tiles was an ingrained build up due to poor cleaning by our previous housekeeper. She has since been replaced and the deep cleaning has been implemented across the hotel and some grouting has been replaced where necessary. Our sincerest apologies on the mix up with the payment for the room. We hope that you will consider staying with us again soon when the rooms have been refurbished. Trevor Roberts General Manager

Reviewed by
Stephen C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next