Reviews - The Royal Ship Hotel


Queens Square, ,, Dolgellau, LL40 1AR

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (64)

75% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Llio Davies

  • January 2015

I liked this hotel the moment I walked through the door

A lovely, welcoming, spacious and friendly hotel,full of character set in the middle of the beautiful,historical old town of Dolgellau.The food,including breakfast was of excellent quality,and very reasonably priced.The bedroom was warm and cosy.I would recommend this hotel to anybody.Well worth a visit

  • Matthew S

  • January 2015

Comfortable stopover

A nice place in the centre of town, with handy off-street parking (although limited spaces).

The room was overlooking the square, spacious and had a decent ensuite bathroom. Some sound wafted up from the bar, but being a Sunday this wasn't a problem. The breakfast was ok.

  • Diogo B

  • January 2015

Good room and location, limited parking, unfriendly staff

The parking is limited, we had to leave our car outside the hotel one night.

One member of the staff was not helpful, he didn't give any advice about things to see and do in Snowdonia.

  • John D

  • November 2014

Basic Service in interesting surroundings at a basic price

  • anthony marshall

  • November 2014

a very good hotel, value for money

the staff are excellent and well trained nothing was too much trouble and very polite

looking to go back in the spring

  • Margaret M

  • November 2014

Needs renovating.much too dear for the condition of bathroom, black mould and torn curtains.

  • Peter J

  • October 2014

Lovely Stay

Fantastic food, best breakfast in a long time.

Bathroom is terrible, windows rattled with the wind, but the new manager has just taken over and it is about to under go a full renovation. The staff were wonderful. Apart from the window and the badly kept bathroom, it was lovely and once renovated will be a lovely place to stay. The evening meal was excptional and so was the breakfast, catering for all requests.

  • L Chell

  • October 2014

Great place to stay

foods great staff are very pleasent small thing wrong bar is to small

  • C McHardy

  • October 2014

good central location

Good value friendly helpful staff.

Good evening meal choice. Hotel is shortly to be updated.

  • stephen GIBBONS

  • October 2014

great place to stay.good food,rooms need up dating,will be back again.soon.good value for money.