The Royal Ship Hotel

3

Queens Square, ,, Dolgellau, LL40 1AR

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (69)

68% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • L Jones

  • September 2014

Comfortable and friendly place to stay

Lovely staff and a lovely breakfast.

  • Richard Vickery

  • August 2014

Good value for money (£40 for B&B) for people on a walking holiday

Friendly staff.

Good food and drink. Excellent value for money and just what was needed for us on a hill-walking holiday ( comfortable bed, good food).

  • Ray Edge

  • August 2014

Overnight stay

Stayed one night clean room but no hot water in shower , slight delay with breakfast as the cook was the receptionist as well but very nice food when it arrived , we would stay again .

  • Christine T

  • August 2014

in need of renovation

Staff helpful, room spacious but decor dated( curtains ripped & falling off hangers), bathroom ensuite adequate but again needs updating from 1970's including the mould.

Perfect location with so much potential.

  • Pauline G

  • August 2014

2 night break

when I read the reviews it did say the hotel was tired and was due to be totally refurbished in October.

The lady on the reception also made this very clear to us when we checked in.....getting excited at how much they were going to spend to improve the hotel. We can't fault the staff and the quality of the food served both breakfast and tea. But I do agree - the hotel desperately needs modernising - sticking loose bits of wallpaper back on the wall may help to improve in the short term and sorting out dripping taps. Fantastic location.

  • G Beak

  • August 2014

Below average accomodation

The first problem was the fact that we could not park in the Hotel car park even though we'd been told there would be room.

Upon entering the room we were greeted by an awful smell of stagnant water which came from the bathroom.Although the en-suite door was shut, the stench was overwhelming and the carpet by the door was stained and mouldy. The shower tray and tiling was very dirty and one could not expect staff to work miracles in improving its appearance.We had upgraded to an en-suite room and if this is the best they could offer I think the charges should be considerably lower.We decided not to eat in the restaurant in case the same standard applied. The breakfast was awful. The sausages were burnt on one side and raw the other.Couldn't eat this in case of tummy bugs. The "toast" was sent back as it had merely been waved over the toaster. The replacement wasn't much better but was a deeper shade of pale . We left as soon as we could, grateful that we had only booked in for one night.

  • A Edwards

  • August 2014

Nothing fancy but good value.

Room clean, food good. only possible grumble en suite was a bath no shower could be a problem if you've more hair than me.

  • Carl B

  • August 2014

Pleasant Stay

Friendly and quick service by all staff members The interior is a little dated but comfortable.

Good food.

  • S Viola

  • August 2014

terrible

Peeling wallpaper everywhere.

Mold everywhere. Hair in the tub. TV didnt work. Burger was burnt. Eggs were hard as a rock. No parking spaces left and staff didnt really care. Terrible place. It was a almost like a joke place you see on TV. Not worth the £90.

  • tony symonds

  • August 2014

Very enjoyable

I loved this hotel.......really friendly staff, excellent food and bar........breakfast was wonderful.......all in all a very good experience.........I would definitely stay here again