Reviews - The Royal Ship Hotel


Queens Square, ,, Dolgellau, LL40 1AR

Price From 166.80 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (62)

74% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • L Lai

  • August 2015


Great rooms for its price.

  • Carol D

  • August 2015

Enjoyable Stay

Lovely, clean, newly decorated, quiet room with plenty of space for three of us.

Staff very pleasant.

  • M McCoy

  • August 2015

The Royal Ship Hotel

Hotel recently refurbished-v' pleasant rooms, friendly staff, good food and service.

On the downside- was trapped in car park by workmans van- he was staying at hotel not working there, this happened two days running. I think that if vehicles can't fit into parking spaces-then it's unfair on other car park users to block them in, and might put people off returning. But, I enjoyed my stay!

  • Frances W

  • July 2015

overnight stay

We stayed just one night but wish it had been longer.

....really great fabulous and food fantastic. !!no complaints would recommend it to all xx

  • Tim R

  • July 2015


Entrance / pub is a bit beaten up but the room we stayed in was newly refurbished and very nice too.

Comfy and clean. Good breakfast too.

  • A Jones

  • June 2015


No complaints at all, apart from one evening meal.

Two thirds of the steak was unchewable, own teeth, and I can break hazelnuts. Chef had cooked the meat to my preference. We were compensated with 2 free puddings.

  • Jon N

  • April 2015

Very limited parking

We stayed in one of the newly refurbished rooms which was perfect, both clean and comfortable.

We were not able to sample an evening meal as there were no tables available. (There is a great Chinese takeaway nearby.) Breakfast however was fine. The biggest problem with this hotel is the lack of adequate parking. I'm not sure how many rooms the hotel lets, but it is clearly far more than the eight parking spaces available in their car park. As a result guests like ourselves have to spend a considerable length of time each evening to find a suitable parking space within the town itself which is a challenge as this is severely limited in Dolgellau. Potential guests beware!

  • L Murray

  • April 2015

Good location

When I booked the room I checked that it was an en suite.

However, when we arrived we had been allocated a room without one. I complained about this and was given another room with an en suite but no shower. The receptionist apologised that neither room had been refurbished and said that the hotel was under refurbishment but I could see no signs of this anywhere in the hotel. The bath was very old, chipped and filthy and the hot water tap dripped constantly. In the corner of the bedroom the paper was coming off the wall and the plaster was falling down. The radiator did not work. The only good thing about the room was the bed which was clean and comfortable. the following day clean towels were put in the bathrrom but it was not cleaned. We had breakfast there which was of a good standard but ate out the rest of the time. The staff were very pleasant and helpful but this did not make up for the state of the room.

  • J Owen

  • April 2015

The Royal Ship Hotel

Enjoyed our stay, staff very friendly.

Good breakfast.

  • Alexander M

  • March 2015

One night in Dolgellau

Stayed for one night only.

Staff very friendly but the hotel does need the refurbishment which is taking place. Supper and breakfast both good with choice of courses