No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Ship Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Queens Square, , , Dolgellau, LL40 1AR
The team offer you a warm welcome to The Royal Ship Hotel, Dolgellau.

The Royal Ship Hotel is an early 19th century Coaching Inn, in the heart of the old Market Town of Dolgellau. We are ideally situated to explore the beauty of North and Mid Wales. Located in the picturesque Snowdonia National Park. The Hotel is surrounded by mountains, rivers and fishing lakes and is only a few minutes drive from the coast of the Irish Sea. It is the perfect place for a relaxing holiday or short break.

The Hotel offers 23 bedrooms. There are 17 en suite rooms and the remaining 6 rooms have private allocated bathrooms. You can choose between Single, Double, Twin or Triple rooms. Some of our rooms have an attractive view over the Town Square and the Cader Idris Mountain Range. All rooms are well equipped with tea & coffee facilities, TV and local tourist information. We can cater for large groups and families. Pets welcome.

Surrounded by Mountains, Rivers, Lakes and the Seaside, you are spoiled for choice with the activities this stunning landscape has to offer. Walking, Biking, Lake & River Fishing, Wild Water Rafting, Canoeing, Hill Climbing, High Adventure Parks, Trekking, Golfing, Bird Watching, atmospheric native Welsh Castles and the magnificent Edwardian World Heritage Castles. So whatever your interest or passion for the outside world involves, The Royal Ship is the place for you.

This historic Coaching Inn has 23 individually furnished bedrooms, a comfortable coffee lounge, residents bar, public bar with games room and a restaurant.
Picture of The Royal Ship Hotel, Dolgellau at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice stay.
Lovely hotel. Enjoyed our stay. Staff lovely and friendly and helpful. Hotel needs updating but is being done in October. Breakfast very nice with generous portions.

Reviewed by
T Johns

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel with pleasant surroundings.
The staff : friendly, helpful and nothing too much trouble. Room: very clean but tired decour. Food: value for money with good portions. Overall: very pleasant expierence & would use again if in that area.

Reviewed by
Geraint JONES

From Llanfairfechan, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dirty room and bathroom
The toilette,the bath, bathroom and the floor of the room was never cleaned during the four days I stayed in the hotel!! I deliberately did not want tocomplain in order to see how long it would have taken before the room was cleaned.
It was evident to me that no one checked if the room was cleaned or otherwise. Before I left I complained to the Hotel Manager but no discount on the price of the room was offered!! I feel very strong to have been charged for a basic and important service I did not receive.

Reviewed by
Paul Parrotta

From Ilford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really friendly atmosphere

Reviewed by
Michael J

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Rooms clean and tidy, but walls stained with water/damp marks.
Staff friendly and good.
Breakfast also good.
Dolgellau is a lovely small town.

Reviewed by
M Nelson

From Crewe, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quite acceptable

Reviewed by
d lewis

From Rhydaman, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very poor Hotel
Good points:- Kind attentive staff, decent well priced food, great location.
Bad points:- We stayed for 3 nights and had 3 different rooms all were equally old and tatty, if you payed £40 a night for this you would feel robbed. First night they put us over a cellar fan that came on every hour on the hour all night. Stains on carpets, walls and bath in all 3 rooms we were given. They are refurbishing this hotel in August I'd give it a miss until that was completed.

Reviewed by
John H

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit outdated

Reviewed by
Stuart P

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The whole hotel is becoming a little "tired", a fact freely acknowledged by the management, in a notice in the room. The staff were extremely friendly and efficient and certainly made guests feel welcome and Wanted. I have marked down the food a little. Nothing was disastrous but the breakfast, for instance, with the exception of the fried eggs, gave the impression of having been cooked for some time. The prices charged are reasonable for what one gets and my wife and I, living on a restricted budget, would have no hesitation in booking again.

Reviewed by
Alun Rees

From Bridgnorth, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel to explore Snowdonia and and Cambrian Coast
Good value traditional hotel right in the heart of Dolgellau. Excellent value meals offered.

ManagementResponse

Dear Mr Hall, Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us, We hope you will return again soon. Trevor & Heather Roberts General Manager

Reviewed by
Hall D

From Colwyn Bay, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next