No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Gazelle Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Glyn Garth, , , Menai Bridge, LL59 5PD
The Gazelle Hotel sits on the shores of the Menai Strait with panoramic views of the mountains of Snowdonia and is an ideal base for touring the Island and North Wales.

We have a fine tradition of providing hotel accommodation and dining of the highest quality, choose from our a la carte menu in our thirty seater restaurant or from our grill menu
in our cosy bar that overlooks the Menai Strait, we also have a slipway and a mooring just outside our front door so if you are sailing by feel free to sail in and come alongside for a pint and a meal.

All of our rooms are en-suite with tea & coffee making facilities, colour TV and WiFi and offer breathtaking views of the Menai Strait or the Gazelle gardens.

We are proud of The Gazelle menus which offer a wide range of mouth watering meals from bar snacks to a la carte, our head chef, Robert Parry, is frequently complimented and
is always creating new dishes to tempt you even further
Picture of Gazelle Hotel, Menai Bridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could do better
Stayed at the gazelle because other hotels fully booked, I can now understand why they still had rooms available. The location is superb but the hotel is below average, television didn't work due to a loose ariel fitting, the bathroom door didn't shut - we had to prop it closed with the waste bin, the shelf over the washbasin was positioned so you hit your head on it. We had a below average meal on one evening and breakfast wasn't much better, little choice, cheap bread for toast, old bruised fruit etc. this standard of accommodation is not worth the price charged.

Reviewed by
Stephanie J

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous weekend!
We attended a family wedding locally and booked a sea-view room Friday to Sunday; with hindsight,wished we'd booked for longer!! Weather was gorgeous and certainly added to a lovely weekend! Lovely room, the best views, helpful, friendly staff, great breakfasts!! It was great having a room with easy chairs and space to move around. The most towels we have ever had in an hotel room and large comfortable pillows. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Reviewed by
Lynne Ballantine

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great views, disappointing hotel
Room was average, damp patches in bedroom. Plumbing very noisy, we could hear our neighbours everytime they flushed the toilet or had a shower. When you used the sink the waste water came up through the shower drain outlet. Not much choice at breakfast, it was either a full English or a combination of items from the full English. Ate in the Restaurant 2nd night and was very disappointed to find menu was exactly the same as the bar menu and food was ok but was basically pub grub. Didn't complain as it was our 30th wedding anniversary and didn't want to spoil it. Won't be returning. Beautiful location but standards need to be improved, proprietors could make this a wonderful place to stay if they improved things.

Reviewed by
Catherine H

From Rugeley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A series of missed opportunities
Very scant service
Bins overflowing outside bedroom window
Way over priced for what we got
Very poor wine list
Will not recommend nor return

Reviewed by
Su H

From Dolgellau, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thoroughly Enjoyable Hotel on the Water Front
This hotel is right on the sea shore . Our lovely room overlooked the sea and was really comfortable. We had a relaxing evening with a few drinks in a really cosy ante room. Both dinner and breakfast were excellent with lovely vegetarian choices. The waitress Kathryn was friendly and exceptionally efficient. Will hopefully be returning for a longer stay in the spring.

Reviewed by
M Edwards

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent!
Excellent location,room and staff.
We arrived and were immediately upgraded to a better room in the annex section which was very nice of the staff. The view from the room was out of this world we could not have hoped for better! The food at the restaurant and breakfast was of very good quality and value for money. Overall worth the money and we will definitely be staying again.

Reviewed by
A Harper

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gazelle
This is a good hotel. Location is excellent - right on the shore of the Menai Straits. We stayed for dinner which was very good and the breakfast also excellent. Could be signposted a bit more prominently from the main road but that is a minor gripe. Views from rooms brilliant

Reviewed by
Phil L

From Neston, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
We have been to Angelsey many times but did not know this place existed. It was fantastic for a short break room, bar and food all on one place.
The food was fantastic the chef takes great pride in his work and this is great in a small resturant were all to often it is precooked food. This definately tasted fresh and good.
I would definately stay again the views are amazing wish it had been sunny, the staff were all friendly
However, please put the heating on on colder days

Reviewed by
Julie T

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value
I enjoyed my stay. Room was very pleasant and clean with fine views over Menai Strait. Initial problems with first room dealt with promptly and courteously. Staff very pleasant and host very friendly. Breakfast very good. All round pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
Chris Williams

From Cardiff , UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two Night Stay
Our plan was a Late in Life revisit to North West Wales, the scenes of many happy days of beach and caravan holidays with our young children, incorporating Anglesey, Lleyn Peninsula, Portmadoc and down to Barmouth.
With the help of Late Rooms we chose the Gazelle Hotel for our first two nights and after an early breakfast we had a slow drive all around Anglesey visiting gardens, beaches and quite spectacular viewpoints. We even watched helicopters taking off from Valley, but we were'nt invited to stay.
This hotel is quite close to Menai Bridge and is a former fishermans inn with slipway and sitting out there with after dinner drinks the night air has that familiar sound of the wind in the rigging on the nearby yachts moored in this tidal estuary. From the main road there is a short steep lane down to the car park, well used by locals popping in for a drink or for an evening meal.
We'd photographed Bangor Pier just over the water from the jetty and on our journey home we stopped in Bangor and photographed the hotel from the end of the pier.
Most charts rating accommodation dont take into account friendly efficiency of the staff nor their willingness to suggest shopping or picnic locations. The staff at the Gazelle were excellent in this area.

Reviewed by
Michael R

From Poulton le Fylde, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next