The Market Tavern

3

The Market Tavern, 7 Fenkle Street,, Alnwick, NE66 1HW

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (22)

59% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Ian Brogden

  • May 2015

Great for the price

For £30 a night this hotel is very good value.

Yes the rooms are basic but the staff in the bar are very helpful (especially with parking) and I was upgraded to a larger room with an en suite shower which was great after a day on the hills plus good size TV, comfy bed (choice of three actually!) and tea and coffee facilities.

The bar doesn't do food but loads of pubs/cafes etc in the area.

All in all very good value for money.

  • Geoff Ormesher

  • April 2015

The Market Tavern

Great accommodation, great staff, great location.

  • jill e

  • January 2015

The Market Tavern

Excellent night.

Will return.

  • Angela P

  • December 2014

Empty premises

I was delayed, phoned to let them know and arrived at 9.30pm.

The pub was empty and the manager was keen to close after I had paid him. The amount advertised was £30 for B&B, though I was told that there was no breakfast and to account for that, I had been given a larger room. I didn't see anyone in the morning, though grateful for the parking disk, I popped this through the letter box.

  • Martyn S

  • October 2014

Excellent Value

First rate Bed and Breakfast accommodation with excellent food very well prepared and extremely good value for money.

  • Barbara D

  • October 2014

Nice Place

We enjoyed our stay at Market Tavern in Alnwick more than we thought we would, being that we were sleeping above a pub, but it was relatively quiet, thanks to the set of double windows in our room.

Our room was adequate, and Camilla was great, providing us with everything we needed, like towels, etc. We weren't that satisfied with the breakfasts - they were a little bland, and the eggs tasted like they were from a carton instead of real, fresh eggs. The service was great, though. Everyone who served us meals was very attentive. I would recommend staying there if you're looking for something to meet your basic needs, but not if you're expecting a 5-star hotel.

  • Rachel Tan

  • October 2014

Breakfast!

Pros: - Friendly staff - Convenient location, it's right in town.

- Room was warm and toasty

- Everything worked more or less okay

Cons:

- Even though the water pressure was sufficient, it wasn't the best. Could have been stronger. - Hot water took a long time as well. (Approx. 3~5mins?)

- It's above a bar, so it can get pretty rowdy well into the night. - The breakfast period was only an hour. (So let's say, breakfast is served between 9~10am on Sundays) I was genuinely surprised since breakfast durations are usually 2~3h. -Wifi did not work. (though it might have, if I had asked.)

  • Deborah G

  • August 2014

Fabulous Fun

We were visiting for a wedding at Alnwick Castle, exceptionally close & village/town not even a stone's throw as you are right in heart of it all.

Camilla & her staff were amazingly helpful & friendly. The breakfast was most definitely best we've ever had, for that alone they deserve 5*

Loved it, cannot recommend enough.

  • catherine thewlis

  • July 2014

good clean accomodation right in town centre

  • n woodthorpe

  • July 2014

Anick

Very friendly people.The only downside,if you have an early night there is alot of noise from the bar