Reviews - The Tavern - Steakhouse and Lodge


7 Fenkle Street, ,, Alnwick, NE66 1HW

Price From 104.25 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (18)

72% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Alexander Ross Brown

  • October 2015

Very comfortable stay.

I stayed at this establishment with my wife & granddaughter for one night.

The room was very cosy, clean & spacious. The ensuite bathroom was very modern and clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Only downside was that the chef had Taken unwell so there was no food being served. This was not a major problem as there was plenty of eating places in town. We enjoyed our stay and will be back in the future.

  • A Williams

  • October 2015

Toasty Warm

The accommodation was booked as we were visiting Alnwick Castle.

It was easy to find, with disc parking right outside the property. Although it is on a main street, and our room was at the front, we could not hear any noise from the street or from the pub below. The room was spacious, clean and toasty warm. The room appeared tired, but the manager advised they have only just taken over and are beginning a programme of refurbishment. I look forward to seeing it once it is completed. We would not hesitate to stay at this property again and would definitely recommend it to others.


  • October 2015

Nice clean room

Nice room below the roof - clean No TV but that's okay we went downstairs to watch the rugby game.

Free car park just by the pub.

  • J Wood

  • May 2015

customer service from young barman excellent hotel poor

Young barman excellent.

Location, beds clean, the hotel itself is in need of some serious tlc. Noisy and didn't get to sleep until the early hours.

  • Ian Brogden

  • May 2015

Great for the price

For £30 a night this hotel is very good value.

Yes the rooms are basic but the staff in the bar are very helpful (especially with parking) and I was upgraded to a larger room with an en suite shower which was great after a day on the hills plus good size TV, comfy bed (choice of three actually!) and tea and coffee facilities.

The bar doesn't do food but loads of pubs/cafes etc in the area.

All in all very good value for money.

  • Geoff Ormesher

  • April 2015

The Market Tavern

Great accommodation, great staff, great location.

  • jill e

  • January 2015

The Market Tavern

Excellent night.

Will return.

  • Angela P

  • December 2014

Empty premises

I was delayed, phoned to let them know and arrived at 9.30pm.

The pub was empty and the manager was keen to close after I had paid him. The amount advertised was £30 for B&B, though I was told that there was no breakfast and to account for that, I had been given a larger room. I didn't see anyone in the morning, though grateful for the parking disk, I popped this through the letter box.

  • Martyn S

  • October 2014

Excellent Value

First rate Bed and Breakfast accommodation with excellent food very well prepared and extremely good value for money.

  • Barbara D

  • October 2014

Nice Place

We enjoyed our stay at Market Tavern in Alnwick more than we thought we would, being that we were sleeping above a pub, but it was relatively quiet, thanks to the set of double windows in our room.

Our room was adequate, and Camilla was great, providing us with everything we needed, like towels, etc. We weren't that satisfied with the breakfasts - they were a little bland, and the eggs tasted like they were from a carton instead of real, fresh eggs. The service was great, though. Everyone who served us meals was very attentive. I would recommend staying there if you're looking for something to meet your basic needs, but not if you're expecting a 5-star hotel.