No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Market Tavern

1Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
The Market Tavern, 7 Fenkle Street, , Alnwick, NE66 1HW
The Market Tavern is a family run traditional pub situated in the centre of a busy market town. With a welcoming and relaxed atmosphere we serve a wide range of real ales as well as a variety of largers and ciders. During the day we have a large selection of freshly cooked meals to offer, however although we do not serve meals in the evening there are many restaurants close by for all your aquired tastes. We often host live music events which is enjoyed by a wide variety of locals and tourists throughout the year. We have 5 very clean and comfortable letting bedrooms; 4 are en-suite, and are located on the first and second floors. We are just 2 minutes away from the bus station and local shops and supermarkets. We are surrounded by beautiful countryside and just a short drive to some lovely, quiet beaches. Our team of dedicated staff are very willing to help make your stay a lovely experience..
Picture of The Market Tavern, Alnwick at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 61% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good clean accomodation right in town centre

Reviewed by
catherine thewlis

From Blyth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anick
Very friendly people.The only downside,if you have an early night there is alot of noise from the bar

Reviewed by
n woodthorpe

From Hinckley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous Fun
We were visiting for a wedding at Alnwick Castle, exceptionally close & village/town not even a stone's throw as you are right in heart of it all.
Camilla & her staff were amazingly helpful & friendly. The breakfast was most definitely best we've ever had, for that alone they deserve 5*
Loved it, cannot recommend enough!

Reviewed by
Deborah G

From Mullion, Helston, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good price/quality
Basic needs covered, good price for the basic needs

Reviewed by
S ROMERO

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Can't complain to much because only £70 pn
Overall I was happy because this b&b was very cheep, room was basic but comfy and breakfast was good, however there is a pub underneath you and the noise was loud until midnight! There was also an issue with our pluming and made very loud nosied throughout the night. For £70 we were situated in the centre of the town and really do believe this was good value.

Reviewed by
k richmond

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Virtual break
I recieved an E-mail 24 hours before we were due to arrive Market Tavern stating that they had to cancel my booking due to broken boiler; they did however say they would try & find me somewhere else if I wished.
I was lucky enough to find alternative accomodation myself & at such short notice! I feel even a small gesture of goodwill would have been good customer service.

Reviewed by
V J

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what I wanted!
Ok, it wasn't fancy. A room above a pub in the centre of Alnwick. Nice people, personal service, good breakfast, clean and quiet. Shower didn't work, but apart from that, an enjoyable weekend stay.

Reviewed by
ROBERT STAFFORD

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Market Tavern
Room was dusty , ran shower for a long time no hot water , very noisy , car parking was a problem

Reviewed by
M Howe

From Penrith, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

market tavern alnwick
the worse b&b my wife and i have ever stayed in . in forty-five years of our married life . the place is a accident waiting to happen .fraying carpets in the hall-way to the room electric cables coiled up running to our room shower in our room not working , let us have the use of another shower in another room and the shower head was held in place with elastoplast . paint flaking off and skirting board coming off . no apparent fire escape route from top floor . not brave enough to stop for breakfast

Reviewed by
malcolm prentice

From selby, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Alnwick is a great town.
Lots to see in Alnwick. The castle, the Town, and Barter Books in the old station is worth a day trip on its own. The lady who greeted us at the Market Tavern was good and worked really hard. Sadly, she was doing too many tasks to be the 'really friendly meet-and-greet' person you would want at a small market town. The room was clean, the shower worked ok, but the Tavern lacked the small town intimacy you would want. There was no Resteraunt meal available the night we stayed and there was no hand-pulled ales. In fact, the selection of drinks was poor (one type of bottled code) but plenty of vide nice of Jagermaster!!!!
Breakfast was really good and the landlady was again Woking really hard cooking and serving.
Sorry, but I wouldn't stay again at the prices they are charging. A local B&B would be better value.

Reviewed by
Chris A

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next