No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cefn Uchaf Guesthouse

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
Garndolbenmaen, , , Porthmadog, LL51 9PJ
You can be assured of a warm friendly welcome at our Family run Guesthouse. Cefn Uchaf is a large modernised farmhouse, the comfortable bedrooms are all centraly heated and the residents lounge has an open fire for the cooler months. All our parking is private with plenty of space if you are fetching a boat or jet-ski, and unercover parking for motorbikes and bikes. We are approximately 5 miles from Porthmadog and 4 miles from Criccieth, set amongst unspoilt farmland overlooking the beautiful Cwm Pennant valley. We are ideally placed for guests to enjoy the numerous attractions that the area has to offer, if you prefer a more active break high in the mountains of Snowdonia,or participating in any of the watersports around this spectacular coastline, the choice is yours. Guests looking for a more relaxing break also have plenty of choices available to them. Anyone interested in history is spoilt for choice with the numerous imposing castles and other ancient sites that surround the area. Guests can visit Portmeirion, lying 1 mile East of Porthmadog, this inspirational village that was the vision of the famous Architect Clough Williams-Ellis, is a charming quirky world of meandering streets and clifftop towers.The cult Tv series 'The Prisoner' starring Patrick McGoohan was filmed here in 1967.
Picture of Cefn Uchaf Guesthouse, Porthmadog at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Traditional B&B in a beautiful location
We received a very warm welcome followed by tea and biscuits in the lounge, which had plenty of books and games available. The large porch/entrance area had plenty of information on local attractions and activities. The accommodation was clean and had a traditional country style, with lovely views over the surrounding landscape. Breakfast was well set out and varied, and the cooked breakfast was lovely. There was an incredible thunderstorm on our second night which caused the power to drop out briefly a couple of times, but our kind host popped up to our room with a torch for us, just in case.

Reviewed by
L North

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A relaxing break
A lovely quiet place to stay, a very warm welcome and great food

Reviewed by
P Bird

From Lichfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peaceful location with an excellent host (Kath)
Welcoming, accommodating, warm and friendly welcome. Excellent communication, and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast is super tasty. Location peaceful and beds comfy.

Reviewed by
Fiona M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A homely sweet feeling during our stay.
Very warm and friendly service. A beautiful relaxing place but unfortunately couldn't enjoy it the way we wanted as we were rushing to catch the sight seeing train. Definitely would go back. Would highly recommend this place to anyone who loves a peaceful stay.

Reviewed by
Indika Wickramarachchi

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great base for Snowdonia attractions
We enjoyed our three day stay here. The location of the accommodation is peaceful and away from traffic up a little country lane, but all the major attractions of Snowdonia are within a short drive. The breakfasts were great, and for evening meals we can highly recommend The Goat pub less 2 miles away (but you may need to reserve a table a day or two before).

Reviewed by
M Craig

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice and friendly
Nice friendly and unpretentious bed and breakfast place. Particularly liked the large lounge with books and games. Well located for visiting coast and mountain areas. Catered well for my wife's requirement for gluten free diet.

Reviewed by
Brian Candeland

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday break on way to Portmeirion
Could not fault this guest house quality of food and attentiveness of hosts first class. We found it a little remotely situated for our purpose but the scenery was beautiful. Would certainly recommend it

Reviewed by
Glad C

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

95
Excellent stay. VERY peaceful. First class full Welsh breakfast, beds comfortable. All the necessary help with where-to-go-locally for evening meals etc. Kath was very kind and helpful. Will definitely return when next in North Wales.

Reviewed by
Nigel Walters

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peaceful friendly and relaxing accommodation. Perfect for access to Porthmadog and Portmeirion

Reviewed by
T Stevens

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fabulous views
Very welcoming hosts. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. The bed and pillows comfortable. We had room 7 with lovely views over snowdonia from one window and the coast on the other. Breakfast was very enjoyable especially the fruit. If ever in area again would stay here.

Reviewed by
c carter

From Saltash, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next