No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Glyn-y-Coed Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel, Porthmadog Rd, , Criccieth, LL52 0HP
If you are seeking spectacular views and a place to stay which can offer quality and character, you can be assured of a friendly welcome when you stay at the Glyn-y-Coed. Situated in the best position in Criccieth and facing due south, the Glyn-y-Coed overlooks the Esplanade and offers splendid views of Criccieth Castle, the mountains and beautiful Cardigan Bay. We have 10 ensuite rooms, offering a variety of beds - twin / double / four-poster / king size. Some of the rooms overlook the sea, castle and mountains. All include telephone, television, hairdryer and tea making facilities. All rooms have an ensuite - fully tiled, shower or bath/shower room with soap, towels, shampoo, body lotion etc.Our family room has a king size bed, bunk beds and sofa lounge area with tv / videos and games for the children.We also have a ground floor annex room with private access, twin beds and a large walk-in shower. Having been awarded with 5-stars, we believe the Glyn Y Coed to be one of the finest places to stay in Criccieth.Some of our bedrooms, our lounge, breakfast room and our patio garden overlook the sea.We provide a very healthy and tasty breakfast with plenty of choice. The meat used is from a local, award-winning butcher. There is private parking for every room and free wifi throughout the building. We are just a couple of minutes walk from the beach, shops, cafes and restaurants and a ten minute walk away from Criccieth Castle and Cadwalladers famous ice-cream shop with wonderful views from the cafe. Less than ten minutes walk away, we have seven excellent restaurants to choose from. All come highly recommended and provide freshly prepared food. We are just a few minutes walk from the train and bus stops. Criccieth is very central for seeing places such as Portmeirion, Harlech, Snowdonia, several castles, the Ffestiniog Railway, five golf courses and many hidden, most beautiful and romantic beaches around the Llyn Peninsula.
Picture of Glyn-y-Coed Hotel, Criccieth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay
Excellent quality of food-facilities and room
The bed was too soft for my liking however we have an orthopedic bed at home, overall very good

Reviewed by
Richard Davies

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Stay
Just what you need for a UK break. Friendly owner and staff, lovely clean room, good breakfast and stunning location overlooking the shore and castle. Will go again for sure

Reviewed by
K LEWIS

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was very small and at the rear, overlooking grotty backyard - there were piles of bird poo
The room was very small and at the rear, overlooking a grotty backyard - there were piles of bird poo on three windowsills which we looked out onto. I believe the front bedrooms ad super views of the sea and castle. Staff, service and breakfast made up for this unpleasant aspect.

Reviewed by
Eileen Walker

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent all-round, the staff and proprietor were all very friendly and helpful, no complaints at all.

Reviewed by
Kieran Ryan

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good base
My wife and I have been to Criccieth before and love the area. The hotel is good value and very comfortable. We would stay here again.

Reviewed by
Alan W

From Derby, England
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel
We booked the superior room so we could have the castle, sea & mountains view from our window. The room itself exceeded our expectations - it was beautifully decorated (as were all the rooms) and very comfortable. The owner, Julie, was very friendly. Criccieth is a lovely little town with some excellent restaurants, very well-located for sightseeing in Snowdonia. The hotel is very close to the sea front, hotels, pubs and restaurants no more than a few minutes away.

Reviewed by
Pauline W

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very happy visitors
Gorgeous bed linen and pillows. Lovely bathroom. All tastefully decorated. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice on offer, not only English cooked although that was good too. Julie, the owner, was attentive, very cheerful, helpful but 'not in your f'ace'. Wonderful restaurants in the area, spoilt for choice in fact. An all togther great break. Very pleased to let others know about the Glyn Y Coed hotel.

Reviewed by
J Clifford

From Sevenoaks, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Glyn-y-Coed Hotel, Criccieth; a pleasant and relaxing short break experience.
Accommodation was very comfortable. Julie and Karen made us feel welcome with a pot of tea on arrival. Our room had the Sea and Castle view as requested, the Castle was beautifuly lit up at night. Karen's excellent recommendation for places to eat in Criccieth and bookings made on our behalf made the short stay all that more enjoyable. The hotel is central to many places of interest in Wales which is one of the reasons why we chose it. Overall it was a very relaxing and pleasant stay which we will most definately repeat in the future.

Reviewed by
Wendy V

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a lovely Anniversary Day and night
Very welcoming and pleasant stay, Staff very good, polite and nice.

Reviewed by
David MacKay

From Ellesmere Port, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short break
Excellent accommodation and lovely staff. Very clean throughout and we would certainly return.

Reviewed by
Jenny H

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next