No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Sun Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Main Street, Acomb, , Hexham, NE46 4PW
The Sun Inn is situated in the quiet village of Acomb, a short distance from the main A69 & Hexham. Ideally located for those seeking to explore this peaceful area of Northumberland, & the Roman Wall. This pleasing village pub provides, good atmosphere, warm friendly surroundings & some great home cooking, & Real ales! The Sun Inn is a family run business who believe that quality counts.
Picture of The Sun Inn, Hexham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very pleasant one night stay with our two dogs.The owners were very welcoming and helpful and the accommodation was very comfortable.

Reviewed by
J Dresser

From Goole, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideally situated for Hadrian's Wall – friendly, comfortable and good value
Friendly atmosphere, comfortable room, good breakfast. Recommended.

Reviewed by
J Ling

From Harrow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal
Ideal great value accomadation for person who likes privacy and great location for leisure activeties in Northhumberland

Reviewed by
Cyril Brewster

From Stone, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lack of evening meal dissappointing
Booked in here on the way back from the West Coast via Perth to Birmingham. One of my reasons for choosing the inn was the "home cooked local produce" so we were dissappointed to find they no longer do evening meals. We went up to the Miners Arms - a typical collection of pub meals, well presented but nothing special. We had a quiet evening in - I was dissappointed but not surprised that neither pub served any cider apart from the usual "chain" sweet/fruit ciders.

Reviewed by
Sarah C

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

business trip to Consett
Nice, 'old fashioned' village pub. Really helpful and welcoming staff - they went out of their way to help me with 'get-up' time and breakfast. Great situation - had a nice walk out by the river Tyne.
I'd recommend the Sun Inn to anyone.

Reviewed by
peter long

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hadrian
The room was ok, a little cluttered, but was overpriced for what was available considering other accommodation we had stayed in. Owner and staff were friendly and the breakfast was good.

Reviewed by
Ron Soderman

From Richmond, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

May Bank Holiday Weekend
Management and Staff very friendly and welcoming etc.
However, a couple of issues:
1) Confusion with booking - had booked 2 Nights en-suite (Friday and Saturday) and 1 Night not en-suite (Sunday) - because that was what was available on the website for the 3 Nights required.
But informed on arrival (Friday) that the booking for Friday and Saturday had "not come through", but I was provided with non en-suite room for 3 Nights at the non en-suite price (which was Ok - but nonetheless!!!)
2) Evening Meals were not available - directed to alternative Pub across the road - which was good - but again - not as advertised (the only reason for the 1 score on Food)
But even that Pub did not do food on Sunday nights, so had to drive for an evening Meal on Sunday.
Breakfasts were very good - the usual: Orange Juice, Cereal and "Full English", Toast etc - good standard and hot (only 4 out of 5 EHO Rating though - I'm in the Catering trade so I notice these things!).
Nevertheless, a good spot, and I would return.

Reviewed by
Geoffrey Wignall

From PRESTON, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beds
Could feel springs through me bed, very uncomftable

Reviewed by
E Ward

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good greeting and shown to room straight away. Pleasant and helpfull.
Everything you needed in room except for soap to shower with. Shower was powerful but took a long time to heat up. Food was of good quality and good portions. Everywhere was very clean.

Reviewed by
J Ward

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Warm Welcome!!
what a lovely friendly village pub, landlord and landlady so helpful finding a taxi. We stayed here in order to go to Allendale tar barrel festival about ten miles away. The pub was still open when we got back just after midnight and we were welcomed into a lovely warm room to see in the new year! Room was very spacious, and the bed comfortable and fresh smelling bedding on. Would definitely recommend a stay in this place!!

Reviewed by
jackie g

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next