Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth Hotels > The Moelwyn Hotel & Restaurant
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Moelwyn Hotel & Restaurant

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
27-29 Mona Terrace, , , Criccieth, LL52 0HG
Originally a pair of Victorian Townhouses, Moelwyn offers six en suite, individually furnished bedrooms and a quality restaurant of enviable reputation, specialising in seafoods. The ideal choice for a relaxed short break holiday.

All the rooms are individually furnished and have sea and/or mountain views. We offer a four-poster room and many of the rooms retain original features and period furnishings.
Tea and coffee facilities and televisions are in all rooms, Quality breakfasts are served in the dining room with glorious sea views.

We have a Restaurant and Residential license.

With a stylish yet informal atmosphere, the restaurant has established an enviable reputation for the quality of our cuisine and boasts beautiful views.

Situated in the beautiful coastal resort of Criccieth, on the edge of the Snowdonia National Park , Moelwyn is but a stones throw from the sea and enjoys some of the finest uninterrupted coastal and mountain views on the North Wales Coast.

Ideally placed for hill and coastal walking, we are also surrounded by heritage and castle sites and are only a few miles from the popular Italianate village of Portmeirion.
Picture of The Moelwyn Hotel & Restaurant, Criccieth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent place to escape( Moelwyn Hotel criccieth)
two wonderful days at the Moelwyn,comfy room and spotlessly clean. Lovely food and friendly helpful staff, We would definately go back for another break,very relaxing and Criccieth is the ideal place to relax,no noisy pubs/clubs,very quaint place.

Reviewed by
karen harvey

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good in parts
Very pleasant young staff who seemed to lack management, we waited long time for food to arrive. Rooms were a bit grubby and the toilet had a poo floating in it.. the bed was most uncomfortable. the food however was very nice apart form the hake dish which was not well thought out, sauce being too strong for the fish, bad design really. The staff were very nice but not organised. I would stay again if the bed had been more comfortable.

Reviewed by
Hilda Harvey

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great view from room. Good food in restaraunt , staff friendly and efficient. Good local beer.


Reviewed by
Roy T

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay spoiled by a very uncomfortable bed. Everything else very good.

Reviewed by
N Ruddick

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Location

Reviewed by
J Lodge

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Place To Stay
We stayed at the Moelwyn Hotel for one night, the rooms were tidy, the views from the room were good. Everything was there as we needed. We had a nice breakfast in the morning too.

Reviewed by
Mark E

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly
Friendly check-in and comfortable room with sea view.

Reviewed by
R Boden

From Wilmslow, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Place
Everything was lovely. Off season so restaurant not open, Great views of the sea. Breakfast was very nice too

Reviewed by
M Walsh

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Long Valentines Weekend Break
Arrived on Fri afternoon (valentines day) at The Moelwyn and first impressions were very good, we checked in and were shown to our room(R2) lovely room with a great sea view and a four poster bed, room and bathroom were spotless. We stayed 3 nights with breakfast and the breakfast was lovely, again with a great sea view and lovely helpful staff, had a great break and would strongly recommend a stay here and you've got to try the mushrooms with your breakfast mmmm just like to say thanks for the extra portion on our last day

Reviewed by
Keith Daniels

From Buckley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I don't want you to know........
........seriously I don't want to tell you about this little gem in case we can't get a room next time. The decor is a little dated (particularly the bathroom). However it was clean, functional and comfy. But the staff and the food and the view (we had room one) were amazing and made it very good value for money.

Reviewed by
Heather H

From Nantwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next