No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Achill Guest House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
35 Hampton Road, Knowle, , Solihull, B93 0NR
Whether on holiday or business the Achill Guest House is ideally placed, just 1 mile from the M42 junction 5 and easy access to surrounding areas such as the NEC, Birmingham Airport, Solihull, Blythe Valley and Birmingham Business park. It is the aim of Achill Guest House to provide a high standard of accommodation to business contractors and families at an affordable rate. Guests can also enjoy easy access to sightseeing areas such as Kenilworth, Warwick, Birmingham and Stratford. Knowle village dates back to the time of King Edward I of England, over 700 years ago, when it had the status of Royal Manor. The Parish Church, which is still used today, was consecrated in 1403. There are many ancient buildings nearby, notably 16th century Grimshaw Hall and the current library which dates back to Elizabethan times. The Guild House dates back to the 15th century and forms the core of a conservation area of which the restored Chester House is an outstanding feature
Picture of Achill Guest House, Solihull at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 65 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, helpful owner, clean and convenient accomodation
I had booked Achill Guest House as it was roughly halfway between Cardiff and Leeds and wanted to break up the return journey after visiting relatives in South Wales. it is also very convenient being just a couple of miles from the M42.
Mary, the guest house owner, was very friendly, welcoming but efficient in showing me to my room and explaining the facilities that Knowle had to offer in terms of restaurants and takeaways for evening food as well as providing a folder with menus etc. I was lucky in that I got a triple room to myself, this being as clean as would be expected and I had a good night's sleep. Finally the full English breakfast (something I don't have very often these days) went down very well.
All in all a good place to stay for a stopover just off the motorway network.

Reviewed by
Martin G

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Achill Guest House
Situated in a lovely village, convenient location for NEC and the Motorcycle Museum. Basic but clean room with all the facilities. Friendly owner. Did not eat there so can not comment on breakfast. Good value for money.

Reviewed by
u zaidi

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room
Lovely room - great night sleep on a comfy bed

Reviewed by
Leslie Bandey

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good service and value for money
Stayrd overnight for office party - room was small for a double but had all the basics and was clean and comfortable - full breakfast provided by friendly host - very good value for £35.
Convenient for NEC / Airport/ Motorways.

Reviewed by
Gary Petersen

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Clean and Nice people
Very nice rooms and more than big enough.
Only down side would be is the breakfast was on the small size but apart from that, it was awesome

Reviewed by
Mark Campbell

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely retreat
Friendly staff, and room was lovely. lots of space with a toilet and shower en suite or the use of a shared bathroom also available. well located with lots of places to visit and eat at. the room has all theses places listed in a folder. if anything like me, there is always plenty of tea and coffee readily available too.
will be staying there again for definite, much nicer than the usual travelodge or premier inn.

Reviewed by
M Clark

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay at great value
lovely reception friendly landlady
good accommodation and nice food

Reviewed by
Martin T

From Bangor, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Guest House
Achill Guest House is clean and comfortable, I enjoyed a good nights rest and the freshly cooked breakfast was excellent setting me up for the day.

Reviewed by
Robert Hodges

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect base for exploring the area
Just enjoyed a weekend at Achill Guest House. Mary the landlady was extremely welcoming and helpful in recommending best places to visit locally. Short drive to Solihull and Coventry. Birmingham close by as well. Short walk (5 mins) to local restaurants in Knowle for dinner in the evening.

Reviewed by
a spiers

From Pulborough, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A proper B&B
Lovely and clean, comfortable. easy to find. Adequate parking.
Big TV
Spacious room and bathroom with bath.

Reviewed by
L Moores

From Totnes, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next