No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Achill Guest House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
35 Hampton Road, Knowle, , Solihull, B93 0NR
Whether on holiday or business the Achill Guest House is ideally placed, just 1 mile from the M42 junction 5 and easy access to surrounding areas such as the NEC, Birmingham Airport, Solihull, Blythe Valley and Birmingham Business park. It is the aim of Achill Guest House to provide a high standard of accommodation to business contractors and families at an affordable rate. Guests can also enjoy easy access to sightseeing areas such as Kenilworth, Warwick, Birmingham and Stratford. Knowle village dates back to the time of King Edward I of England, over 700 years ago, when it had the status of Royal Manor. The Parish Church, which is still used today, was consecrated in 1403. There are many ancient buildings nearby, notably 16th century Grimshaw Hall and the current library which dates back to Elizabethan times. The Guild House dates back to the 15th century and forms the core of a conservation area of which the restored Chester House is an outstanding feature
Picture of Achill Guest House, Solihull at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 67 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Achill Guest House, Clean,Comfy,Value for money, great breakfast, and a lovely landlady.
We stayed a Achill for one night prior to a visit to the NEC. Just off the Motorway and so easy to find in the lovely village of Knowle near Solihull. Mary the landlady greeted us with a lovely friendly smile and Irish eyes making us feel ever so welcome. Our room was clean and functional with a lovely large and comfortable double bed and bathroom with heated floor TV and WIFI. Plenty of tea and coffee was provided in our room with easy access to refills. Mary took time to point out the local pubs and restaurant's all within five minutes walk with plenty to choose from and for all tastes. Breakfast was excellent and great value for money . A massive farm house size pot of tea, toast ,cereal and Full English with a good glug of OJ greeted us in the morning. Mary and her team were great and you would be hard pressed to feel as good in a much more expensive alternative. Thanks Mary we will be back!

Reviewed by
C Place

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Regular NEC visitors to Birmingham, this is as good as it gets.
Good all round value, clean, quiet, location excellent, restaurants nearby,perfect for what I need when visiting Birmingham.

Reviewed by
Phil Pass

From Crieff, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly
friendly and GOOD value

Reviewed by
David C

From Brecon, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

feedback
Very disappointed with the standard and cleanliness of the room, better value @ a Travelodge which with hindsight I should have used. on the strength of this being the standard B/B I will certainly not be using them again. A Big Disappointment.

Reviewed by
ALANJON ADAMS

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good basic accommodation for short stay
Very friendly welcome and helpful staff (just the one!). Good freshly cooked breakfast, well worth the £5 extra. Room was basic, en-suite fairly cramped, wardrobe unit only, but bed was comfortable and warm. Was worried about plumbing noise on first use, but actually ok, not a problem. Person in room above second night snored, but not much hotel can do about that! Very good value for money for a short stay.

Reviewed by
Michael M

From Dawlish, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, helpful owner, clean and convenient accomodation
I had booked Achill Guest House as it was roughly halfway between Cardiff and Leeds and wanted to break up the return journey after visiting relatives in South Wales. it is also very convenient being just a couple of miles from the M42.
Mary, the guest house owner, was very friendly, welcoming but efficient in showing me to my room and explaining the facilities that Knowle had to offer in terms of restaurants and takeaways for evening food as well as providing a folder with menus etc. I was lucky in that I got a triple room to myself, this being as clean as would be expected and I had a good night's sleep. Finally the full English breakfast (something I don't have very often these days) went down very well.
All in all a good place to stay for a stopover just off the motorway network.

Reviewed by
Martin G

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Achill Guest House
Situated in a lovely village, convenient location for NEC and the Motorcycle Museum. Basic but clean room with all the facilities. Friendly owner. Did not eat there so can not comment on breakfast. Good value for money.

Reviewed by
u zaidi

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room
Lovely room - great night sleep on a comfy bed

Reviewed by
Leslie Bandey

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good service and value for money
Stayrd overnight for office party - room was small for a double but had all the basics and was clean and comfortable - full breakfast provided by friendly host - very good value for £35.
Convenient for NEC / Airport/ Motorways.

Reviewed by
Gary Petersen

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Clean and Nice people
Very nice rooms and more than big enough.
Only down side would be is the breakfast was on the small size but apart from that, it was awesome

Reviewed by
Mark Campbell

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next