No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Achill Guest House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
35 Hampton Road, Knowle, , Solihull, B93 0NR
Whether on holiday or business the Achill Guest House is ideally placed, just 1 mile from the M42 junction 5 and easy access to surrounding areas such as the NEC, Birmingham Airport, Solihull, Blythe Valley and Birmingham Business park. It is the aim of Achill Guest House to provide a high standard of accommodation to business contractors and families at an affordable rate. Guests can also enjoy easy access to sightseeing areas such as Kenilworth, Warwick, Birmingham and Stratford. Knowle village dates back to the time of King Edward I of England, over 700 years ago, when it had the status of Royal Manor. The Parish Church, which is still used today, was consecrated in 1403. There are many ancient buildings nearby, notably 16th century Grimshaw Hall and the current library which dates back to Elizabethan times. The Guild House dates back to the 15th century and forms the core of a conservation area of which the restored Chester House is an outstanding feature
Picture of Achill Guest House, Solihull at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly landlady. Excellent breakfast. Toby carvery 2 mins away for evening meal. Pleasant room, would stay there again.

Reviewed by
Karen L

From England
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

right for us
Situated in a very pleasant village within easy reach of the N E C, Easy to find,plenty of parking, quiet. Friendly welcome, huge, comfortable bed in pleasant en suite room, lots of eating choices close by. A good value, large and tasty breakfast. Nothing too much trouble. Very satisfactory.

Reviewed by
Keith K

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
I needed accommodation for 5 days while filming at the NEC. Days started early and ended very late. Despite this, the owner could not have been more helpful. The room was comfortable and clean. The bathroom fittings were a bit tired, but all worked so this did not matter. Despite an early start, breakfast was put out for me which was greatly appreciated. I would certainly stay at Achille House again.

Reviewed by
Bernard S

From Chippenham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Accomodating
the owner was lovely, she went out of her way to ensure we were all comfortable, rooms were great, cleanliness could be improved but overall the stay met our needs.

Reviewed by
paul m

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great old house
What a lovely wee place to stay, Mary was very friendly and made me feel at home. Would recommend again. The room was well presented and clean, sisnt stay for breakfast but it looked good.

Reviewed by
James B

From Coatbridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly B&B, great location and fantastic value for money, i would go again

Reviewed by
Mark A

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only booked for one night because did not want to pay rip off prices at airport , glad I booked this place, great guest house rooms owner area, could not off asked for more 5*

Reviewed by
gary h

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hosts friendly and helpful but the place is tired and in need of better decoration / improving
Bed was huge and pretty comfortable, bedding needed ironing and had some tears in the pillow. Furniture didn't match, room poorly decorated. En-suite was a bonus / good size but was poorly decorated and unfinished with a patched repair / damage to the wall that had not been re-painted. Shower was hot enough but wasn't a power shower. Could have been a lot better if decorating had been better / finished and the attention to detail improved. Not sure about the phone service around the house to contact someone. felt weird but was functional. On arrival, we were met by someone in scruffy shorts and a t-shirt which immediately didn't exude "quality". We paid £60 B&B which didn't feel value for money but maybe is for the area. Location is excellent for Knowle.

Reviewed by
Chris Bilsborrow

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for your money
This was a very basic B @ B with a wonderful proprietress who went out of her way to help and make your stay comfortable and to relieve any stress or concern. We needed to get up early, 4:45 and Mary got up herself to call us and help us with our luggage because we are elderly. She also called our taxi for us. She made everyone feel very welcome.

Reviewed by
Hugh McGlashon

From Haines City, USA
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient and Clean
Nice room with a huge number of eateries with walking distance for an evening meal. Very convenient for the NEC and airport.

Reviewed by
Alison P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next