No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Achill Guest House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
35 Hampton Road, Knowle, , Solihull, B93 0NR
Whether on holiday or business the Achill Guest House is ideally placed, just 1 mile from the M42 junction 5 and easy access to surrounding areas such as the NEC, Birmingham Airport, Solihull, Blythe Valley and Birmingham Business park. It is the aim of Achill Guest House to provide a high standard of accommodation to business contractors and families at an affordable rate. Guests can also enjoy easy access to sightseeing areas such as Kenilworth, Warwick, Birmingham and Stratford. Knowle village dates back to the time of King Edward I of England, over 700 years ago, when it had the status of Royal Manor. The Parish Church, which is still used today, was consecrated in 1403. There are many ancient buildings nearby, notably 16th century Grimshaw Hall and the current library which dates back to Elizabethan times. The Guild House dates back to the 15th century and forms the core of a conservation area of which the restored Chester House is an outstanding feature
Picture of Achill Guest House, Solihull at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 nights at the Achill
Very friendly hostess, great value for money. Excellent position for the village of Knowle (via an easy walk), where there are many good pubs and restaurants - we went to the Allora curry house and the Red Lion pub on Mary's recommendation, and enjoyed both. Far better than staying in a large impersonal hotel, and much better value. Thanks Mary, see you again.

Reviewed by
James W

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay with character.
Enjoyed the stay, quirky old building. Friendly host. Big room (assume I was upgraded). Breakfast was good quality and £5.

Reviewed by
P Blyth

From Inverurie, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great guesthouse
My room was clean and comfy. There's loads of extra pillows to aid a good night sleep and the cooked breakfast was just the way I like it. Thanks Mary and hubby.

Reviewed by
Eugene B

From Dartmouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely friendly staff and good value for money
Great value for money, good size room. The lady running the guest house was really welcoming and helpful-important when you're a female travelling alone. Nice quiet location and good breakfast.

Reviewed by
Julie M

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Choice
Only stayed one night for our visited to the motorcycle live show at the NEC, which was a short taxi ride from the guest house. Room was clean, and comfortably furnished with TV and on suite facilities,close to local village offering a great choice of pubs and restaurants, ample off road parking, gravel surface proved a little difficult for motorbikes, our host was welcoming and we were made to feel comfortable during our visit, had an excellent breakfast before setting off in the morning, great choice.

Reviewed by
j young

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great experience!
I spent one night at Achill, very friendly place, lovely breakfast, nice location, missed a little packet of biscuits with me tea in the morning, but that left room for the sumptuous full English!
I would recommend this place to anyone.

Reviewed by
Steve K

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming
We really enjoyed our stay. We went into city centre to The Bullring and the German Market and the landlady was very helpful, giving us directions and details for bus and subsequent train journey to get there. The guest house is spotless and very well situated for NEC and the airport which we used for flying home. We will definitely stay at this guest house in the future. There's also parking onsite.

Reviewed by
Elaine R

From Fraserburgh, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Low price but comfortable, friendly, and good food - very good value.
Low price but comfortable, friendly, and good food. Very good value, and perfect for an overnight stay whilst attending an event at the NEC. My one minor criticism is that when I booked through Late Rooms it wasn't clear that breakfast was available.

Reviewed by
Neal Bircher

From Uxbridge, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay
Achills was perfect for my trip, great location, comfy room and fantastic breakfast.
The guest information was brilliant, take away menus were included in the guest book and facilities to make your evening meals if needed. Also close to the village, which is fab if you are on your own you can walk down the high street, feeling safe and go into any of the number of restaurants or pubs without having to worry.
I would definitely recommend staying here to anyone who is looking around the area and when work brings me up this way again I will be booking a room at Achills!

Reviewed by
Amanda A

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay of one night
We were made to feel very welcome - lots of information provided about restaurants in the area. Landlady very helpful. Breakfast good. Room comfortable. We will definitely stay again when we visit the NEC.

Reviewed by
G Moosajee

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next