No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Achill Guest House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
35 Hampton Road, Knowle, , Solihull, B93 0NR
Whether on holiday or business the Achill Guest House is ideally placed, just 1 mile from the M42 junction 5 and easy access to surrounding areas such as the NEC, Birmingham Airport, Solihull, Blythe Valley and Birmingham Business park. It is the aim of Achill Guest House to provide a high standard of accommodation to business contractors and families at an affordable rate. Guests can also enjoy easy access to sightseeing areas such as Kenilworth, Warwick, Birmingham and Stratford. Knowle village dates back to the time of King Edward I of England, over 700 years ago, when it had the status of Royal Manor. The Parish Church, which is still used today, was consecrated in 1403. There are many ancient buildings nearby, notably 16th century Grimshaw Hall and the current library which dates back to Elizabethan times. The Guild House dates back to the 15th century and forms the core of a conservation area of which the restored Chester House is an outstanding feature
Picture of Achill Guest House, Solihull at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a gem!
Can't believe the value of this accommodation, the room was spacious, no, make that huge! It was clean and tidy, the bed was very comfy, the shower was excellent and the location was quiet and peaceful. The proprietor was lovely, very helpful and friendly. There was an interesting booklet on the village of Knowle, which had many fine ancient buildings including a 13th century church. Just about next door was a great value carvery with excellent food. And booking on a weekday through late rooms I got a fabulous price. I have stayed in places not nearly as nice for 4 times the price. Excellently placed for the NEC and the Birmingham airport.

Reviewed by
John T

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Guest House
Very friendly and chatty host. Big comfy bed. Excelent breakfast

Reviewed by
Robert Hodges

From Littleborough, England
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good service,and a clean and spacious room.would recommend to anyone.

Reviewed by
c forber

From Runcorn, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 nights at the Achill
Very friendly hostess, great value for money. Excellent position for the village of Knowle (via an easy walk), where there are many good pubs and restaurants - we went to the Allora curry house and the Red Lion pub on Mary's recommendation, and enjoyed both. Far better than staying in a large impersonal hotel, and much better value. Thanks Mary, see you again.

Reviewed by
James W

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay with character.
Enjoyed the stay, quirky old building. Friendly host. Big room (assume I was upgraded). Breakfast was good quality and £5.

Reviewed by
P Blyth

From Inverurie, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great guesthouse
My room was clean and comfy. There's loads of extra pillows to aid a good night sleep and the cooked breakfast was just the way I like it. Thanks Mary and hubby.

Reviewed by
Eugene B

From Dartmouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely friendly staff and good value for money
Great value for money, good size room. The lady running the guest house was really welcoming and helpful-important when you're a female travelling alone. Nice quiet location and good breakfast.

Reviewed by
Julie M

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Choice
Only stayed one night for our visited to the motorcycle live show at the NEC, which was a short taxi ride from the guest house. Room was clean, and comfortably furnished with TV and on suite facilities,close to local village offering a great choice of pubs and restaurants, ample off road parking, gravel surface proved a little difficult for motorbikes, our host was welcoming and we were made to feel comfortable during our visit, had an excellent breakfast before setting off in the morning, great choice.

Reviewed by
j young

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great experience!
I spent one night at Achill, very friendly place, lovely breakfast, nice location, missed a little packet of biscuits with me tea in the morning, but that left room for the sumptuous full English!
I would recommend this place to anyone.

Reviewed by
Steve K

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Low price but comfortable, friendly, and good food - very good value.
Low price but comfortable, friendly, and good food. Very good value, and perfect for an overnight stay whilst attending an event at the NEC. My one minor criticism is that when I booked through Late Rooms it wasn't clear that breakfast was available.

Reviewed by
Neal Bircher

From Uxbridge, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next