No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Alltyfyrddin Farm

4Self Classified Farmhouse Ratings explained
Merlin's Hill Rd, , , Abergwili, SA32 7ER
Standing in lovely lawns, the farmhouse dates back to the early 1700's. It has been sympathetically modernised over the years to ensure it has the benefits of today's comforts whilst retaining some of its original features. The guests' lounge has beamed ceilings and a charming inglenook fireplace that has only recently been uncovered and restored to its former glory. Alltyfyrddin B & B is a farm steeped in history, shrouded in mystery, and rich in wildlife. On the farm is Merlin's Hill where, according to legend, Merlin the wizard is kept in bonds of enchantment. Walk our nature trails from the farmyard to the hilltop site of an Iron Age Hillfort, and admire the breathtaking views over Carmarthen. Alltyfyrddin offers 4 star Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast accommodation in five bedrooms - single, double, twin and family rooms. All have en-suite facilities and are tastefully decorated, furnished with your comfort in mind. Enjoy a choice of delicious breakfasts made from local produce. Spedial diets can be catered for by prior arrangement. During your stay at Alltyfyrddin Bed and Breakfast in Carmarthen we hope you will discover some of the secrets of Carmarthenshire at the farm itself. Alltyfyrddin is home to the Merlin's Hill Centre where you can walk the nature trails to the hilltop or wander around the farmyard heritage centre and meet the farm animals.
Picture of Alltyfyrddin Farm, Abergwili at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent all round.

Reviewed by
Jill P

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rural retreat on a real farm
Only a brief one night stay and arrived in the dark but very welcoming and friendly service with tea and cake on arrival. Room clean and comfortable with lovely modern bathroom. Lots of choice for breakfast and lots of reading material and info about local tourist attractions. Only a few minutes drive from Carmarthen but well away from it all on a working farm. Up a narrow lane so was a bit tricky to find in the dark but look out for the signs for Merlin's Hill and it is right opposite the footpath/entrance to the hill walk. Plenty of parking in the farmyard. Would recommend for a country break without being too far from shops and pubs in the town if you want them. Great view from the top of the hill.

Reviewed by
Teresa N

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay at Alltyfyrddin Farm
When I arrived at the farm, I was given a warm and friendly welcome by the owner, and a cup of very welcome tea offered. The room was excellent, the bed comfortable and the room and bathroom were spotless. In the morning a first class breakfast was served, cooked to your own requirements and nothing was too much trouble. I could not recommend this stay more highly.

Reviewed by
CAROLYN JENKINS

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Helpful friendly and very clean tidy rooms made us feel welcome would recommend.

Reviewed by
R Chilvers

From King's Lynn, England
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Accomodation
Slightly difficult to find farm - poorly signposted as you approach the farm. It's a working farm so expect some noise. We were very pleasantly surprised however with the room. It was spacious, clean, well presented and very comfortable. We also had an excellent welcome - tray of tea and cake.

Reviewed by
Sarah L

From Eastleigh, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely countryside retreat, we were all made to feel welcome. Breakfast was delicious.

Reviewed by
l tasker

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Down on the farm
We couldn't believe we found this little gem of a farm just a stones throw outside of a town :)
As we pulled up where welcomed by Sharon ( farmers wife ) and pens with new born calves totally beats pullin up to a travel lodge (haha)
It was great stayin on a farm in Wales I had stayed on many as a child as I had families with farms in Wales my partner & son had never been to Wales before and I was excited that they could experience some of what I had as a child
Even though my son is 15 it brought out the inner child in him with the pens of calves & chickens and the working dogs running about
The rooms where a great size and totally comfortable beds we slept like babies
The tea & coffee facilities in the room wher very well stocked even hot choc and some fancy coffees and yummy biscuits
The breakfast service was a great layout & choice and nothing was to much trouble
We would def recommend and have done already & when we go back in 2014 would most def stop again on our travels round Wales
Also they own merlins hill opposite the farm this is a must to walk up you even get your own tour guide (the sheep dogs haha) at the top it has the most amazing views over Wales I'm sure you could see as far as England haha you will get to take some amazing pictures

Reviewed by
R Flood

From Norwich, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay. Had the bonus of seeing the farm display . Due to weather did not have opportunity to visit the Merlin Hill. Breakfast was great . Arrived late , SatNav postcode does not bring you to the accomodation. Mobile signal poor so was chleenged to find the accomodation at night.

Reviewed by
H Patel

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant few days in lovely surroundings.

Reviewed by
K Strange

From Northampton, England
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great farm stay B&B.
A very clean and modern family room for our family of 4 - no complaints whatsoever. The hosts are very hardworking and friendly, true farming folk. The walk up Merlins Hill is brilliant and to help the kids along, the icecreams from the B&B made their walk even better. A very hearty cooked breakfast had by Dad, complimented by healthy fruit and cereals for Mum and the kids.

Reviewed by
Graham M

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next