No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Elmdon Lodge

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
20-24 Elmdon Road, Acocks Green, Birmingham, B27 6LH
Elmdon Lodge was built in 1890 and still retains many original features and is a family run business , established over 25 years. We pride ourselves at offering a personalised service to all our customers The sixteen bedroomed guest house is located in Acocks Green - a suburb of great character and charm to the south east of Birmingham city centre. The guest house is to be found in an attractive and leafy cul de sac, tucked well away from noise and traffic, but within a 4 minute walk of the railway station with links to Birmingham Moor Street station in Birmingham city centre and Solihull.

With our excellent road transport links - we are located within easy reach of Birmingham city centre, Solihull, the NEC centre and Birmingham International Airport - Elmdon Lodge is an ideal base for work or for play.
Picture of Elmdon Lodge, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Homely feel
Very welcoming staff . Homely feel . Nice breakfast and very clean room . Returning soon . 10 mins on train from Acocks Green to central Birmingham . Very satisfied !

Reviewed by
G Cassidy

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great welcome and excellent service
Elmdon Lodge offered everything that I had hoped for. A good welcome, good breakfast and a comfortable spacious room - all clean and faultless.

Reviewed by
G Rees

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendliest B&B I've stayed in
Friendliest B&B I've stayed in, one of the best breakfasts I've had with good quality sausage and bacon.

Reviewed by
roger b

From Blyth, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended
Only 10 minutes from the NEC, this lovely family run hotel is quite simply one of the best I've ever stayed in. The warmth of the welcome given by Katherine and Terry was second to none. The staff were excellent, the standard room was warm and comfortable. There were even sachets of hot chocolate in addition to the tea and coffee in the room. It was an absolute pleasure to stay here and I really highly recommend the Elmdon Lodge. Next time I'm coming to Birmingham this is the first place I'll call.

Reviewed by
Allan Dixon

From Galston, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Different Planet
If only all hotels were like this!
Have already recommended Elmdon Lodge to friends.
Lovely welcome and nothing too much trouble. Really friendly and great atmosphere.
Excellent breakfast and good restaurants nearby for eating in the evening.
Look forward to a return visit

Reviewed by
George BRADBURY

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location wonderful owners duvet un real heaven nights sleep
Lovley old builldings nice to see not been converted into flats. Clean and tidy breakie great good choice youghart unrea! lots of noce things to do nearby food outlets nearby.
Better than a chain hotel felt safe and cared for.

Reviewed by
j huckvale

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Like being in a friend's home.
Wow- the temptation to not review and keep this place to myself was very strong, it was so great.
Like staying round a friend's home! The hospitality, friendliness and kindness of Katharine and Terry was amazing, as was the softness of the beds. Wish I had used the Guests' lounge more - what a lovely room!
Definitely the best place I have ever stayed in.
Thank you!

Reviewed by
Roz Williams

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An exceptionally friendly stay
I had an exceptionally pleasant one night stay stay at Elmdon Lodge while visiting the NEC. The hosts are particularly friendly and effortlessly make you feel like an old friend.
My room was excellent - clean and spacious with a useful-sized desk to work from, and a good wireless internet connection.
Another bonus is that Katherine also cooks a great dinner too so I had an excellent roast pork with vegetables during my stay.
A really friendly experience and one that I would certainly come back to.

Reviewed by
Stefano G

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home from home
Excellent service, was looking to book in a big branded hotel but luckily they were all sold out so we found this little Gem, fantastic, clean, good breakfast, will book here any trips we make to Birmingham in the future!

Reviewed by
john a

From Llanelli, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good stay
Great welcome.

Reviewed by
David R

From Twickenham, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next