No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Black Mountain Lodge

4Visit Wales Assessed Apartment Ratings explained
Black Mountain Lodge, , , Glasbury, HR3 5PT
This lovely old traditional stone building, the oldest part is believed to date back to the 17th Century. Set in its own grounds with ample free parking and located at the foothills of the Black Mountains, it is surrounded by beautiful countryside and breathtaking views. With it's relaxing atmosphere and comfortable rooms, it lends itself perfectly for those wishing to visit the area to take part in outdoor activities or for those who just want to "get away from it all" and maybe visit the famous town of books Hay on Wye, with its antiques & book shops and it's literary festival held in May, or visit the quaint market town Brecon to join in with its Jazz festival in August or walk the Brecon Beacons, then there is the Royal Welsh Show in July, in Builth Wells. The Lodge has its own lounge bar, providing local and international beers and wines.A cosy restaurant with a delicious A la-carte menu serving seasonal local produce, which all makes for a great dinning experience.You are welcome to join us for as long or as short as you like, we cater for individuals, parties, families and corporate groups, offering everything from budget shared accommodation through to deluxe four poster bedroom. The Deluxe room has a four poster bed, tea/coffee felicity, 32" flat screen t.v sofa and an en-suite to die for! All other rooms except for budget rooms are en-suite with tea/coffee facilities and tv's. The Lodge is registered with the Welsh Tourist Board as a 4 Star Guest Accommodation For those looking for a little more excitement then there is plenty on offer such as rock climbing, canoeing, kayaking, high level ropes course (similar to go ape) raft building, clay shooting, archery, mountain biking, gorge walking, white water rafting, white water kayaking, team building, conferences, pony trekking, caving etc.
Picture of Black Mountain Lodge, Glasbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we had just a one night stop as we wanted to visit Hay on Wye that was a short distance car drive.
The Hotel is set in a peaceful location, we stayed in a converted barn, we had a large upstairs room, that was comfortable with a lovely view. The bathroom was also spacious.
We decided to eat at the Hotel that night, the restaurant was in keeping with the rest of the Hotel. the service and food was excellent and all staff very helpful.
Breakfast was also excellent serving local produce and lovely freshly made coffee.

Reviewed by
lesley f

From Tonypandy, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation was adequate for the one night we needed. Room was very small with not much light as window was not big enough, which necessitated having lights on all the time

Reviewed by
b rawlings

From peterborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay will definitely visit again.

Reviewed by
s griffiths

From merthyr tydfil, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A tranquil and friendly place to stay
All good but was disappointed with the room. It was dark and the lighting provided was poor. Basic bathroom but good shower.

Reviewed by
Maria N

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 Nights break in the welsh mountains
Lovely setting within a short drive of the interesting 'book' town of Hay-on-Wye.
The buildings appear to be converted barns. Very tasteful conversion without losing the character.
The room was a standard twin room but in fact was a family room with an additional bunk bed. Everything worked well and it was spotlessly clean. The room is reached by steps that go up the side of an old barn. Not suitable for the infirm or young children but full of character. Main block has a large lounge/bar, reception & restaurant.
Food is excellent although some might think portions of food are on the small side. For us it was perfect as we think that the average meal is too large. We are vegetarians and that was no problem.
Staff are very friendly and helpful. It has a different feel from most hotels - less formal and much more genuinely friendly.
We will definitely stay again in the future.

Reviewed by
Thomas S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lodge worth visiting
Genuinely pleasant & helpful staff, nice food, clean decent quality rooms. The shared areas are well maintained, the lounge area provided really was relaxing & enjoyable but the gardens are also excellent. I will be staying again and would certainly recommend.

Reviewed by
William G

From Clacton on Sea, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was a lovely peaceful, friendly and clean accommodation. Would definitely stay there again .

Reviewed by
Mrs Baggott

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel, everything good.

Reviewed by
M Huxtable

From Horsham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Friendly and helpful staff

Reviewed by
JOHN WILLETTS

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very basic accommodation
Booked last minute, during a busy period, which may be the reason for high price. Even so, I was disappointed with the quality and general cleanliness of the room. Bed linen was clean and fresh, but bin hadn't been emptied, and there was a musty smell in the communal area. There was a hole in the plaster in the room, and the water pipes made a terrible racket. There was no TV, and the lighting in the room was extremely poor. Staff were friendly, but I certainly wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
Ruth R

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next