Reviews - Black Mountain Lodge


Black Mountain Lodge, ,, Glasbury, HR3 5PT

Price From 120.45 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (24)

92% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • s banks

  • October 2015

Good food and stone building charm

We had a wonderful stay here for a single night.

The food was of excellent quality with good flavour, the portions could have bbeen larger but I found myself full after the meal. The lounge and dining area had a nice design and felt very welcoming. We especially liked the tea being served on a slate. Overall would definitely stay again and will probably come back next year.

  • michael w

  • August 2015

Black Mountain Lodge

Nice comfortable rooms, fantastic service and a lovely breakfast.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Adrian H

  • June 2015

Family Stay

We stayed for one night Saturday to Sunday.

We booked a family room and stayed in room 7. The room was nice, a little odd to have two single beds and bunks in a family room. We had steps outside to the room so we could not leave the door open as our son is only two. We only had breakfast to eat witch was very good, nice, fresh and served quickly. The room itself was nice and clean, the staff were very nice. The place was lovely. Would I stay again, I don't think so. This is only due to the family rooms not having double beds. This is my personal preference.

  • Rebecca m

  • April 2015

Lovely Setting

Wonderful location...we booked the small double...which is small but ideal for a two night stay.

Room was very clean and tidy. Lovely view onto rear lawn. Staff were attentive and food was excellent....the weather was fantastic during our stay so we were able to sit out in the lovely garden area.

  • Richard E

  • February 2015

Very good.

Will use again.

  • Robin S

  • February 2015

Perfect location for Hay on Wye and the Black Mountains.

  • Kevin P

  • February 2015

Hotel good. Restaurant average.

Pleasant hotel and bedroom.

Restaurant disappointing. Piped music and completely devoid of atmosphere. Service basic. Staff very busy spraying or cleaning tables and laying out breakfast at 9.30 pm whilst we were still eating. Food very average.

  • Michael W

  • February 2015


Warm welcome on arrival room has to be seen to appreciate the size, decor and facilities everything was so clean.

Relaxation was so good you didn't want to leave the room meals were served in spacious dining area. We loved it so much we have booked another stay over Easter highly recommended.

  • A Walker

  • November 2014

Great hotel with really friendly staff

Smart with good food

  • lesley f

  • September 2014

we had just a one night stop as we wanted to visit Hay on Wye that was a short distance car drive.

The Hotel is set in a peaceful location, we stayed in a converted barn, we had a large upstairs room, that was comfortable with a lovely view. The bathroom was also spacious. We decided to eat at the Hotel that night, the restaurant was in keeping with the rest of the Hotel. the service and food was excellent and all staff very helpful. Breakfast was also excellent serving local produce and lovely freshly made coffee.