No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Black Mountain Lodge

3Self Classified Apartment Ratings explained
Black Mountain Lodge, , , Glasbury, HR3 5PT
This lovely old traditional stone building, the oldest part is believed to date back to the 17th Century. Set in its own grounds with ample free parking and located at the foothills of the Black Mountains, it is surrounded by beautiful countryside and breathtaking views. With it's relaxing atmosphere and comfortable rooms, it lends itself perfectly for those wishing to visit the area to take part in outdoor activities or for those who just want to "get away from it all" and maybe visit the famous town of books Hay on Wye, with its antiques & book shops and it's literary festival held in May, or visit the quaint market town Brecon to join in with its Jazz festival in August or walk the Brecon Beacons, then there is the Royal Welsh Show in July, in Builth Wells. The Lodge has its own lounge bar, providing local and international beers and wines.A cosy restaurant with a delicious A la-carte menu serving seasonal local produce, which all makes for a great dinning experience.You are welcome to join us for as long or as short as you like, we cater for individuals, parties, families and corporate groups, offering everything from budget shared accommodation through to deluxe four poster bedroom. The Deluxe room has a four poster bed, tea/coffee felicity, 32" flat screen t.v sofa and an en-suite to die for! All other rooms except for budget rooms are en-suite with tea/coffee facilities and tv's. The Lodge is registered with the Welsh Tourist Board as a 4 Star Guest Accommodation For those looking for a little more excitement then there is plenty on offer such as rock climbing, canoeing, kayaking, high level ropes course (similar to go ape) raft building, clay shooting, archery, mountain biking, gorge walking, white water rafting, white water kayaking, team building, conferences, pony trekking, caving etc.
Picture of Black Mountain Lodge, Glasbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
One night was not enough. Excellent accommodation and excellent quality of food. Staff very helpful and polite. Will stay here again.

Reviewed by
FIONA M

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely country getaway
Really enjoyed our stay at the black mountain lodge. On arrival we were informed that we had been upgraded. We stayed in the barn conversion separate to the main building. Very beautifully decorated room, cosy bed and very large tv. Lovely breakfast in the morning. We did not eat in the hotel but the menu looked very appetising. Would stay again. Lovely place for an over night stay.

Reviewed by
H Smith

From Redditch, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent 1 night stay, clean & comfortable, friendly helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Ann C

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic
had a fabulous stay here, lovely location, staff are very friendly, room was very nice with a lovely view, food was excellent. We are definitely going here again

Reviewed by
T Hoyle

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice place to stay, cosy, clean, quiet and tastefully decorated. I was in a compact room but it was still roomy, with a bath in the bathroom rather than just a shower. The place was quiet which was a pity, so I may have been upgraded, but couldn't fault anything.

Reviewed by
Rachel P

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very fine stay
Booked at short notice, blind, as I suddenly needed somewhere to stay around there. While anything would have done I can only say how wonderfully impressed I was with every aspect of the establishment. Landed on my feet there.

Reviewed by
Andy D

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely hotel with great food. Will definitely go back

Reviewed by
Judy C

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely stay at black mountain lodge
Lovely and clean, and ideal location. Had a good selection of food for breakfast and evening meals were great.
Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Rachel A

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and friendly place to stay
We stayed overnight in a family room with our 2 small children. The room was very comfortable, with bunk beds for the kids, and it had a really nice bathroom.
The bar and dining room were very relaxed and the food was good with lots of choice and nothing was too much trouble. All the staff were helpful and friendly.
Very small complaints - the room was cold and could have done with the heating on before arrival, and the lighting was poor especially since you had to have the curtains closed for privacy in both the bedroom and bathroom.
Would definitely recommend though, and would stay again.

Reviewed by
N Garside

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never ever again
The hotel is remote but not in a good way, in that it is on a busy road. There is also a farm behind it which means huge lorries arriving to deliver early in the morning.
BUT the main reason I am giving this hotel such a poor review is the bathroom was FILTHY. I have come to expect to find hairs etc in hotels as generally cleaning standards are poor. However to have dried faeces on the lavatory is totally unacceptable.
The food was poor. I had a slow cooked venison. Which should have been called slow cremated venison. I have never had a cooked breakfast before where it has been chucked on a plate like at this place. The beans and mushrooms were mixed together, the fried egg dumped on top of them. Horrendous.
The hotel is also an adventure centre, which means you will share the restaurant/bar with a horde of youngsters. Which may not bother some people.
For the record if you think the poor food etc was because I complained in an unpleasant manner about the filthy toilet. I actually did not complain at the time. This is because previously I have found complaining does NOT get a good result.

Reviewed by
Richard W

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next